We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great flavor, small portions” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Zo.ca.lo

Zo.ca.lo
201 East Main Street, Charlottesville, VA
434-977-4944
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Zo.ca.lo is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #36 of 474 Restaurants in Charlottesville
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $30 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Bar scene, Doing business, Romantic, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: 2nd Street NE and East Main Street
United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great flavor, small portions”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

We heard so many great reviews of this place so we had to check it out. Service was good, atmosphere was really nice, and the food was above average. The portion sizes were kind of small, which is fine for me but the men in our party left a little unsatisfied. The chefs definitely have skills-the dishes were unique and yummy. All in all the food was delicious and we would go back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    56
    11
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Good meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Had a very good meal here during restaurant week even though we choose from the regular menu. We had delicious scallops and salmon. The wine list was quite good and the service as well. Would return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“CHECK YOUR BANK STATEMENTS AFTER LEAVING”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

DOUBLE CHECK YOUR BANK STATEMENTS AFTER LEAVING THIS PLACE! I was charged $112 after purchasing a $10 Parliment drink and leaving a $2 tip. I expect more from such a establishment, as should you.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Try the fritters with chile sauce!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Great atmosphere! A little jazz band was there the night we dined and it was like being in downtown NYC. The food is flavorful and the portions are generous.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia, United States
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Favorite cocktail spot with the gals!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

My friends and I love to meet for drinks at zocalo as they have a creative and changing line-up of cocktails. I especially recommend the Loose Goose and Pomegranate martinis. The food is also delicious--best scallops I've had in town--but pricey. Save dinner for date night, and hit happy hour with your friends!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zo.ca.lo also viewed

 
Charlottesville, VA
 

Been to Zo.ca.lo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zo.ca.lo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.