We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Charlottesville - University Medical Center to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Charlottesville - University Medical Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1201 West Main Street, Charlottesville, VA 22903   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2! Book Now
Ranked #17 of 33 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
2 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Stayed Twice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

I stayed here 7 nights while my mom was in UVA Medical Center. They offer a special rate for families of patients. The room was immaculate and everyone I encountered was especially nice. It was handy having a microwave and refrigerator. There was a mix-up with my reservation and they went out of their way to fix it when I checked in. I was delighted and would definitely stay here again.

Stayed December 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    21
    6
    4
    0
See reviews for
15
14
1
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Monument, Colorado, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Overall the hotel is a good choice if you are wanting to be close to the university grounds. We have stayed at other comparable hotels within a few blocks of the Courtyard and the only noticeable difference is the Courtyard does not offer a free breakfast. When it's just my husband and I paying extra for breakfast - no big deal but if you are a family traveling then you would want to factor that into your cost comparison to those hotels in close proximity that offer the free breakfast. The negatives as sited in other reviews were the noise of the AC/heating unit and the comfort of the beds. Also, the wi-fi only accomodated 3 devices per day and which is problematic when traveling with a family of 4 or more - we are completely reliant on wifi as our cell phone coverage is non-existent in Charlottesville. The positives were the free garage parking, pleasant personalities of the hotel staff and definitely the location.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoffrey D, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Charlottesville - University Medical Center, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Tamara R,
Thank you for choosing to stay at our hotel during your time in Charlottesville! I appreciate that you took the time to write a review of your stay. We hope to be able to welcome you back to our hotel soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2014

We spent 3 nights at the Courtyard and the location is great if you want to to visit UVA and it is about a mile to Historic Downtown. The location is less than 15 minutes to Monticello. The staff is nice, free parking and cookies are a nice touches.

The bed was not very comfortable, which is unusual. It is a Courtyard and there is not much else that can be said.

Room Tip: Away from the parking garage, the headlights may be a distraction.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoffrey D, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Charlottesville - University Medical Center, responded to this review, November 20, 2014
Dear travelforfun2009,
Thank you for staying at our hotel during your trip to Charlottesville and taking the time to post a review here. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, VA
Top Contributor
240 reviews 240 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
231 helpful votes 231 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2014 via mobile

We frequently stay at Marriott properties and wanted to try this Courtyard based on its excellent location. Overall we were pleased but there are sone issues that others have noted in reviews.

The odd shaped soda is not comfortable. Lighting in the dressing area is much too dim. The wall heating unit is very loud and the air becomes uncomfortably dry.

Positives are location, friendly staff, free secured parking and room size and bed comfort.

It makes me think that managers should actually sleep in a room where they work and see these details for themselves.

Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoffrey D, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Charlottesville - University Medical Center, responded to this review, November 20, 2014
Dear dbrown46,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at our hotel. We are currently making improvements to the lighting in the rooms. This is the first winter since we renovated our rooms, and we have discovered that with the more limited daylight hours, the lighting is less than ideal.
Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your travels. We hope to be able to serve you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2014

When staying at the Courtyard Mariott in Charlottesvile, do not expect to find a five stars hotels with the comfort that you could have experienced in more upscale places. The hotel offers though an excellent location for people going to UVA and a staff who is extremely helpful. The lobby and the hotel itself is very nice; however, I was disappointed by the bathroom which was a kind of small and not very modern. The AC/heating system was extremely noisy and we were able to enjoy a quiet night only after we turned it off.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoffrey D, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Charlottesville - University Medical Center, responded to this review, November 13, 2014
Dear JV636,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel. I greatly appreciate the positive comments regarding our staff and their service, and I will make sure that they are recognized for their efforts. The AC unit in the room should not be as loud as you describe. We will have our housekeeping and maintenance departments go through each room to ensure that they are all working as they should and replace any that are not.
Thank you again for choosing to stay with us during your time in Charlottesville, and we hope to be able to be of service to you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salford
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2014

Needing a hotel midway between Rockingham, North Carolina and Philadelphia Airport we chose this one off the internet as being the in the right place at the right time for late arrival and an early departure. We were pleased with the situation, the accommodation and the friendly efficiency and unfailing courtesy of the staff. The room was fine, the bistro just what we needed. We would choose this hotel again next time we happened to be in Charlottesville.

Room Tip: If staying long, you would probably not want to overlook the concrete car park; but this "view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoffrey D, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Charlottesville - University Medical Center, responded to this review, November 13, 2014
Dear Michael B,
Thank you for choosing to stay at our hotel during your trip. We greatly appreciated the opportunity to serve you while you were in town, and we hope to be able to welcome you back to our hotel soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2014 via mobile

Checked into the UVA Courtyard and provided a very noisy room on the street. Went to the lobby to work and watched a show for 50 minutes and as the show was close to finishing a TV repairman took the TV off the wall to work on. A security staff person came to ask him if he was a guest and let him continue to fix the TV after he identified himself. Some common courtesy would have been appreciated. Called the lobby to try and switch rooms. Sold out. Told breakfast on the hotel and noise would quiet down by 11:30. I have a 7am meeting and a five hour drive later in the day. It is a Monday night? Really?

  • Stayed November 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoffrey D, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Charlottesville - University Medical Center, responded to this review, November 11, 2014
Dear MarySully,
I am terribly sorry for the experience you had at our hotel last night. There is absolutely no reason why the repairman could not have waited for you. An item such as a TV repair does not in any way need to disrupt your time at the hotel. This is not the service that I, or certainly you, expect from the staff here. I will ensure that additional training is provided so a situation like this will be avoided in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Charlottesville - University Medical Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Charlottesville - University Medical Center

Address: 1201 West Main Street, Charlottesville, VA 22903
Location: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Charlottesvill...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Charlottesville - University Medical Center 3*
Number of rooms: 139
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Charlottesville - University Medical Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Charlottesville - University Medical Hotel Charlottesville
Courtyard University Medical Center
Courtyard Charlottesville
Charlottesville Courtyard
Charlottesville Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Charlottesville - University Medical Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.