We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a delight!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mas Tapas

Mas Tapas
501 Monticello Road, Charlottesville, VA
434-979-0990
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 474 Restaurants in Charlottesville
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating
NY
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“What a delight!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Selected five choices from the limited Mende on. Monday night. Lamb sliders to die for.... Artichoke dip melts in your mouth. Prosciutto & cheese---more please. Angus steak rare --melted in your mouth. All were a hit and will make us come back for more. Need to cook the Yukon gold potatoes ,more a little hard ,but still tasty.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    48
    19
    12
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
“Must-do Dining!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

A waitress at another restaurant recommended we visit this place while we were in town for a wedding. Everything was delicious and the wine menu was awesome.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Favorite restaurant but...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile

We love mas. We tend to dine here at every opportunity we have. Unfortunately our last experience will delay our return. Our server was overwhelmed with the business of a busy Monday night. She spilt an entire glass of red wine on my fiancées jeans. After this she served us a pitcher of sangria with a very large chip in the pitcher it really should have been discarded and not used for service. Like I said an unfortunate experience. We will wait a couple months and return for another try. Btw.. Food Is excellent and quickly delivered. And staff has extensive knowledge on the wines offered.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good tapas, but season the aioli!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Their take on the BLT sandwich was delicious and the carne asada tapa was very good too. But the aioli for the carne asada and the shrimp tapa had way too much oil in it (it was like plaster) and hardly any salt or acid. If you're going to include aioli as a major component to your dishes, please season it!! We'll give Mas another try but it was a somewhat disappointing first visit.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Excellent Experience at Mas Tapas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Mas Tapas was fantastic. The tapas were varied and plentiful--we were actually surprised at how large the portions were for tapas-style food. The wine list was outstanding, the sangria delicious, and the prices reasonable. We did have to wait, but only because we wanted a table inside. If we'd sat outside, we'd have gotten a table immediately. Waiting was not a problem since the drinks were delicious and plentiful. We highly recommend Mas Tapas.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mas Tapas also viewed

 
Charlottesville, VA
Charlottesville, VA
 

Been to Mas Tapas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mas Tapas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.