We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, pricey menu” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mellow Mushroom

Mellow Mushroom
1309 W Main St, Charlottesville, VA 22903-2825
(434) 972-9366
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 465 Restaurants in Charlottesville
Cuisines: Pizza
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night
Newport News/Yorktown, VA
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good food, pricey menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

A few friends and I ate here yesterday evening. The food was great, the drinks were good, but the prices were steep, we paid around $25 for a large supreme pizza. As we're all working professionals in town for alumni weekend the price wasn't an issue. We enjoyed a great meal and will be back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    51
    16
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
usa
Top Contributor
200 reviews 200 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Tasty pizza and salads and a good value too!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Try the shitake mushroom pizza. It's very tasty! The salads are good and fresh. The food was much better than we expected.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good Family Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Good pizza, fun atmosphere. Great place to take the kids after a sporting event at the University. Great deals on pitchers of good beer (for the adults of course!).

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Garden, Virginia
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Very collegiate and not very unique”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Very collegiate, often loud and the pizza is mediocre but not bad. Did have the biggest draft beer selection in C'ville before Sedona Taphouse arrived. The pizza isn't bad but it's not great either. If you're 21 years old and from suburbia; you'll probably think it's a cool, rebellious place. You'll also likely grow out of that stage. Mellow mushroom isn't bad it's just not the best Charlottesville has to offer.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Fun and surprising”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We needed a quick bite with tight time limits before a football game. The place was packed but they put us at the bar where they were very attentive. The menu looked so good I wish I could have eaten there repeatedly. We had some delicious meatballs. Would love to go back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mellow Mushroom also viewed

 
Charlottesville, VA
 

Been to Mellow Mushroom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mellow Mushroom, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.