We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restaurant week at the Old Mill Room” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old Mill Room

Old Mill Room
200 Ednam Drive, Boars Head, Charlottesville, VA 22903
+1 434-972-2230
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Old Mill Room is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #13 of 465 Restaurants in Charlottesville
Price range: $20 - $50
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Berwick Road
Description: In 1965, Boar's Head set out to create a dining experience that celebrates innovation blended with Southern style blending culinary artistry and classic elegance. Today, culinary tradition and passion for inspired cuisine continues. Our extensive wine and brew lists pair perfectly with a range of fresh, bold flavors that change with the seasons. A 2013 Wine Spectator Award Winner. AAA Four Diamond award-winning restaurant for 27 years running. From classic bistro fare and grill favorites, to fine dining at the Old Mill Room Restaurant and our extravagant Sunday Brunch-a true culinary adventure awaits you at Charlottesville's Only Four-Diamond Resort. Boar's Head is open for breakfast, lunch, and dinner seven days a week.
nj
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Restaurant week at the Old Mill Room”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Fabulous prix fixe menu with delightful wines and martinis. Spectacular service and delicious food. We were visiting University of Virginia and this was THE place to have dinner.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    34
    10
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Eckman
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“Excellent gourmet dinner with fine wine!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

We had a truly excellent gourmet dinner here, accompanied by very fine wine from the Jefferson Vineyard. Excellent and charming service, as well! A tomato tarte with blue cheese ice cream served in a delectable lacy Parmesan cheese basket was superb, as was the crisp-skinned trout... Yum!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, VA
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Had lunch at Old Mill Room at Boar's Head Inn today with a friend. We chose the buffet which was amazing. They had a wonderful selection of food as well as a variety of desserts. The service was great. It was a very enjoyable and relaxing day as we sat for a long time after eating and talked. The dining room is very nice and quiet and we never felt rushed. It is a must try. I am looking forward to going for Sunday Brunch, hopefully in the near future.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

I hosted a bridal luncheon for 10 last weekend at this fine establishment. What a lovely place!! The food was excellent, the arrangements were perfect and our staffer Nancy made the day.
We originally had a party of 11, but one could not make it. Nancy took care of this and we were not charged. She also corrected our gratuity which I had added, but was already on the bill. This kind treatment develops long lasting and grateful customers. An excellent experience and I would highly recommend.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great food and service; quiet charm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Always have an excellent experience at the Boar's Head.
Food is impeccable. Servers attentive, but not annoyingly so.
Quiet, historic setting. Great place if you actually want to talk to your fellow diners.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Mill Room also viewed

 
Charlottesville, VA
Charlottesville, VA
 

Been to Old Mill Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Mill Room, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.