We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tara Thai

Tara Thai
1107 Emmet Street North, Charlottesville, VA 22903
(434) 984-9998
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #88 of 464 Restaurants in Charlottesville
Cuisines: Thai
Restaurant details
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“good experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

the food was good. the service was ok. the atmosphere was ok. the bathroom was not clean. overall will repeat it again

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    24
    7
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great service, mediocre food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We were terribly dissapointed by the food; the spring rolls were flavorless and both main dishes we ordered were very sweet. Other items on the menu might be better, but we will not be going back to find out. The service was very friendly.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best Thai restaurant in Charlottesville”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We've tried most of Charlottesville's Thai restaurants, and this seems to be the best. They definitely have the most friendly staff, and they love kids!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Top Contributor
279 reviews 279 reviews
176 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 117 cities Reviews in 117 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Decent Pad Thai”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Go early to get the summer special rolls. They were gone by 6pm on a Thursday! Was non-plussed with the Tom Yum soup. That's all I had, but will stop by next time I'm in town for a taste of a spicier dish.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“We loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We went to Tara Thai as it was walking distance to our hotel and because the restaurant was located in a strip mall we did not have high expectations.

We were agreeably surprised by the chic modern decor and the nice ambiance and the food and the service were excellent.

We sat in one of their booths which was really cool.

We ordered the shrimp cakes as appetizer and I had the kee Mao goon gai and my husband some other flat noodle dish with seafood and crab meat on top.

It was really nice that we could order how spicy we want our dishes to be prepared.

We really enjoyed our food, atmosphere and service. We eat our fare share of Thai food back in Denver and we would go back to any Tara Thai any time! It was great!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tara Thai also viewed

Charlottesville, VA
Charlottesville, VA
 
Charlottesville, VA
Charlottesville, VA
 

Been to Tara Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tara Thai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.