We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, needs some work.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn University

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn University to your Saves list
Comfort Inn University
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1803 Emmet Street N, Charlottesville, VA 22901   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #26 of 33 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Newport News/Yorktown, VA
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great location, needs some work.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

As a hotel manager, I understand that I notice little things many guests don't. The staff was pleasant, the hotel was in a great location, and the hotel was pretty nice. But the mold in the bathroom/caulking, stains on the carpets, really slow internet, the fact that the locks are on backwards and you have to life up the door knob instead of pushing down, were all small details that bothered me. That being said, it's one of the top 2-3 hotels I've stayed at in Charlottesville. Charlottesville is a high occupancy, high revenue town, and most chains allow the hotels there to get away with conditions that would not be acceptable in most areas. Kind of like a beach town, the brand makes good income from there and leaves the property alone. But seriously, Choice needs to do some work on their hotels in the area. While one of the top 2-3 hotels near the university, it still leaves much to be desired when compared to other Comfort Inns.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    38
    28
    13
    15
See reviews for
45
28
11
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vienna VA
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We recently stayed two nights. The staff was helpful and accomodating, we give them high marks. For example, while the website said 'no pets' they permitted our small, well-behaved dog in the room for a small fee. We've stayed at many Comfort Inn establishments around the US, but this is the one which most needed updating and cleaning on carpets, bathroom, etc. Carpet had numerous marks (note: NOT our dog, who runs from the corridor of a motel to her own dog bed which we bring along!) Mold around tub floor. Stains on chair. A/C unit didn't appear to have been cleaned out in years. Bedspreads didn't seem too clean, even husband remarked that the room wasn't up to usual high cleaniness we've seen in Comfort Inns.

I'm horrified to read ... after our stay... of rocks thrown from the hillside retaining wall and damage to guests' cars! (see another reader's review). That wall then MUST be fenced off! We saw men walking on the wall when we arrived, so HOPEFULLY motel will do something about this asap. Action must be taken by motel to protect guests' vehicles because parking spaces are in short supply on the other side. Several trucks blocked off parking while we were there, we got one of the last places on the side away from the wall... and it was still early in the evening when we parked for the night.

Access is difficult in heavy traffic from Route 29... the motel is back from the road behind a fast-food chicken place. Rush hour we had to wait for two stoplight cycles before someone let us into the driveway.

Room Tip: Don't park by the wall unless there is a new fence!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bel Air, MD
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We stayed two nights while visiting C-ville. The hotel has a very convenient location yet surprisingly quiet. I slept very well at this hotel. No road noise, ice machines, ventilation,or plumbing racket. Service was friendly and efficient. We skipped breakfast, only had coffee. This is the third hotel we have stayed in C-ville in the last year, and first one I would return to.

Room Tip: We were able to add an additional night by calling the hotel directly. Did not need to use 800 rese...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleGuests, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn University, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you for your review of your recent stay. We are happy to hear that our location was convenient for your visit to Charlottesville. Many of our guests like the fact that the hotel is conveniently located on Route 29 (and convenient to UVA, shopping and restaurants). We are also fortunate that the hotel is set back off of Route 29 just enough so guests are not bothered by the road noise. We are so happy to hear that you had a restful night's sleep!

We are pleased to hear that you had a positive experience and would return to stay with us again! We would be honored to be your hotel of choice in Charlottesville! We hope that your next visit you will have time to enjoy our great complimentary hot breakfast buffet.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your positive experience with others on TripAdvisor. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norristown, Pennsylvania
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Stayed here one night, in town for business. Hotel is on the main drag, so traffic can be a bit heavy, especially with the construction that was going on when I was there. Overall not too bad though. Plenty of places around for food. Room was clean and comfortable and not too expensive, what more can I ask for a one night business stay?

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleGuests, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn University, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Comfort Inn University. We are pleased to hear that you found the room to be clean and comfortable and a good value. Yes, we are so fortunate to have a great variety of restaurants close by the hotel – everything from fast food to popular chain restaurants and some great restaurants that are unique to Charlottesville. Being located on Route 29 is a plus, as it gives our guests the convenience of being close to all of these great dining options, UVA, local business and shopping venues. There is a bit of daytime construction in our area right now, due to the new Shops at Stonefield development down the road from the hotel. However, this development is going to be very exciting for our guests, as it is going to bring additional upscale shopping, dining and a Regal Cinema to our neighborhood.

Again, thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience with others. We look forward to welcoming you back soon on your next business trip to Charlottesville.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun City, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Rugs were filthy. I was afraid to take my shoes off. The bathroom was so outdated and not very clean. Toilet was wobbly and a table next to sink was falling apart. Fortunately we only stayed there 1 night and found another place the next night. For the amount they charged you can do a lot better.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

My hubby & I were doing something out of the ordinary by not booking a hotel before we left home on our unplanned nomadic journey. We ended up in Charlottesville & @ 8:30p & we'd yet to decide on a hotel. We ended up @ this Comfort Inn where the lone front desk lady greeted us warmly while my husband immediately noticed the carnival-like popcorn machine welcoming his taste buds. Our room was clean, towels soft, bed comfortable, TV working & micro/fridge/coffee maker present. Even the fee breakfast was good despite
the fact the waffle maker was on the fritz. This hotel has appealed to a self-confessed hotel snob. Now off to West Va. May be looking for another Comfort Inn!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon Park, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

Chose this for proximity to UVa and should have booked directly with hotel to get discounted rate for having medical appointment. As it was, I booked online, but system devolves to an entity on Expedia that the manager knew nothing about! As I had been charged $40 more than the discounted amount, the manager helped get a refund for a second night I decided to cancel...something Expedia's agent was most reluctant to allow. Bottom line:BOOK DIRECTLY WITH HOTEL, not through choicehotels.com.
While convenient to UVa, this is an older hotel whose rooms show their age. Things were generally clean, but walls, ceilings and bathroom fixtures were cracked and rather dinghy looking. The desk lamp seemed to have a short in its wiring with much crackling and flickering of the bulb when turning it on. It was one the poorer Choice Hotels we've used over the past dozen years or so, and not worth the listed prices. If you are going for a medical appointment at UVa, be sure to ask for the lower rate.
Staff was friendly, and breakfast was OK.
Probably would not stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn University

Address: 1803 Emmet Street N, Charlottesville, VA 22901
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 33 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn University 2*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Comfort Inn University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn University, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.