We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never Return” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn Charlottesville / University Area

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Days Inn Charlottesville / University Area to your Saves list
Days Inn Charlottesville / University Area
2.0 of 5 Resort   |   1600 Emmet Street North, US 29 North & US 250, Charlottesville, VA 22901   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 33 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Middlebury, Vermont
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Never Return”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2011

My elderly parents, my husband and I stayed at the Days Inn - University Area for three night - those of June 3,4,and 5 of 2011. We had a second floor room with one King bed and my parents had a nearby room of two Queen beds. The rooms were small but adequate for a few nights. Each had a mini refrigerator and a television. The bath facilities were a tub/shower and toilet in a separate "closet" and one sink and mirror in the room. No fan in the bath. The towels were adequate - the shampoo type amenities were frugal. There was no clothes closet but a bar to hang clothes from which contained only 4 coat hangers - for two people. The air conditioner did work but could not be adjusted to a colder setting or higher fan and the window did not open. In both rooms we also had difficulty with the door key cards. We both had to have them replaced as they would not work on the doors when we returned from a long day. Our room had a urine odor and my parents complained to us that their room smelled of moldy or mildewed. Not pleasant for anyone.
On the second day we returned to the Days Inn in the early afternoon to change our clothing. At 3PM our rooms had not yet been cleaned or restocked. As we left to go out again I stopped by the desk and very nicely told them that our rooms had not been made up yet and was assured they would be done by 6PM. When we returned at 9:30, our room had not been cleaned or restocked - though my parents room had been serviced. I must admit that I was not happy and let them know. The desk person offered to change our room but at that time of night after having a full day - no. However, that meant we had only the towels that we had thrown in the tub in the morning and no shampoo etc.
Perhaps one of the worst things was outside the room. At the bottom of the outside stairs was a large pool of standing water. It necessitated carefully trying to avoid it to get access to the stairs and smelled moldy. I was concerned that my elderly parents might fall and went to the office to request that somebody please come and wipe it up. I was told that they would come right away. The next day the water was still there and I, again, asked for it to be mopped and was told that it would be taken care of - ha! Later that day I more emphatically requested the water to be removed as it could become a liability issue and it was immediately cleaned up.
We made use of the "free" hot breakfast on Saturday and it was fine and typical of inns of that type. Juice, hard boiled eggs, a waffle iron etc... Sunday we went with our family out to breakfast and on Monday - when we wanted to eat and get onto the highway - there was NO breakfast at all. Only coffee in the lobby.
The grounds were fine and included a normal size outdoor pool - which was covered and not available for use. The weather was hot , humid Virginia weather and it was June. Why the pool wasn't working I do not know.
The Days Inn best feature was its convenient site. It was easy to get to places on Barracks Rd. or to UVA. We may be in a less convenient spot the next time we visit Charlottesville - but we will not stay at or recommend the Days Inn in the University Area.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    41
    68
    67
    102
See reviews for
112
49
26
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach VA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011

We stayed at this hotel when we traveled with another couple to Charlottesville for a high school graduation. It was not our first choice, but we found most of the other hotels in town had already filled up, so we thought a major flag hotel like Days Inn would be an acceptable option.

When we pulled in to the parking lot, it was completely empty. We seriously thought the hotel might have changed its location! We noticed that the Red Lobster perviously on site had moved to another location.

The clerks at the front desk were very efficient and professional as we checked in, but they did not give very good guidance on how to locate our rooms. As a matter of fact while we were checking in, another guest came in complaining that she could not locate her room! The property is laid out around a pool area. That would have been very pleasant in June except that the pool is still covered with a tarp and the area around it is locked up. The room numbers do not correspond to the floors that they are on, so you have to hunt a while to find your actual room location.

There were a few seedy looking guests sitting on the stairways, and we passed by several rooms where the curtains were open and we saw dogs laying on the beds. This is a pet-friendly hotel, which explains some of the flea bites we experienced while staying at this hotel.

Our room was on the third floor. There is no elevator (that we could find) so we had to hoist our baggage up the three flights of narrow outdoor stairs. When we got to our room we were dismayed to see that the acoustic ceiling tiles in the bathroom were falling out of the ceiling exposing wiring and heavens knows what else. I was nervous about bugs and rodents crawling through.

