We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic Inn with Historic Rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clifton Inn

Save Saved
You added Clifton Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Clifton Inn
1296 Clifton Inn Drive, Charlottesville, VA 22911   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 33 hotels in Charlottesvill...
Santa Rosa, California
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Historic Inn with Historic Rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

I'm going to Yay! I'm a fan it, because as I understand it, most of the rooms are very nice, told to me first hand by other guest staying. I, however, was in the "troll" room ('scuse me I mean the Honeymoon Suite) affectionately called the "troll" room. You might ask why, and I might tell you that, as it was built in the late 1700's and I guess people were a lot smaller then, the door frames were about 5'8" and my 6'5" husband learned the hard way (as in ouch) to duck after he hit his head a few times. As a matter of fact, I ended up hanging a towel across the bathroom door just so it would remind him, in that middle of the night, have to go, where am I daze, to duck.

Speaking of the bathroom, while it is my understanding that some rooms have showers that have heads that spray you with water from many directions, our claw tub did not. It even had an interesting drain mechanism that you had to turn a certain way to get the tub to drain. Like I said, built in the late 1700's...and I guess they didn't need mirrors in their bathrooms then either as the only tiny little bitty one we got was a magnifier and sometimes looking into those is just scary (if you are only going to put one little mirror in, make it a regular little mirror - just saying). They also supplied a hair-dryer, but no electricity hooked into the bathroom except by the toilet (no mirror there either) which was too low for one to stand and blow dry their hair without unplugging the drying...

LindySez: OK...all that said, the room was comfy, the bed was comfy, the staff was attentive, the food was excellent...so, stay at the Clifton Inn, just tell them you don't want the "Honeymoon Suite" aka the "Troll Room".

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
___027, General Manager at Clifton Inn, responded to this review, November 9, 2011
LindySez - Thanks for the Yay - and the comments "... the room was comfy, the bed was comfy, the staff was attentive, the food was excellent...so, stay at the Clifton Inn..."

In regards to The Honeymoon Suite, following your comments you made on departure we immediately took corrective action by changing and adding mirrors. We are in the process of adding power. But we do want to retain some historical charm, and so unfortunately for your husband we will not be adjusting the doorway height. We have just added that into your guest history, that you should not be situated in rooms with low doorways and also need a king bed - we do care what our customers say.

We look forward to welcoming you both back to The Clifton Inn in the future.

Kind regards,

Niall Reid
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    159
    37
    14
    13
    11
See reviews for
29
141
15
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

While traveling BRP spent one night at Clifton Inn. Although expensive, it was a wonderful visit which we combined with Monticello. Beautiful historic inn in a country setting but very close to Monticello and UVA. Typical historic inn with thin walls and steep stairs, but nice renovated rooms and baths. Staff extremely accommodating. Restaurant highly recommended with unique menu of gourmet small meals, with incredible taste. We were very comfortable with cheaper room. Wish that we had stayed longer. Gorgeous in the fall.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

Not sure what the last reviewer is talking about. I dont think you can go to the Clifton Inn and not be impressed. Great location just outside Charlottesville - only 17 rooms so its small and cosy. My wife and I have just come back from a stay there and its fantastic to experience the fall in the area. We stayed in the carriage house at the Inn which was lovely - huge cosy warm bed on a mezzanine level definitely recommended. We prefer to eat out in the eveining (would recommend Tavola, see another review) but we used the restaurant for breakfast which was lovely. Staff attentive and helpful and had lots of recommendations and tips.

Great place to stay and very popular for weddings in view of its location. Recommended.

Room Tip: Go for the carriage house
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

We stayed in Clifton in this October and got a room in the cottage for $250 a night. With fees and taxes it amounted to close to $300. Please don't waste your money!! The room hasn't been cleaned properly, there were fruit flies everywhere, the mattress and sheets had stains and even the white towels had the shade of gray. The AC barely worked. The decor is 70's outdated painted paneling. I just don't see how they can charge this kind of money for that sorry excuse of "luxury accommodations". We were extremely disappointed and will never stay there again. I am surprised to find that people are recommending that place.
Just to emphasize the point, for half of the price we got spotless suite (yes, suite!) in Hilton Garden Inn in Williamsburg with an impeccable service.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
___027, General Manager at Clifton Inn, responded to this review, November 1, 2011
We realize The Clifton Inn may have its issues and its faults. For example, we accept the cleanliness of the room was not up to par, that is unforgivable. We have taken steps to ensure that is not repeated. In regards to the décor, we differ in opinion. The room in question are some beautiful converted stables from the 1800’s overlooking the lake here. We realize that they are not everyone’s taste, and that the guest may well prefer a Hilton Garden Inn.

Kind regards,

N Reid
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Stayed here over Labor Day weekend to celebrate a friend's 40th birthday. We stayed in the Cismont Suite, which was lovely. Nice touches here: afternoon tea, continental breakfast, mini cookies and weather forecast on your pillow each night. About 15 minutes from town, but worth the drive - such a scenic and lovely place. Best part, however, was dining at the chef's counter in the restaurant. We opted for the chef's tasting menu - innumerable courses of delicious food. We had a blast.
I would recommend this place highly. It's not cheap, but it's a lovely place for a getaway.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haddonfield, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

My husband and I chose to stay at the Clifton for our anniversary trip. It was truly amazing. We stayed in one of the Shenandoah suites. The room was perfect....charming and spacious. Wonderful Molten Brown products were included in the large sized bathroom. The soft beds with great linens were pefect for an afternoon nap. The main house was just beautiful. We loved the decor....great design taste abounds. We enjoyed sitting out on the deck and having dinner and cocktails while watching the sunset. The service was amazing. The best night by far was the evening we chose to dine at the "Chef's counter". It was a terrific experience...truly world class dining and the kitchen staff made it a very educational food tour. The Clifton is a wonderful property. Perfect for those looking to get away and stay in a beautiful luxurious setting.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

I arrived to Clifton Inn early with my little daughter and was promptly upgraded to a nicer room simply because they could not check us in yet at 10.00am, which was an unexpected and very kind gesture (no place is required to check you in at 10.00am, after all). The room was beautiful, with ice, mineral water, a CD player with CDs, free wine, and chocolate; it was spotless and the view was beautiful. The location itself is gorgeous, they have a very lovely swimming pool and at checking out, we met the manager who was also extremely helpful, polite and kind. We stayed at 10 different places on our Virginia trip, only supposedly at the best places and the Clifton Inn was hands down my favorite place among them all. Highly recommended in every way! Thank you!

Room Tip: We stayed at the Thomas Mann roon, it was beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Clifton Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clifton Inn

Address: 1296 Clifton Inn Drive, Charlottesville, VA 22911
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Charlottesville
#4 Family Hotel in Charlottesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clifton, a luxury hotel member of Relais & Châteaux, puts guests in the best of both worlds with the intimacy of small inns and exquisite comforts of world-class hotels. A spectacular 100-acre setting in the shadows of the Blue Ridge Mountains. The best fine dining on the Charlottesville restaurant scene. World-class service. The list goes on and on. Clifton memories are here for the making. Consider yourself cordially invited to make some of your own. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Clifton Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clifton Hotel Charlottesville
Country Inn Charlottesville
Charlottesville Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clifton Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.