We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Zo.ca.lo

Zo.ca.lo
201 East Main Street, Charlottesville, VA
434-977-4944
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Zo.ca.lo is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #36 of 474 Restaurants in Charlottesville
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $30 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Doing business, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: 2nd Street NE and East Main Street
Virginia, USA
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Delicious food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We happened upon this place on the Mall in Charlottesville, and when the outside was steamy and threatening rain, we were happy to find an air-conditioned interior. The service was wonderful, and the food was superb -- we had arugula salad with beets, tuna tartare (my partner said it tasted like a tuna gazpacho with veggies mixed in -- unusual and nice), duck (not quite up to the duck at Peking Gourmet in Falls Church the night before, but good, with a tasty sauce), and chili-dusted sea scallops that were sensation with little rounds of roasted plantain and a piquant sauce. We'll go back to this one for sure, though it was a bit noisy for my taste. (It's that modern style, with hard surfaces everywhere and lots of guests who are young folks who never learned about the 'indoor voice.')

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    56
    11
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville, Virginia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“A favorite Charlottesville Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Charlottesville has many great restaurants but this is absolutely one of my favorite places to dine. I particularly enjoy dining outside when the weather suits. Located on the historic downtown mall, the food, ambience and service have consistently been excellent.

The food is fresh and presented very artistically. I wouldn't exactly describe it as a Mexican restaurant as it has an Argentinian flair along with southwestern U.S. influences. The vella jack fritters w/raspberry and chili sauce are to die for. I could make a meal out of this appetizer. The Drunken NY strip accompanied with polenta fries are quite tasty...the grouper, scallops and duck have also been wonderful.

The service is quite good...the wine and beer list are extensive and they take reservations.

If you are a local and haven't had the pleasure, give it a try. If you are a visitor to the area, put this eatery on your list...you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Lovely fusion food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

This place had a great twist to all the dishes we had.

When they say chilli, they mean chilli! Mexican style! Some places whimp out on this, but these guys had it nailed!

Chilled, relaxed, and something to mix up your food choice for the weekend.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Excellent dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Fantastic dining experience. We had a wonderful dinner here. I had the duck which was amazing accompanied by spinach and bread pudding. It was one of the best duck dishes I have ever had. Service was efficient and beautiful setting with nice outdoor area. The price was reasonable as well. Highly recommend. Only downside is inability to make online reservations.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Top notch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

Small but perfect menu, outdoor seating and great drink selection. Overall a terrific place for dinner

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zo.ca.lo also viewed

 
Charlottesville, VA
Charlottesville, VA
 

Been to Zo.ca.lo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zo.ca.lo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.