We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jefferson's Pride and Joy--College tour” 4 of 5 stars
Review of University of Virginia

University of Virginia
Emmet Street, Charlottesville, VA
434-924-0311
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Walking
Attraction details
The Woodlands, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Jefferson's Pride and Joy--College tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

Jefferson was very proud of the University of Virginia. He was so proud it was 1 of 3 things he wanted to be remembered for and are included on his tombstone. (along with the Declaration of Independence and Virginia's Statute of Religious Freedom.)

I toured the campus with my daughter who was visiting colleges. We got some historical information but not as much as I would have liked. I suspect, but am not sure, that UVA may have a "historical/visitor tour." This would be more benefitial from an architectural and historic standpoint. Our tour was led by a student as was more designed to give a student's view of college life today at UVA. Thomas Jefferson and his ideals are fully embedded in the University and this was apparent visiting the campus.
I enjoyed my visit to Monticello the next day more from a historical and Jeffersonian standpoint. His plantation is amazing and well worth a visit. It is very complimentary to a visit to UVA.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    345
    117
    20
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Taiyuan, China
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
258 helpful votes 258 helpful votes
“Fine American Architecture”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

The rotunda and surrounding old campus area is very attractive and is part of Jefferson's great architectural contribution to America. This university is in the Federal style, instead of the University Gothic of many campuses. Of course it is also free to visit. Also, look for Edgar Allen Poe's old dorm room.

Parking could be tough, but there is a parking garage near the bookstore that would probably be the best spot.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“See the genius of Jefferson”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

The Rotunda on UVA grounds offers both free tours and self-guided walks. Learn about this World Heritage site and the culmination of Jefferson's efforts begun in his 70's!

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pembroke pines florida
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“UVa Law”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

Loved everything about our experience here! The people were incredibly friendly and kind, warm and welcoming. The law school is spacious and beautiful, and the grounds are breathtaking.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Top Contributor
303 reviews 303 reviews
73 attraction reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
“Wonderful architecture, lovely place for a picnic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

You can take tours of the Lawn (go to the Rotunda to sign up for one) or you can wander around on your own. Enjoy wandering along the Lawn (it's not a campus or a quadrangle), picnic there, visit the Rotunda. Check out Jefferson's optical illusions by heading down to one end and looking up to the other (you'll see that even though the Lawn is not evenly spaced it looks like it is if you go down to Old Cabell Hall and look up at the Rotunda). The Rotunda is not the original design of Jefferson. It was burnt in a fire in 1895 and rebuilt by Stanford White. It's now due for repairs and there is discussion about how it will be done. In either case it's lovely to sit on the stairs and look out over the Lawn.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed University of Virginia also viewed

 
Charlottesville, VA
Charlottesville, VA
 

Been to University of Virginia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage University of Virginia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.