We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent outdoor dinner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vivace

Vivace
2244 Ivy Rd, Charlottesville, VA 22903-4977
+1 434-979-0994
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #107 of 465 Restaurants in Charlottesville
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: Vivace Restaurant, located on Ivy Road near the University Of Virginia , opened its doors in July of 1995. Housed in the former main quarters of a peach orchard, Vivace attracts patrons with its diverse atmosphere. From the cozy intimate upstairs, which hints at the comfort and ease of Nona's home, to the vast expanse of our multi-tiered outdoor terrace, the ambiance at Vivace appeals to all. The 1940s hand-crafted serpentine bar in the lounge provides a festive setting for the light-hearted. For the romantic, enjoy a glass of wine by our inviting fireplace. From the moment you arrive, you'll discover that Vivace is full of Italian charm. Our unique decor and old family photos will transport you to a quaint Italian village, creating a welcoming atmosphere. Providing authentic entrees has been our primary goal for the past eighteen years.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Excellent outdoor dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Very good service and very tasty Italian food! Veal Marsala was great as was the homemade sausage & peppers. Decent wine selection & good service.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    31
    10
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
George Town, Grand Cayman
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very good Italian”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

The restaurant is tucked away on a hill. We really enjoyed the pasta dishes. The gazpacho was fresh, but could have used some more cilantro and fresh pepper.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsville, Virginia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Disppointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

We visited C-ville again and returned to Vivace for a Saturday evening dinner. The restaurant was not busy and we were seated quckly. I'm sorry to say that we did not stay. We did not remember the menu being so limited nor the prices so high. The waitress was very cordial when we told her were were leaving. From what I remember, we really enjoyed our dinners in past visits, but we just taken back by the high prices. I really don't think they were that high in the past.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Choose another Restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

In their defense, the restaurant was extremely crowded. In their defense, we were a large party (8).Having said that, the food was mediocre, the service was fair, and the prices were exaggerated. It's hard to screw up basic Italian dishes. Italian cuisine has so many good and yet simple to prepare offerings. Well...... If you leave eight people disatisfied, you must be doing something wrong.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

We've been to Vivace several times, and it's always been excellent. We went for a post-Valentine's Day celebration and enjoyed it more than ever. The restaurant was busier than we had ever seen it, but the service was outstanding and the food was world class. We had had the bruschetta before, but this time it was better than ever. My wife had the spaghetti oglio and I had the chicken parmegiana. We were both very pleased with the quality, and, of course, we had plenty to take home. The bread was also very tasty. For dessert we had the cannelloni and their sambucca/espresso ice cream. Also excellent. My only gripe was that they no longer carry Italian beers. I don't think you can go wrong with Vivace. Looking forward to going back in the nice weather and dining al fresco.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vivace also viewed

Charlottesville, VA
Charlottesville, VA
 
Charlottesville, VA
Charlottesville, VA
 

Been to Vivace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vivace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.