We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location & Price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Budget Inn

Save Saved
You added Budget Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Budget Inn
140 Emmet Street North, Charlottesville, VA 22903-1729   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 33 hotels in Charlottesvill...
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Location & Price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

If you have any business to do with UVa, Budget Inn might be the best choice other than Cavalier which costs a lot more. Otherwise you should consider futher up Emmet St North where there are a wider range of hotels/motels to choose from.

Price wise it is not cheap but still relatively low compare to many other hotel chains, especially on Friday and Saturday. It is difficult to find a room in Charlottesville on Friday/Saturday when there is an event like ball game. The prcei goes up quite steep Friday/Saturday.

The breakfast is nothing to talk about, same old stuff every morning, The owner/manager is friendly and helpful.

Still I would stay here if I need to go to campus everyday. It is definitely better than the EconoLodge next door!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    30
    17
    11
    10
See reviews for
32
22
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Maplewood, NJ
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

I have stayed at the Budget Inn a number of times. First time I went to visit my son who was attending UVA I stayed at the Cavalier across the street. The Cavalier was noisy, cost more and a garbage truck woke me up at 5:00 a.m.

If you want fancy, go elsewhere. If you want a place that is kept clean and doesn't break the bank right near the UVA campus, you can't beat the Budget Inn.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Earth
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

My husband and I have stayed here on about 6 trips to Charlottesville over the past 20 years. The same extended family has owned the motel throughout that time period. They are friendly. The rooms are small but clean, and the price is affordable. We prefer the second floor to avoid the sounds of footsteps overhead. Our room had soap, shampoo, nice towels, a fridge, microwave, and flat screen TV, and a comfortable bed.
There is a northbound bus stop right outside the motel, but no longer a stop across the street, due to changing traffic patterns after a road widening/parking garage project. The nearest stops for buses going into town and returning from the malls were about 2 blocks away, not bad in the daytime but a little worrisome at night. But, we left our car in the lot throughout our stay and walked and rode the bus everywhere.
The atmosphere was quiet during our stay. We brought our own coffee-maker and supplies along, knowing that the rooms don't have coffee makers. There's no good coffee in the vicinity of the motel, so I recommend self-sufficiency!
We are thrilled that they don't allow pets. Travelers have enough worries these days without wondering about some mutt having snoozed on your pillow!

Room Tip: 2nd floor is quieter and rooms parallel to the street, toward the soccer field would likely be the q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
205 reviews 205 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

Small two story budget style hotel across the road from the Cavalier Inn. So great location for the University. Well lit for safety.

Its basic, but they have spent some money on making it more comfortable and the money was spent on important visible items. New microwave. Good size SANYO flat screen TV. Fridge. Room safe (that didn't work). Hairdryer and iron. Some new tile work in bathroom. Free Wi-Fi.

What I didn't like: Slowest Wi-Fi of all time – and intermittent connection. No in-room coffee service. TV remote desperately needed cleaning (God knows what was on it). A stain-hiding pattern for a carpet as well as the bed spread. Again, no telling what was hiding in those colors. Open closet. Very spartan walls. The walls, ceiling and floor looked from the 1950s. Very squeaky floors (wood), so lots of floor noise from above. Breakfast very basic (cereals, coffee and prepackaged bread items of some sort).

Budget means budget, so you must anticipate it won't be deluxe, but at $68 a night compared to the Cavalier Inn at about $10 less, it's rather steep for what you get.

I would always look for something else, but this was a last minute reservation adding an early night in Charlottesville due to anticipated snow moving in. Appeared to be the last hotel room near the University, so I was glad to have it.

There's noting wrong with it as long as you accept that it's a bottom of the line place.

Room Tip: Take the second floor to avoid the creaking floor above
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

This motel is a good value. Clean and reasonable, can't ask for much more. I would stay again but I am moving into an apt here in town.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayodan, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012 via mobile

Looking for a room in Charlottesville, found most of the less expensive ( under $100) allowed for pets. Speaking honestly, I doubt anyone cares where their dog urinates in a hotel room, not to mention the fleas etc. It's nasty!
After checking and smelling a few of those hotels, was ready to bike the bullet and stay at the holiday inn (which was gross) when we happened across the Budget Inn, no pets allowed, thank you!!
Price was around $60, very clean, nice smell, comfortable.. friendly staff.
Also only about 5 minutes from UVA medical center.
Def a safe bet!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pezenas, France
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

Stayed here 1 night when visiting Monticello. Reception was friendly & efficient & the room was adequate. Hey, for $59/night, we didn't expect the Ritz Carlton.

The location was convenient & the view out of our window was the soccer field where we could watch practice. The hotel was virtually on the U VA campus, which we unfortunately did not have time to explore.

Breakfast was limited (cereal, packaged pastry, juice, coffee) but was enough to fill our tummies before we headed to Monticello. Definitely worth the prices & would stay there again if in the area.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Budget Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budget Inn

Address: 140 Emmet Street North, Charlottesville, VA 22903-1729
Location: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 33 hotels in Charlottesvill...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome! Located at the University of Virginia, the Budget Inn welcomes you to Charlottesville and Central Virginia! Our central location is ideal walking distance to University of Virginia (Rotunda, Grounds and The Corner), John Paul Jones (JPJ) Arena, Scott Stadium, Klockner Stadium and Barracks Road Shops and Dining. A short drive will place you at Monticello, Ash Lawn, Michie Tavern, Vineyards and Historic Downtown Mall. The University of Virginia Hospital and medical facilities are a short dive distance. The Budget Inn offers complimentary Continental Breakfast, Wireless Internet, Local & Long Distance Calls (USA & Canada) and Cable TV. Fax and copy services available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TravelClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Budget Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budget Hotel Charlottesville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Budget Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.