The room felt generally musty and worn out. There was no chair for the desk and the carpet felt damp and spongy, so we kept our shoes on throughout the stay. Our traveling companions had even worse feedback- when we visited their room the air conditioning did not appear to work and it was very musty smelling.

The property is more of a motel than a hotel, all rooms being accessed through exterior doors; he only windows are on the exterior corridor, so if you are in the room with the curtains open, you will be exposed to anyone passing by.

The toilet and shower did not look or smell clean.

We were completely disappointed by our decision to stay there and would neither return nor recommend it, at any price.

Room Tip: If your luggage is heavy choose a 2nd floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cfortney, Front Office Manager at Days Inn Charlottesville / University Area, responded to this review, June 9, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel. We would like to apologize for the inconvenience of the pool being closed, the hotel layout and not having an elevator. We are a 2 story facility with several rooms on the first floor that are almost always available. As for the bathrooms they are next on our list to renovate. Again we do apologize and hope that you will allow us to redeem ourselves in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2011 via mobile

The room was ok. The king size bed was clean. The room was nice, but the bathroom was a but run down. They wanted 85 a night for midweek. I had no reservation, walked in and talked them down to $70 a night for 2 nights. They were easy to work with. Very accomadating.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cfortney, Front Office Manager at Days Inn Charlottesville / University Area, responded to this review, June 1, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review we are happy to hear that you were pleased with your stay and try to work with everyone on a budget. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2011

With a daughter graduating from UVA I needed somewhere close to the university where I could get several rooms on graduation weekend. Rooms were clean, no complaints, not very good lighting but we only slept there. My only complaint was the tripling of rates and horrible cancellation policy for grad weekend

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cfortney, Front Office Manager at Days Inn Charlottesville / University Area, responded to this review, June 1, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are happy that we could accommodate you for that special weekend and will take your comment about the rate and cancellation policy into consideration when creating policies for next year’s graduation. We appreciate the feedback and hope to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maspeth, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay we were there for 5 nights, and the staff was always very helpful with information, especially Celica and when our room card stopped working. The best for us was being able to use Golds gym for free since we are daily gym users when at home. The location was great having the main road right there. We would recommend this hotel to anyone who asked.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cfortney, Front Office Manager at Days Inn Charlottesville / University Area, responded to this review, June 1, 2011
Thank you soo much for taking the time to write a review on our hotel, we appreciate your feedback/recommendation and hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hopwood pa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2011

Terrible Days Inn, A shame that Days Inn lets this hotel function under there name! Stayed here to visit some relatives in the area and was a nightmare, people were fighting in other rooms, room was dirty, dirt on walls, sink was broken, scared to bath here because tub was dirty, broken lamp shades, door wouldn't close right, curtain was ripped! Ask front desk if we can change room & they were shock I wasn't happy of room, said they couldn't help me! Please my advice don't stay here, and if you do make sure you see the room first!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cfortney, Director of Sales at Days Inn Charlottesville / University Area, responded to this review, February 1, 2011
I am sorry to hear that your stay was anything but satisfying. We have reviewed hotel policies and standards of cleanliness with our staff. What happened during your stay was unacceptable and I can assure you that these issues have been addressed and will not happen again. We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2010

This motel is in bad need of repair and remodeling. Our room had plaster coming off the wall in the bathroom. The toilet wouldn't flush. most of the time. The shower emanated a trickle of water, usually hot or cold, nothing in between. And the key card didn't work properly in the front door. It would take several tries of feeding the card into the slot for the door to open. Management was indifferent to complaints and it was that indifference in particular that makes me not recommend this motel to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cfortney, Director of Sales at Days Inn Charlottesville / University Area, responded to this review, February 1, 2011
I am sorry to hear that you were not pleased with your stay. I can assure you that the issues you stated have been addressed and will not happen again. We are currently working toward renovating the bathrooms due to guest concerns. We thank you for your feedback and hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Days Inn Charlottesville / University Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Charlottesville / University Area

Address: 1600 Emmet Street North, US 29 North & US 250, Charlottesville, VA 22901
Location: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 33 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Charlottesville / University Area 2*
Number of rooms: 129
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Wyndham, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Days Inn Charlottesville / University Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Charlottesville / University Area Hotel Charlottesville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Days Inn Charlottesville / University Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.