We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sensational seasonal food & wine” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Orzo Kitchen & Wine Bar

Orzo Kitchen & Wine Bar
416 W Main Street, Charlottesville, VA 22903
434-975-6796
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Orzo Kitchen & Wine Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #32 of 464 Restaurants in Charlottesville
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: French, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: Nestled inside the Main Street Market at 416 West Main Street in Charlottesville, Orzo Kitchen & Wine Bar offers a menu and wine list that fuses the culinary and viticultural traditions of Italy, Greece, Spain, and the South of France.Orzo Kitchen & Wine Bar celebrates the exciting synergy of food and wine and the sparkling flavors of the Mediterranean. Our menu is complemented by an extensive wine list that covers the breadth of the Mediterranean, featuring an outstanding selection of wines by the glass as well as rare wines at exceptional values from our Wine Shop. We offer 5% off retail when you purchase three bottles, 10% off retail for six, and 20% off retail for a case.Orzo Offsite offers the exceptional cuisine and warm hospitality that you've come to enjoy at Orzo Kitchen & Wine Bar. From simple to lavish, Orzo Offsite caters weddings, political fundraisers, corporate functions and intimate dinner parties (to name a few). We create beautiful, seamless and unforgettable events.
Maryville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Sensational seasonal food & wine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

So many wonderful choices of seasonal food offerings.....the calamari, the butternut squash soup were a good start, we tried various pasta dishes all great. The atmosphere was cozy and comfortable.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    40
    10
    12
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good food, nice people. Vegan, vegetarian choices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

3 of us ate here recently and we all enjoyed our food. We are all vegetarians and there were some good choices for us. What is very cool is that they had a menu card for vegans. 2 of us had the vegan risotto option which was excellent. The 3rd member of our party had a fall squash soup and then a salad plate. We were all satisfied.

It was busy and if you didn't have reservations you'd have issues. We got there early and sat at the bar.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Can't imagine better!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

I am perplexed why this restaurant isn't rated more highly. It has a casual and yet romantic vibe at night. The food is great and unique in many ways. The service efficient. We would definitely be back if we lived in the area. My red snapper was perfection---not a huge plate full of food, but a delicately cooked fillet with a light flavorful sauce. I had to borrow a spoon to get the remaining drops of the sauce. My husband loved his crab and corn spaghetti, but I'm not sure that dish is for everyone. For one thing, it doesn't look very appealing. But, he did love it and when I tasted it, I have to admit the sauce was good and the corn very, very sweet.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great food Unstuffy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

I love it when I get great food and service in a non-white-tablecloth&crystal atmosphere. This place is really fun, but not strictly for the 'under 30' crowd. The servers are relaxed, but extremely knowledgable and efficient, attentive but not intrusive. It's a good balance for the one more elegant meal we usually have when we go to Charlottesville.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“pretty good for a small town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Thank goodness we had a waiter who didn't want to be our best friend. What a relief. He (Can you believe it? He didn't introduce himself.) gave us the time we needed to decide, didn't disappear and was courteous and efficient.

Now the food. Actually very good. I had the ceasar salad to start and it was yummy and substantial with anchovies that added flavour and not just saltiness to the salad. My companion had octopus--very pretty and he enjoyed it.

Our main courses, a pasta with shrimp and a steak were both delicious. A very lovely end to the meal was a delectable lavender flavoured pannacotta. So delicate and lovely with just the right amount of lavender.

Yes, I'd go back. Especially since prices weren't outrageous.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Orzo Kitchen & Wine Bar also viewed

Charlottesville, VA
Charlottesville, VA
 
Charlottesville, VA
Charlottesville, VA
 

Been to Orzo Kitchen & Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Orzo Kitchen & Wine Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.