We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hospital Visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Graduate Charlottesville

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Graduate Charlottesville to your Saves list
Graduate Charlottesville
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1309 West Main Street, Charlottesville, VA 22903 (Formerly Red Roof Inn Charlottesville)   |  
Hotel amenities
Martinsburg, West Virginia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Hospital Visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We had to stay in Charlottesville because my father-n-law was having a procedure done at UVA. My mother-n-law recommended this hotel because of the price compared to the other hotels in the area. I did check around and they did have the best rate. If you tell them you or a family member is a patient at UVA, they will give you a discount. The experience I have had with other Red Roof Inns, I was a little worried how this would be. When we arrived, I was really surprised. We were able to check right in and the ladies at the front desk made sure we were on the same floor. The room itself was very clean. Probably the only complaint I have about the room is there was only 2 towels. We did go to the front desk and they gave us some more. The beds were not the most comfortable, but I slept just fine on it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yolunda A, General Manager at Graduate Charlottesville, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thank you so much for choosing the Red Roof Inn of Charlottesville. Tell your family we appreciate the recommendation. Yes, we are very close to the hospital; just located across the street. Although we hope that you do not have to return for medical purposes we do hope that when you are in the area again that you will allow us to take care of your hotel needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    89
    72
    37
    29
See reviews for
88
60
26
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Stayed here two nights in October 2012. We went to Charlottesville to visit Monticello. The location of this hotel is convenient to the campus, the rooms was quiet, and the parking is free but beyond that there's not a lot to recommend. I would look elsewhere if needing a room in Charlottesville again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yolunda A, General Manager at Graduate Charlottesville, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank you for staying in our hotel and taking the time to let us know about your stay. We are excited to let you and everyone else know that we are starting a complete renovation of the hotel in December that we know everyone is going to enjoy. We will be replacing everything in the hotel. Please consider visiting us again and experiencing our brand new rooms in the spring. Thanks again for your business and we hope to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington Dc, District Of Columbia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Stayed here for a fall weekend night (Saturday). The hotel is in a great location- not too long of a walk to the Ped Mall area, and very close to the university grounds. We had a higher floor, so it was a good view of the hills surrounding Charlottesville. Overall the hotel room was very plain- and pretty much what I expected out of a college town hotel. The downside was that you could hear all the noise from the other rooms/hallway (I'd actually rate it as a 2.5, rather than a 3). Check-in/out was great, great service and there is some coffee and breakfast treats that you can snag on weekend mornings. Also, free parking in the garage below.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yolunda A, General Manager at Graduate Charlottesville, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your thoughts. Charlottesville is a wonderful college town with lots of charm and a host of activities. We appreciate your business and hope that you will get an opportunity to come back and enjoy our hotel upon completion of our renovation during the winter months. One of our goals during the renovation is to implement some noise reduction modifications. Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to serving you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eustis, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Thanks to Danna at the Red Roof Inn, my stay in Charlottesville was made easy during my husband's hospitalization at the UVA Hospital. Her courteous, thoughtful attention to my needs spoke volumes about the way guests are treated. Because of its location, I could easily walk to the hospital in 5 minutes; and restaurants are next door. Rooms are nice and well kept.

Room Tip: Express your needs and ask for help in selecting. Danna was terrific!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yolunda A, General Manager at Graduate Charlottesville, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thank you so much for electing to stay with us during your hospital visit. I know what a taxing time that can be for you and your family. I am very pleased to hear that Danna took great care of you during your stay. I will be sure to pass along your thoughtful remarks to her. Here at the Charlottesville Red Roof Inn, we take special measures to ensure that our hospital guests are supported during their time of need. Thank you again for your kind remarks and should you need to visit UVA again, it would be our pleasure to serve you and your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
330 reviews 330 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

The Charlotesville Red Roof Inn is in a fantastic location for visiting U Va and the city. Complete with parking garage and, they accept pets!

There are a host of restaurants very nearby.

The bathroom could have been cleaner, but that is probably partially caused by what looks like a bamboo floor finish.

