We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NOT LIKE IT USED TO BE” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Milan Indian Cuisine

Milan Indian Cuisine
1817 Emmet St., Charlottesville, VA 22901
434 984 2828
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #39 of 465 Restaurants in Charlottesville
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Tulsa, Oklahoma, United States
1 review
“NOT LIKE IT USED TO BE”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Took my out of town family guests to what used to be one of my favorite Charlottesville restaurants. The masala sauce was extremely thin and bland tasting. I was very disappionted among the other members of my family. Suppose we will have to check out the other Indian Restaurants in town. Too bad Milan has really gone down hill with quality and taste.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    35
    14
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wash DC
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good Indian food. Convenient to Holiday Inn-Univ Area.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Good Indian cuisine, across parking lot from Holiday Inn! Interesting dishes,nice atmosphere, food was not too spicy, catered to travelers and local college community.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Best Indian? or Only Indian?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Went here on a Friday and they had two waiters for the entire place. Two very slow waiters. Took a long time to get service and they did not bring my drinks until after the food arrived and I asked were the heck my drink order was. Food was OK, I have had much better (and worse). Portions were good and it was hot (temperature) but I ordered medium spice and got buttermilk level spice. Not what I ordered.

The naan is good and the prices are correct but the service needs to step up their game at least one level if not too. We would not return, too many other places to try.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“great food, terrible service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

The food was the shining light at this cute Indian restaurant, however the service almost undid the whole experience. The server never explained the menu, checked back with us, or offered dessert or after dinner drinks. On the positive side, the food was outstanding and will go back and hope for a better server.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STAFFORD
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great Buffet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Everytime we visit Charlottesville from DC we try to make it to Milan's. The food has always been great, never disappointed.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Milan Indian Cuisine also viewed

Charlottesville, VA
 
Charlottesville, VA
Charlottesville, VA
 

Been to Milan Indian Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Milan Indian Cuisine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.