We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must if your in town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Peter Chang's China Grill

Peter Chang's China Grill
2162 Barracks Road, Charlottesville, VA
434-244-9818
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #81 of 435 Restaurants in Charlottesville
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: http://peterchangscharlottesville.com
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A must if your in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

While I can't explain in enough words. This is the number one Asian place to eat in our Nation. Peter Chang is growing and has not changed his food. He travels to all his restaurants and if he home trust me you must attended because he is interdicting a few new dishes.
The food just rolls in your mouth with flavor and what a burst of taste. Yummy I am so hooked on his food. They have a staff that will meet your needs and the host has the best customer service who makes you feel like your the only person being waited on.
If you missed it try Short Pump Richmond VA. Or you have to make a U turn back to C'Ville.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    38
    18
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely dinner at Changs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

5 of us went to Peter Changs for dinner last week and really enjoyed the food. One of their signature appetizers is the scallion bubble pancake with a curry dipping sauce. It was really good! Best lo mein I've ever had was definitely here. The stir fried pork with eggplant and spicy green hot pepper was so tasty, as was the basil chicken. This is not cheap Chinese food that you get at your local take out. It is very nice food and reasonably priced for the quality and amount of food that you get. I would like to see them add a bar area to wait in; and the décor and atmosphere are nice but a bit on the boring side. This place must be good since there were predominantly Asian folks eating here! The wait staff is very good and knowledgeable.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gordonsville, Virginia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent Lunch!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

I have been to this restaurant several times for dinner and always enjoyed it. Stopped there for lunch with some clients and what a great deal! The lunch menu is wonderful and includes a soup and a spring roll! The hot & sour soup was very nice. I had the chicken with snow peas and mushrooms -very fresh and taste!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Worth A Visit”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

Peter Chang's China Grill has a well-designed picture menu. The food borders on the authentic but is not quite there. The restaurant has a warm ambiance and the servers are knowledgeable and friendly. Many of the dishes are on the spicy to hot side and are amongst the best served. Many of the other dishes are rather bland. A drawback is that for frequent diners there the menu has not changed in some time and could use an update.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Worse and worse”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

We have eaten here several times. Our first experience in the fall of 2013 was better than average, really pretty good. Subsequent visits have been horrible. The quality of the food has declined dramatically. This is not as good as middle of the road American Chinese. If Peter Chang ever blessed this restaurant, that blessing has worn off. It is a sad disappointment. The food is tasteless and just odd. Their is no atmosphere but that would be all right if the food were only better.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Peter Chang's China Grill also viewed

Charlottesville, VA
Charlottesville, VA
 

Been to Peter Chang's China Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peter Chang's China Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.