We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect dining experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hamiltons' at First & Main

Hamiltons' at First & Main
101 W Main St, Charlottesville, VA 22902-5031
434-295-6649
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $5 - $33
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Located in the heart of Charlottesville's Downtown district, Hamiltons' is the perfect spot for a delicious afternoon lunch or a romantic evening dinner. A cheerful, cozy atmosphere and attentive service ensure our guests enjoy an outstanding dining experience, be they Charlottesville natives, out-of-town visitors, or University students and staff. We also feature outdoor patio seating seasonally, providing our guests the opportunity to dine amidst the bustle of the Downtown Mall. Our Staff Kate and Bill Hamilton opened the restaurant's doors in February 1996. Today, talented Chef de Cuisine Curtis Shaver brings a distinctive flare to the exciting, contemporary American cuisine for which Hamiltons' is known. In addition to overseeing Hamiltons' award winning wine list, General Manager and Partner Daniel Page directs a staff renowned for its congeniality and professionalism. Music at Hamiltons' Every Saturday and Wednesday night from about 7-10 p.m, Hamiltons' hosts the live jazz stylings of guitarist Peter Richardson. Peter's album with clarinetist Dave Kannensohn titled "Saturday Nights at Hamiltons'" features American and Latin jazz favorites.
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Perfect dining experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

The restaurant is just beautiful. The food matches the ambiance so you are off to a great start! Located right on the pedestrian mall there is outside seating as well. The menu is great and you cannot go wrong with the entree choices. Enjoy!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    167
    70
    22
    11
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
rural VA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very good meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

A friend and I recently ate dinner there - this is the second time we've eaten there but it's been many years ago. I had the chicken and it was the absolute best chicken I've ever eaten. It comes with farro risotto and that was excellent as well.

My friend had salmon and said it was very good also. Yes it's a little expensive but our food was excellent Don't get to C'ville often but when I do, I intend to stop in for a meal.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
“A Southern Charm”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

On a lovely June evening, we sat outside and enjoyed a dinner of solid southern-touched cooking, though we enjoyed some dishes more than others. Our favorites were a flavorful calamari salad with arugula and a lemon-herb dressing and the rich tasting Carolina Jumbo Shrimp in a Chardonnay Sauce with creamy grits. I am from Michigan so the creamy, smokey-ham flavored grits was a surprising taste treat. I hate to think of how many calories went into creating such a rich flavor, but it was worth it. The shrimp themselves were not jumbo but were sufficient. The jumbo crab cakes were disappointing--much too much filling. The crispy feta appetizer was an interesting experiment. It was basically fried cheese with olive tapinade and roasted red peppers on a bed of arugula. The fried breading outweighted the flavor of the cheese. The selection of wines by the glass was very limited and unfortunately emphasized local wines. We ended up not drinking the wines we ordered and switched to beer. Despite a few disappointments, overall, a very nice dining experience.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia, USA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Perfect food and weather”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Beautiful spring evening we were able to sit outside. The whole trout stuffed with mushrooms was a truly melt-in-your-mouth experience.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lunenburg, Canada
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Excellent Sunday Brunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

This restaurant is one of my daughter's favourites for Sunday brunch in Charlottesville. It did not disappoint. We shared the pastry basket for starters with our coffee, tea, latte and hot chocolate. Delicious and creative. One was a scone with chilies and bacon, one a berry muffin and the third a delicious pistachio and chocolate croissant. Three of us settled on the poached eggs hollandaise on Scottish smoked salmon. The eggs were cooked to perfection. Nothing raw with almost jelled yolks. The home fries and onions set it off nicely. One had the corn flour waffles that were light and fluffy with a wonderful berry topping. The meal for 4 came to $100 with tip and tax. It is worth a stop.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hamiltons' at First & Main also viewed

 
Charlottesville, VA
Charlottesville, VA
 

Been to Hamiltons' at First & Main? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hamiltons' at First & Main, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.