We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely good pollo and sides! Finally! in C'ville!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Al Carbon Chicken

Al Carbon Chicken
1871 Seminole Trl, Charlottesville, VA 22901
434-964-1052
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 464 Restaurants in Charlottesville
Cuisines: Mexican, Peruvian
Restaurant details
Charlottesville, Virginia
Top Contributor
268 reviews 268 reviews
167 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
“Extremely good pollo and sides! Finally! in C'ville!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

We are huge fans of pollo but usually don't get to have it unless we're in the DC suburbs. No longer! We've got pollo in the 'Ville! For about $18 you get a whole roast chicken (over real charcoal) and three sides. We chose the platanos maduros (ripe fried plantains) and the yucca frita (fried yucca pieces) and the corn tortillas. Because my son was pouting a bit we also got an order of choripapas (french fries with chorizo on top). In addition they make fresh churros which you can order for dessert. Next time I think we'll try the cemitas (sandwiches on a roll with other delicious things) or possibly the mote (large kernel corn rolled in cotillo cheese with mayo). Delicious, filling and cheap! A great combination!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    7
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Choripapas to Die for!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

Go here and get the choripapas. You will not be sorry. Heaven! The Fijoles Charros are excellent, too.

Chicken is moist and delicious.

Really, really yum!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, VA
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Peruvian Roast Chicken in Charlottesville!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Our family of four has had dinner at Al Carbon twice since it opened and enjoyed both visits. The first time we had the family meal of chicken that comes with three sides. We loved the chicken, it was very juicy and flavorful, and the sides are equally good. We got the fried yucca, tortillas, and poblano rice. So much to choose from, it is hard to decide! Everything was delicious and I even had leftovers to take home. All of that and we were out the door for under $25, including sodas.

The second time we tried the cemitas, which are Mexican sandwiches on sesame seed buns with your choice of meat, cheese, avocado, and a spicy (or not) sauce. The sandwiches are huge and the kids and parents split two. We also got more fried yucca and the street corn - wow, was that tasty. And once again, very affordable.

The restaurant is well set up for take out, and there are tables as well if you want to stay to eat. This is definitely a great place that we will be visiting often.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Something different!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

We recently bought takeout chicken and 3 sides at Al Carbon. The food was very good, and something different than the usual takeout. The service was also very good, friendly people that were good at explaining the menu.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Excellent locally owned, Peruvian style chicken”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

Our family of four stumbled on this restaurant on the way home tonight, and it's safe to say we'll be back!

The restaurant is located behind Kohr Bro. Ice cream, and doesn't have much of a sign, so you'll have to look closely for it. The decor is simple, and the dining room is relatively small with 5-6 tables; however the staff is exceedingly friendly, and took the time to walk us through the entire menu. We appreciated the advice, since the menu is unlike any other we've encountered in Charlottesville to date. Based on the traffic while we were eating, they also have a thriving carry-out business despite only being open 6 weeks.

My wife and I split the "La Familia", which is a whole rotisserie chicken basted with spices, that comes with three sides. We chose the green poblano rice,, frijoles charros (pinto beans w/chorizo, bacon and chiles), and a south american corn dish whose name I can't remember. The chicken was delicious, and was falling off the bone. The sides were also surprisingly good -- our favorite was the frijoles charros.

Our daughters had the chicken tacquitos, which were made entirely from scratch, and another dish I had not heard of, which was a corn-based bread, with chicken, sauce, cheese, and avocado on top of it. Note that you can apparently get the tacquitos with more or less spice, as they asked my younger daughter how spicy she liked it on a scale of 1-10 (she chose 1).

We finished off the meal with fresh Churros rolled in cinnamon sugar.

We're looking forward to returning to try some of the other dishes on the menu!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Al Carbon Chicken also viewed

 
Charlottesville, VA
Charlottesville, VA
 

Been to Al Carbon Chicken? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Al Carbon Chicken, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.