We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great variety” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hibachi Grill Supreme Buffet

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Hibachi Grill Supreme Buffet
1185 Seminole Trail, Charlottesville, VA
Improve this listing
Ranked #244 of 465 Restaurants in Charlottesville
Cuisines: Asian
Restaurant details
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great variety”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

The food was very good. Loved the green beans. They have a garlic & nutty taste. Best I've ever eaten. Also love the Coconut Chicken...EXCELLENT. No dislikes.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    9
    4
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Newville, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
234 reviews 234 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
“Good Food, Good Price, Sorry I Do Not Live Closer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

This was about my fourth visit to this restaurant but the first with my wife since the others times were on business. Large restaurant with numerous choices including the hibachi grill, "sushi" and numerous buffet tables to chose from. It also has a chocolate fountain which my wive really liked. Value to cost ratio is fantastic and to be honest most of the food is very tasty, even if it is not good for you. It is on 29 North of the City at 1185 Seminole Trail. I have always been warmly greeted and the staff quickly removes the old plates and attends to the beverage glasses very quickly.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“A feast at a bargain price!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

We visited the Hibachi Grill on the outskirts of Charlottesville coming in from Fairfax on Highway 29. We were hungry and it was was round 1:30 PM when we spied the restaurant along the highway (Lee Highway US 29). We had planned to go to a Chinese Buffet but scored zero at the China King (old location) because the restaurant had either moved or shut down.

The Hibachi Grill did not disappoint us. The buffet is humungous with Japanese teriyaki dishes, and Chinese dishes and quite a few American home cooking favorites and four or more aisles of food to select from. If your goal is to try variety this place is amazing. My daughter tried the sushi made to order and some chicken also grilled to order. I had the grilled salmon, the teriyaki chicken, chicken in black pepper, the stuffed shrimp and the crab in cheese sauce. The variety is endless for both the entrees, the types of fired and white rice, noodles, salads, and desserts. I had some fruits and banana in vanilla custard with Nilla wafer to finish off the meal.

The ambience is so so though the place appears to be newly renovated. We did not have much chance to sample the service as we were doing the buffet but our used plates were being constantly removed - a welcome sight when three of us are sharing a small square table!

The place was quite crowded on a Saturday at 1:30pm in the afternoon. They have a decent sized parking lot and there was plenty of parking.

When we got the bill (a little over twenty three dollars for three people) we almost keeled over - we have not seen these kinds of prices since the 1980s in Northern Virginia! Even at $12.00 a person, the buffet is a steal!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Top Contributor
226 reviews 226 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
“Sorry, it can't compare to China Buffet just up the street!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

Why would someone convert an old steakhouse that offered something different to offer a version of an Oriental Buffet that already was serving the same community? The food here was just average, but I have always preferred the China Buffet after trying all of them.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Buffet”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

It was a decent buffet and the price was easy on the pockets

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hibachi Grill Supreme Buffet also viewed

 
Charlottesville, VA
Charlottesville, VA
 

Been to Hibachi Grill Supreme Buffet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hibachi Grill Supreme Buffet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.