We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“zzzzzzzz” 3 of 5 stars
Review of St Maarten Cafe

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
St Maarten Cafe
1400 Wertland St, Charlottesville, VA 22903-2800
434-293-2233
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #220 of 465 Restaurants in Charlottesville
Price range: $0 - $12
Restaurant details
Scottsville, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“zzzzzzzz”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

i bet most of the food is made from frozen, not fresh; fair at best...why did they reopen? zzzzzzzzzz

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    4
    6
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Towson, Maryland
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Bar!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

If you're trapped in Cville, try st maartens. The key west decor lets you pretend you're not mired in the hole that spawned dave mathews. The drinks were fun and weird, the beer was cheap, and the burgers pretty good. The BEST thing about st maartens though is that there are no windows and no college kids.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great college bar with reasonable prices.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2011

Stopped in to meet some friends and have some beer while visiting Charlottesville. Very good appetizer of fried onions and jalapeno slices (though a bit greasy, as fried food tends to be). I was very impressed with their beer list, which included Jefferson Reserve, a delicious bourbon-barrel-aged stout with high alcohol content. The cocktail menu is impressive, too, and the low prices make me cry at the thought of ordering a cocktail now that I'm back home in expensive Germany.

  • Visited December 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“great wings”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2010

i love their wings. might have the best wings in town. certainly better than BW3s, and probably a little better than Wild Wings. the rest of the food is okay. not good, not bad. decent enough chicken sandwiches and cheeseburgers and all that. it's a bar. i'd recommend coming on tuesdays (at least I think that's when it is, or at least used to be) for their two for one wings specials. the flavor of the wings is as good as any place, but their also a little meatier.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing Burgers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2010

I've been going to St. Maarten's for about 8 years now, and I have to say that I absolutely love getting their burgers! The atmosphere definitely has a "Margaritaville" feel to it. Service has always been exceptional! Truly a local's restaurant! During the week, you'll find a lot of the local hospital staff grabbing lunch there with colleagues. Interesting drinks menu posted next to all of the tables, and changed regularly! I’ve frequently taken out-of-towners here and they all love it! Although it can get a little dark in there, you just have to remember that it is a bar. Still a favorite meeting place for my friends and I to grab some dinner and a few drinks!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St Maarten Cafe also viewed

 
Charlottesville, VA
Charlottesville, VA
 

Been to St Maarten Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St Maarten Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.