Would stay there again when traveling with our pets.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yolunda A, General Manager at Graduate Charlottesville, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay at our Red Roof Inn location. Yes, we have an excellent location, right in the heart of the Corner District. Your pets are always welcomed and there is a convenient location across the street to walk your pet. I will let my team know that you plan to visit us again and all the remarks you had for us. Thanks again and we look forward to serving you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

My sons youth sports team was scheduled to play in Charlottesville and the team manager had few options for hotels. I recalled staying at the Red Roof years ago while working in Charlottesville. My co-workers always stayed at the Red Roof due to its proximity to one of our offices and the overall value--but it had been almost 10 years since I last stayed there. Many parents were skeptical--a Red Roof? Everyone I spoke with after the stay was positive about the hotel.

The location of this hotel is the main selling point. Its right on Main St., across from the hospital, and at the edge of the main campus. If your going to explore the campus and the student oriented activities, this is a great location. I'd much rather be here than at the Hampton Inn on Main, but farther from campus. There is a Courtyard between the Hampton and Red Roof.

At the Red Roof there is a Mellow Mushroom and Jimmy Johns on-site, inside the hotel building. However, there are many more choices lining Main Street as far as you'd care to walk in either direction.

The hotel shows its age in places like the elevators, door keys, repaired chips in the bath tub, the ironing board hangs out in the open, small bathrooms, etc. but its been updated over the years and I found our room to be clean and well kept. Yes, the towels were scratchy and beds sit really low by todays standards, but the room was quiet and comfortable. I understand they are undergoing a renovation in the coming months.

The front desk staff was friendly and eager to help. Even the night security staff was very friendly. Somewhere I read they don't provide breakfast, but there were pre-packaged honey buns, granola bars, etc, in the lobby, along with juice and coffee. Honestly, with all the options nearby, I wouldn't eat here even if the breakfast was comparable to a Hampton.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yolunda A, General Manager at Graduate Charlottesville, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Thank you so much for a wonderful review. You are so right we have the best location in town. I will pass along your comments to my staff; they love to hear when guests are pleased with their service. I also would like to inform you that our hotel will be undergoing renovations starting in November and we can't wait for you to see the results. After the renovation we will have all new beds, bedding, new look to our rooms, elevators will be remodeled, and hopefully continental breakfast every day. Please come and visit us again soon and we truly appreciate you choosing the Red Roof Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

The price was great ($55 via priceline) for a clean, spacious room with a king-sized bed on the 8th floor. Nice views. What a great mattress! Finally, a great night's sleep.

Within close walking distance were lots of restaurants. (We ate at the Balkan Bistro, pricey but delicious). A quick elevator ride down to the parking garage. A mile or so from Monticello. I am so glad we stayed here.

Room Tip: Ask for the eighth floor if you want perfect quiet and the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yolunda A, General Manager at Graduate Charlottesville, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Thank you so much for telling future travelers about your pleasant experience at the Red Roof Inn. I am happy to hear you had a great night's sleep. Just so you know, we will start renovations soon and once we are done we will have all new bedding to offer you an even better sleeping experience. We look forward to serving you in the near future and thanks again for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Graduate Charlottesville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Graduate Charlottesville

Address: 1309 West Main Street, Charlottesville, VA 22903 (Formerly Red Roof Inn Charlottesville)
Location: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Graduate Charlottesville 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
*Currently undergoing a major renovation! Opening date: 5/15/2015* Allow yourself to be taken back in time while enjoying your stay at Graduate Charlottesville. Our hotel is located in the heart of this history rich city, walking distance from the University of Virginia, the Rotunda and the Lawn. Its convenient Main Street location allows you easy access to all the restaurants, shops, galleries and more. The fun will continue back at the hotel at our cafe and open-air bar. Maybe challenge your friends to a game of Foosball or Ping Pong in our game room. Come experience this bustling city with us as well as relax in your room with HD TV, complementary Wi-Fi, docking stations, refrigerator, coffee maker, Malin and Goetz amenities, and more! This is Graduate - get ready to be in ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Red Roof Inn and Priceline so you can book your Graduate Charlottesville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Charlottesville Hotel Charlottesville
Charlottesville Red Roof Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Graduate Charlottesville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.