We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Martini, Great Food, Great Service!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bang

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Bang
213 2nd St SW, Charlottesville, VA 22902-5017
434-984-2264
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 455 restaurants in Charlottesville
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
NJ
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
“Great Martini, Great Food, Great Service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

We stopped in on our walk back to our B & B and so glad we did. I asked them to recommend a martini for me and she did, it was so yummy!!! I also got a egg roll which was very good!!! I totally recommend this place!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

83% Recommend
    45
    29
    8
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Blowing Rock, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Maybe an off night?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Drinks were ok. Food ok. Kind of loud as the evening progressed. Really wanted it to be great. Will try it again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
1 review
“Honestly, just not that good.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Bang tries hard, maybe too hard. Unfortunately, all that effort seems to go into the vibe and ambiance rather than the food. The tapas-style dishes are unsubstantial, and the combinations of flavors make some of the dishes unpalatable. The restaurant feels cheap, but the price tag isn't.

The drinks are great, though.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“One of our favorite places in C'ville”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Very fun, casual place. Love the tapas menu. 60 second sirloin delicious but a bit on the raw side, we suggest 75 seconds instead. Side of edamame another favorite. The tempura haricot vert are stupendous, you can't eat enough of them. When the plate arrives, you think 'that's a ton of string beans, we will never eat them all' but 5 minutes later you realize they are all gone and debate ordering a second helping. Bananas fritters for dessert is too good and somehow you find room to devour it. Seating can be in stiff, or low chairs/booths, so not for folks who need cushy comfortable chairs to spread out in.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlottesville
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Another one of My Very Favorite restaurants”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

I know the food will be consistently fantastic and the cocktails, the best in town. I love this place (much to my husbands dismay, as he likes to try new places and i love to return to my standbys, and this is indeed one of my standbys). Love the outdoor seating but on a cold winter night it's sort of cozy inside. And the Sin City martini--it is the bomb!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bang also viewed

 
Charlottesville, VA
Charlottesville, VA
 

Been to Bang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bang, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.