We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Competes with Riverside for the best burgers in cville” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jak'n Jil

Jak'n Jil
1404 E High St, Charlottesville, VA 22902-4958
(434) 293-7213
Improve this listing
Ranked #246 of 430 Restaurants in Charlottesville
Restaurant details
Charlottesville, Virginia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Competes with Riverside for the best burgers in cville”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

I LOVE Riverside burgers, so was not hugely excited about trying something new. I am so glad I did! I ordered a cheeseburger and fries (my normal Riverside choices) and was not disappointed. I would say there are 2 choices for the best burger in Charlottesville. If you want a wonderfully greasy, juicy, diner burger, go to Riverside. If you want a great burger but can't (or don't want to) handle as much grease, go with Jak'n Jil. One thing to note - when you go in order at the counter and then sit down - no one will come to take your order. :)

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    9
    4
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
uberfilipi
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fast but lacking”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

I was craving Liver and Onions. I usually go to Mel's Cafe but I had had it once here and couldn't recall how it was. It wasn't all that. All told the liver was passable and fair. I couldn't get a veggie and had to have fries which I didn't want. The cole slaw was yummy. It came with a salad that was pretty great.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Tacky but fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Jak'n Jil, not just a step back in time; the decor represents some of the worst (and most endearing) from a variety of decades, but it feels sincere.
The service is friendly & prompt; you order at the counter, and they give a shout out when it's ready. The food is, well, diner food for crying out loud. You didn't come here for sushi and heirloom vegetables, did you? Enjoy the knotty pine paneling, the mirrored side wall, the eclectic - um - art on the walls, and the silk floral arrangement lurking in a corner.
Most of all, enjoy the hot dogs & hamburgers and the cheerful service. Maybe you'll become lighthearted, too, and not be such a curmudgeon.
They have a pretty full selection on the menu, but I've always stuck with the dogs, burgers, and fries. Reliable, and very fairly priced.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Jak'n Jil in Charlottesville”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

There's a reason Jak'n Jil's was voted the best hot dogs in Charlottesville...they are!! Small diner-like spot that's big on service, cleanliness and probably the best Mustard/Chili/Onion Hot Dog I've had in a very long time...well worth a visit for a "I gotta have a hot dog" feeling...

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Kitschy Klean alternative to Jinx Pit Stop barbecue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Road trip stop, tried to get barbecue from Jinx, but it was closed. This was good a backup plan just around the corner. We both had a BBQ sandwich, fries (seasoned w/old bay), and really good crunchy fresh onion rings. Service was fast, food was fresh. If you get shut out at Jinx' (& it sounds like many do), Jak & Jil is a much more sanitary and funky old school diner alternative.

And they have cake...

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jak'n Jil also viewed

 
Charlottesville, VA
Charlottesville, VA
 

Been to Jak'n Jil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jak'n Jil, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.