We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mediocre Buffet” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Afghan Kabob Palace

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Afghan Kabob Palace
400 Emmet St N, Charlottesville, VA 22903-1742
434-245-0095
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Afghan
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery
Charlottesville, Virginia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Mediocre Buffet”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

I've only had the buffet, but I found it to be something of a disappointment. The options were limited and the food wasn't particularly well-seasoned. There simply wasn't enough quality food to distinguish Afghan cuisine from standard Indian fare. And given that it costs 8.95 a head, you would have a hard time convincing me to stop here instead of driving a little ways up the road to Milan or Royal Indian where the options are much more varied and flavorful. If you are on the corner and looking for a place within walking distance, maybe it's worth a shot. Maybe. But they are seriously going to have to up their game if they want me to open my wallet here and not someplace else on Route 29 N.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    10
    3
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Clinton, Mississippi
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“My favorite restaurant in Charlottesville”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

I visit Charlottesville about twice a year on business. I never leave without dinner at the Afgan Kabab. I've never selected an entree that was less than delicious, and the portions are generous (I usually leave with a take-out). The service is friendly and prompt every time. I have not tried the buffet, so I can't speak to that. Authenticity is not 100 percent, but I can forgive a little culinary license when the result is so pleasing to the palate.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“disappointing and bland buffet, but not terrible - just okay”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

I ate here for lunch recently for their lunch buffet and was a little disappointed. It wasn't bad, don't get me wrong, I was just expecting more. I thought it was limited and bland and it didn't strike me as having a lot of authentic Afghan dishes. The buffet was small and limited. They only had 2 true meat items available. One was tandoori chicken, which was fine but a little bland. The other was some kind of mediocre salmon dish. They also had white and brown rice, but no interesting sauces or anything to put over it - just chick peas. They did have beef samosas on their buffet, which were good but not great. I think the most interesting dish was some kind of eggplant casserole thing, which was tasty, but not great. The buffet was priced reasonably, though, at about $8 or 9 bucks. With a soda, tax and tip, my bill came to $12-13. If I were to come back here, I'd order off the menu (which is also available during lunch) and ask the server for guidance for a more authentic dish to try. But I would probably only come back if I was with somone else who really wanted to try it.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Great, great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

I went here with a couple of international friends and we loved it. The food is very, very good. I've to say not everything they offer is truly Afghan, there are a lot of Indian dishes on their menu too, just to mention an example. But that's ok right, because it's all delicious like crazy. I took the Chicken Tandoori which was perfect. The chicken was nice and tender and their portions are quite large.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Afghani food in Charlottesville, VA? YES!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012 via mobile

Great kabobs, great service, reasonable prices. Be sure to try the butternut squash curry. The spinach is also very good. The steak kabob is good, but the lamb is better.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Afghan Kabob Palace also viewed

 
Charlottesville, VA
Charlottesville, VA
 

Been to Afghan Kabob Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Afghan Kabob Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.