We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sleep Inn & Suites Monticello

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sleep Inn & Suites Monticello to your Saves list
Sleep Inn & Suites Monticello
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1185 5th St. SW, Charlottesville, VA 22902   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #18 of 33 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Glen Burnie, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

I had stayed at this Sleep Inn several years ago and thought that it was just OK. However, it is currently in the midst of a refurbishment/upgrade program and our recent 3-night long weekend stay in one of their suites was a much-improved experience. The suite was very spacious, as was the upgraded bathroom and shower. The bedroom and sitting room are not separated by any privacy wall, but that was not a problem. One flat-panel TV services both rooms. Also, their rates were lower than most competitive motels in Charlottesville. I have definitely added this facility to my list of acceptable motels to stay at in Charlottesville.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    36
    13
    2
    5
See reviews for
27
30
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

Right at arrival I was warmly greeted with a smiley and cheery host, by the name of Denise. She checked me in to my room and told me of all the amenities and hours of operation for the time sensitive ones (breakfast, pool...) She also helped my friend with ordering from Waffle House late night. The rooms were clean and very cozy, and in the morning the breakfast was beyond satisfying! But again seeing Denise's face the following afternoon is what made my time at the Sleep Inn awesome!!! Again so welcoming and friendly with her contagious joy! She truly was the reason I most enjoyed staying at the Sleep Inn, everything else was just a bonus;-)

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

The room and hallway especially were really hot. It took a long time for the room to cool down with a/c on high. The pool never had enough towels and the front desk did not really seem equipped to remedy the problem. Because we had kids with us, we used the pool on check-in and check-out day, and towels always seemed in short supply. The shower curtain allowed water to spill out of the shower easily. I was awakened by noise from other guests at 3am, so I think the walls were a bit thin. All hotel facilities were adequate and very clean. The pool and hot tub were very nice. Breakfast was pretty good - hot and cold items. I really wanted to like this place because it was a great price, but the problems are memorable.

Room Tip: ask for a renovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsville, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

Recently stayed at the Sleep Inn and Suites, Monticello and was very satisfied. Front desk staff were friendly, attentive, and very accomodating. Hotel was modern, attractive, and clean from top to bottom. A very nice breakfast awaits in the morning. Pool was warm, unless most hotel pools in the winter and the hot tub was a welcome sight as well. Location is very good, just off I-64. We stayed there for a ski weekend at Wintergreen (only 45 minutes from the resort) but I could easily see how someone might use this as base-camp while visiting the Charlottesville area.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

Can't say enough great stuff about this place. Location is close to everything in Cville. 10 min or less.

We booked here mainly for price and the indoor pool and whirlpool. Both were spotlessly clean in a room by themselves. Very sparsely used by anyone else while we were there so it was great. They are very small, but wonderful. The temperatures were great.

The room was recently remodeled. Beautiful. Flat screen LG TV. Nice decorations. New and comfy bedding. Nice desk and office chair.

HUGE breakfast! Waffles, scrambled eggs, bacon, bagels, toast, muffins, yogurt, cereal, oatmeal, fruit, boiled eggs!

Every staff member went out of their way to greet us, and they were all very, very genuine and nice.

When I come back to Cville I won't even look anywhere else. I'll bok here right away.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theresa H, General Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites Monticello, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Thank you for the wonderful review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sleep Inn & Suites Monticello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn & Suites Monticello

Address: 1185 5th St. SW, Charlottesville, VA 22902
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 33 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleep Inn & Suites Monticello 2*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Sleep Inn & Suites Monticello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn And Suites Monticello
Sleep Inn & Suites Monticello Hotel Charlottesville
Sleep Inn Charlottesville
Sleep Inn Monticello
Charlottesville Sleep Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sleep Inn & Suites Monticello, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.