We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's an Outback! Nothing more, nothing less, but this staff values service!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Outback Steakhouse

Outback Steakhouse
1101 Seminole Trl, Charlottesville, VA 22901-7401
434-975-4329
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #247 of 430 Restaurants in Charlottesville
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Virginia
Top Contributor
247 reviews 247 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
159 helpful votes 159 helpful votes
“It's an Outback! Nothing more, nothing less, but this staff values service!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

You know what to expect from Outback Steak Houses. They are all so similar, again it is only the ownership and staff that make a difference and this crew is reliable because the owners care enough to bring you well trained people.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    19
    23
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville, Virginia
1 review
“Don't rely on them to follow their own call ahead rules”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

We were a large group of nine that showed up and were told it would be a 30-35 minute wait. 45 minutes later, a group of 10 walked in and immediately got a table. They hadn't actually gotten call ahead seating because if they had called before we had arrived, they would have been quoted 30 minutes which they had missed by a good 15 mintues. Instead, it turns out, they had called four days earlier and been put on the call ahead list starting on Monday - since Outback says they don't take reservation. I guess they were told that the wait was 96 hours when they called on Monday!

For us, after a 70 minute wait (twice what we were quoted when we got there), we got stuck at a round table for six with a table for two stuck on to it. Not even close to enough room, plus we were sticking out across about 80% of the usual walkway. I felt sorry for the blind gentlemen whose cane got stuck in our chairs because we were sitting where we weren't supposed to - really, I am actually not making that one up!

When you eat at a chain restaurant, you should be able to expect that the management is making the restaurant consistent with the others across the country. That is one of the key marketing advantages of chain restaurants - the consumer knows what to expect at each restaurant whether in Peoria or Orlando. For this Outback, the management isn't living up to their responsibility to the consumer, and the result tonight was that we had to wait over an hour after being told 30-35 mintues, and we spent over $150 on dinner in order to eat at a table where we were cramped like sardines!

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisa, Virginia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Good Value...Great Steaks, Great Salads, Great Drinks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

I took my wife for our anniversary and as always I am impressed with Outback. I love sirloin steak and they do about the best in the industry. Being a cattleman steaks are my passion and the best I have ever had have been at Outback. They do an excellent job purchasing quality beef and cooking it to perfection. I have been to many upscale steakhouses in my day and I am always impressed that a chain like Outback out performs the "finest" for a lot better value. The Blue Cheese Chop Salad is delicous and the Wallaby Darned drink is fanatastic but it paks a punch We had the sundae for dessert and it was super. Great service as well.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Overpriced and not worth the wait”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2011

Outback steakhouse always has a long line and a wait and the food is very expensive and the steaks are OK, but not worth the money and the wait.

Also they cram people in there so it is loud and people bumping into you all the time.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
“Best steak in town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2009

Best steak in town!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Outback Steakhouse also viewed

Charlottesville, VA
 

Been to Outback Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Outback Steakhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.