We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of tavola

tavola
826 Hinton Ave, Charlottesville, VA 22902-5787
434-972-9463
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #37 of 464 Restaurants in Charlottesville
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner
Charlottesville, Virginia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“fantastic food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

I did not like the attitude when we first walked in without a reservation. We decided to ignore the attitude and gladly took a seat at the bar where we thoroughly enjoyed getting to know the chefs. The food was amazing! Wines are so-so. But overall a great evening out with my honey.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    34
    17
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great neighborhood place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Seasonal kale salad was great. We had roasted veggies and seasonal carrots. Pasta with tomato sauce. Delicious chestnut cheesecake.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Waited longer than expected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We were told we would have about a 20 minute wait and they took our phone number so we strolled the neighborhood a bit and returned in 20 minutes. We waited almost another 45 minutes. The place is really small and really loud. It was difficult to have any conversation. We went because I had read so many reviews that were great, but I can't say that. I had the scallops which were very good and my husband had the hanger steak which he also said was good. After the wait and noise level we just didn't enjoy the meal so much and were passed being hungry enough to try anything, but the entrees. Wine selection was large, but pricey. We had originally gone on Monday and they were closed which is how we found The Local next door. We actually drove all the way back on Tuesday just to go and if I had it to do over I wouldn't have bothered.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Lots of Energy, Delicious Food, Great Wine List”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

This place is small, I think it only seats 37. The kitchen area is open, behind the bar. They serve beer and wine. It's a little loud, with the acoustics creating a boominess. It's a very popular place and everyone was having a wonderful time, including us. It has a tall tin ceiling. But don't get me wrong. The wine list is amazing. We had a delicious Nebbiolo for $40. Well worth the money. It's in the same deliciousness category as Barboursville's '09 Reserve, and that's high praise.

We started off with the mixed antipasto for two. Every ingredient was superb: mortadella, prosciutto, three types of cheese, cured and brined olives, fresh baby arugula and some kind of dry cured salami. Served with some bread. Then I had a little seafood appetizer that was mussels and shrimp in a spicy tomato base. Fantastic. The broth was like a small bonus soup.

The special that night was a very savory local natural pork that was prepared as a sort of scaloppini style with thyme and rosemary in a medium brown marsala sauce. My friend ordered that. I had the maiale Milanese: breaded pork scaloppini with a caper lemon sauce. For dessert, and orange flavored chocolate torte. Everything was really delicious and prepared with care. If you're from Richmond, VA and ever dine there, think of an upscale version of Mamma Zu with a more haute cuisine presentation.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Florida, Florida
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“My Favorite Place to Eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

If I'm going out to dinner this is one of my go-to places. LOVE it, love the food, the only frustration is you have to get there when they open to ensure you've got a table, otherwise you'll wait, and it's a tight space in which to wait. That said, the wait is always worth it, the food is consistently delicious, and I applaud the owners that rather than expand and change the dynamics of the place and possibly compromise the quality, they keep a good thing as is.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed tavola also viewed

Charlottesville, VA
Charlottesville, VA
 
Charlottesville, VA
 

Been to tavola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage tavola, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.