We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“i love italian” 3 of 5 stars
Review of tavola

tavola
826 Hinton Ave, Charlottesville, VA 22902-5787
434-972-9463
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #46 of 474 Restaurants in Charlottesville
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner
virginia, usa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“i love italian”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

we are big italian restaurant fans and had heard good things about tavola so we went there early since they do not take reservations. both my husband and i were disappointed. his shrimp appetizer was good but nothing else was. there was little flavor to anything even when you added salt which i really try not to do. since one item was good we would have gone back to try other dishes except for the service. our waitress gave the impression that she was doing us a favor almost to the point of rudeness. since cville has some good italian restaurants like vivace and bella with good food, atmosphere and service, why go to tavola.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    35
    18
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Satellite Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Light perfection”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

Tavola is not your traditional Italian restaurant. The dishes are cooked with a lighter hand and are perfection. The setting is intimate and lovely. It isn't large and they don't take reservations. So get there early or plan to wait at the bat, which is not a bad thing.

The eggplant Parmesan is thin slices of eggplant lightly breaded and crisply fried. The attention to detail is what makes every dish wonderful. Only fresh, seasonal food is offered and only the best ingredients. For example, the sauce is made with San Marsano tomatoes; an expensive addition that definitely ups the flavor. The flourless torte is serve with orange cream. Perfection.

Service is great, setting is lovely, and food is superb.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Incredible food...."meh" service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014 via mobile

I visited Tavola and the food was excellent. It is indeed the best Italian food you can find in Cviile. However, if you are looking for great service to go along with that delicious food, prepare to be disappointed. Our server was cold and acted very uninterested with our table the whole night. No smile, when I asked about the specials she pointed to the board. Lastly, we told her we would like separate checks from the beginning and when she brought us just one she couldn't hide her annoyance with us for having to separate them. I hope the food can overcompensate for the poor service.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

This is the best Italian restaurant between NYC and Atlanta. We eat here every time we are in Charlottesville. Delicious food, great wine list, excellent service. Outstanding in every way.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnsburg, Illinois
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Occassionally, , you just need to walk into a restaurant and say "Feed me, chef's choice!" we did and we were not sorry. Wine pairings, food...awesome. Again, a lovely, small venue with incredible food and service. You won't be sorry.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed tavola also viewed

 
Charlottesville, VA
Charlottesville, VA
 

Been to tavola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage tavola, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.