We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel in a lovely setting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesville

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesville to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesville
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1793 Richmond Road, Charlottesville, VA 22911   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 25%
Ranked #7 of 33 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Burke, Virginia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel in a lovely setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We stayed here in November and again in December--four nights total. It is a little distant from downtown, but convenient to Westminster-Canterbury Blue Ridge and the nearby hospital. The hotel is just off I-64. The location is quiet and there is a lovely lake, with a pair of swans, behind. The staff is both professional and very friendly. The breakfast ($9.95 pp) is excellent. We requested blankets to replace the duvets that hotels use now. A better night's sleep. The hotel exemplifies the Hilton standard we expect. We'll stay here again when we visit Charlottesville.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the lake if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric P, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesville, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
We're glad that you've enjoyed your stays with us; we love being in the Peter Jefferson Park where you can walk securely in the countryside while watching the swans playing in their pond beyond our patio as the sun sets behind the Blue Ridge. And if you wish to visit the downtown area during your stay, our shuttle drivers will be more than happy to drop you at the door of your favorite shop or restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    264
    138
    35
    13
    10
See reviews for
159
163
19
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New Canaan, Connecticut, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

This property offers a very pleasant lodging experience. The staff is accomodating, the food (particularly breakfast) is great and if you get a pond-view room It's especially nice. Just avoid weekends when UVa is playing a home football game!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric P, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesville, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Happy New Year! We really appreciate your kind words and are very happy that you've enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Charlottesville is a beautiful city with wonderful opportunities to experience history and pristine country side. The Hilton Garden Inn is wonderfully located and views from the hotel include a pretty pond with swans and a walking path. The staff takes their mission seriously and attend to your comfort as though you are royalty.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric P, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesville, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
We're very lucky to be in such a beautiful location where there is something for every vistitor to enjoy and we are especially proud of role of Charlottesville in the founding of our nation. Our hotel is very near to the University of Virginia, Monticello and Ash Lawn and even the land upon which our hotel is built was originally land owned by the father of Thomas Jefferson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

While the hotel was equal to other brands in this location, the price was over that of other brands in different locations while the overall service/product was comparable, not superior. The hotel has a good bkfst, lunch & dinner facility. The location is just off interstate in medical/office park property, away from main downtown.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric P, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesville, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us, we continually discuss our pricing strategies and concentrate very much of providing great service and value for our guests. We feel that we are very competitive among our peers in the Charlottesville area and we will dicuss in earnest your comments regarding costs as we move forward into the new year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

I arrived in the evening to this hotel. I was very pleased to see how well lighted the parking area was. Entering the lobby, decorated for the holidays and a fire in the fireplace was very comforting. The environment was clean. The staff so professional and helpful! I was on the main floor with a lake view. Quiet and delightful! I did not eat a the hotel, use the spa or gym services which were available. The only area for improvement would be a new ironing board cover!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the lake are away from the main road and will allow for a restful stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric P, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesville, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Thank-you! We're replacing our ironing board covers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

The rooms, the beds, the lobby, the restaurant -- all immaculate, shining. The housekeeping staff is superb and the front desk and restaurant employees are gracious, helpful, and friendly. In brief: All excellent!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merrillville, Indiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

Beautifully located on Richmond Hwy., this hotel meets or exceeds my demand for a productive and comfortable space where one can get his work done quietly and efficiently. Breakfast was wonderfully prepared and the breadth of breakfast offerings were outstanding. Although the price was a little steep and out of line with what I normally pay, the extra outlay would not prohibit me from staying in the property again. Reasonably good value.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesville

Address: 1793 Richmond Road, Charlottesville, VA 22911
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#5 Family Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#5 Business Hotel in Charlottesvill...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesville 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesville Hotel Charlottesville
Charlottesville Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Charlottesville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.