We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pizza and atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fry's Spring Station

Fry's Spring Station
2115 Jefferson Park Ave., Charlottesville, VA 22903
434-202-2257
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #61 of 455 restaurants in Charlottesville
Price range: $7 - $14
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Description: From servicing cars to serving up fire roasted pizza, Paninis, pasta and more, (glutten-free pizza and pasta available). Fry's Spring Station is a restaurant that stays true to its service-friendly roots. The 1931 building that served as Fry's Spring Service Station for 70 years is now home to gourmet food, over 30 Italian wines, and local brews, including ales from our very own Jefferson Street Brewery. If history serves as a gauge, our version of Fry's Station is designed to be as delicious as it is service-driven.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great pizza and atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

My daughter comes here somewhat regularly and brought us before a football game. The pizzas we had were really superb and there is a huge variety to choose from. We also had a crab dip appetizer that I was quite taken with, though my wife not so much. Service was top notch and the staff very friendly. We dined inside in the old garage bay, but the outside heated patio was very tempting even in the chill of a fall evening. I stopped by again for the Lemon-Berry cake for the trip home and it was every bit as good as I hoped it would be. We'll be back again - lots more stuff I need to try!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allison D, Guest Relations Manager at Fry's Spring Station, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you Patrick!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

78% Recommend
    28
    28
    9
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great place to eat before football game”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

This was my first visit. Discovered this restaurant while walking down the street looking for a place to eat before the football game. Great place! Good selection of pizza, pasta, and sandwiches. Portions are not oversized, but are more than enough to satisfy you. My youngest son loved the pizza off the kid's menu. There are also gluten free options for pasta and pizza. There is indoor and outdoor seating, both pleasant options. A few flat-screen TVs are mounted on the walls inside and offer good viewing from most of the tables. Although business was extremely busy, service was personable and timely.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allison D, Guest Relations Manager at Fry's Spring Station, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
We're very happy you discovered us - thank you so much for the review!
https://www.facebook.com/FrysSpringStationRestaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing and Friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

This is a great restaurant with a really friendly staff. Make sure you do during happy hour to get half off! If an amazing deal. I would recommend this place to anybody.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allison D, Guest Relations Manager at Fry's Spring Station, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thank you James!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruckersville, Virginia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Nice place to chat with friends”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

I liked the atmosphere better than the food itself. We ordered the Greek Salad and a Carnivore pizza. Both were pretty good. It was raining tonight, but I imagine it is really nice dining outside.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allison D, Guest Relations Manager at Fry's Spring Station, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Ereina, we appreciate the review and hope you'll be back when it's sunny outside!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
1 review
“Great food and atmosphere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Been here several times now on trips to Charlottesville and I'd definitely recommend it. The setting/atmosphere is cool, especially the bar area when they open the old garage doors to the outside patio. The menu is quite extensive, prices are reasonable, and all the food I've had here has been excellent. First and foremost, the pizza which is outstanding, and can't go wrong with any of the appetizers, either. Service is always great and they always have some good local beers on tap, which I like.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allison D, Guest Relations Manager at Fry's Spring Station, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thank you Mike!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fry's Spring Station also viewed

Charlottesville, VA
Charlottesville, VA
 
Charlottesville, VA
Charlottesville, VA
 

Been to Fry's Spring Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fry's Spring Station, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.