We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pizza Done Right” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Christian's Pizza

Christian's Pizza
118 W Main St, Charlottesville, VA 22902-5032
434-977-9688
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #48 of 464 Restaurants in Charlottesville
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night
Charlottesville, Virginia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Pizza Done Right”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

The pizza is always fantastic - with a terrific crust. The variety of choices is mind-boggling. I love the artichoke - my husband is a standard sausage and pizza man. Very convenient.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    56
    29
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville, Virginia
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Best Pizza in Charlottesville?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Wow. That would be something to claim. In my opinion, Charlottesville itself falls far short of claiming to have outstanding pizza options compared to NYC or my beloved Chicago, but we do have a few really decent pizza paces and Christian's is one of those.

What makes Christian's unique is the setup. Chris designed his main store to sell pizza by the slice, quickly and efficiently, with all the variety you could possibly imagine. The formula worked when he ran the predecessor to Christian's downtown store -- still open down the street -- and it has been perfected and somewhat cloned in other locations.

I hesitate to call the product "gourmet" pizza. The crust is good, NY style thin tossed. The baking ovens yield a good pie, and are suited to reheating the slices upon selecting from pre-made pies what you'd like. The number of combinations and especially ingredients is amazing. They also serve pre-made calzones. And, you can order whole pies made to your liking. The quality of the pizza is much better than average.

Depending on timing, you may be inundated with moms and kids, and if that is a problem, carry out or go without is my advice. Sorry moms, but your broods can be annoying.

The dining area in the main store compels carry out, as during peak hours it is jammed. That is a testament to the concept, and to the quality, IMHO.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good Pizza-family friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We recently became stranded in C'ville thanks to our car breaking down. Our hotel recommended this place and it was really good pizza. There was a constant flow of people coming in and out ordering pizza and picking up ginormous boxes to go. You can order every pizza by slice, including a large assortment of gourmet pizza. Prizes per slice go up with the number of toppings on them. If everyone in your family/group wants the same type of pizza (like pepperoni) it would be a better deal to order a whole pizza than by slice.
The staff was friendly. Order at the counter, self serve drinks.
This is a kid friendly place to eat as well.
My favorite part about this little restaurant was the sign above the condiments. It warned that if they are removed from the building they will explode. Too funny.
Overall a really good little pizza place.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Va
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Small chain with awesome pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

You can get basic slices of pizza or you can get fancy pizzas (gourmet type pizza) The kids can get basic pizza by the slice and mom can get a fancy herb veggie slice and dad can get the mega meat slice. They have it all

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia, United States
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A good option for a fast meal”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

They sell pizza by the slice or whole pizzas, they have a wide variety of pizza to chose from. The dining area is a little small, it may be hard to get a table during peak times like 12:00-1:00pm during the work week.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Christian's Pizza also viewed

Charlottesville, VA
Charlottesville, VA
 
Charlottesville, VA
 

Been to Christian's Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Christian's Pizza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.