We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great duck” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Local

The Local
824 Hinton Ave, Charlottesville, VA 22902-5728
434-984-9749
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Local is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #44 of 474 Restaurants in Charlottesville
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
new jersey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great duck”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We had a really great duck dinner at the restaurant. We ate inside and the atmosphere was lovely: exposed brick but surprisingly quiet. Service was attentive and paced nicely. My only complaint was I ordered the crab soup and it was REALLY spicy. While I enjoyed it, I am not sure if would have gotten it and My husband didn't even try it after seeing my eyes upon tasting. I wish the waiter had warned me. We were lucky to get a seat without a reservation so you should probably get one. We were there on a Tuesday night.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    95
    30
    16
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Delicious food, not kid friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

Food was great and we enjoyed the specialty cocktails but this place is not kid friendly. We walked in without a reservation with our 9 month old and the 2 hostesses whispered about whether or not to seat us.we should have taken this as our cue and left. Service was great and food delicious but no high chairs or kid friendly food.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Second visit a disappointment”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

I was there a year ago and enjoyed The Local quite a bit. However, my recent visit was a disappointment. I made reservations six weeks in advance. When I called a few days before my visit to let them know my party size had decreased from four to three, the woman who took the call bordered on rude and asked for me to come an hour earlier. I agreed to come a half hour earlier. When we arrived, we were seated outside, having been told that they had several parties and that that was the only choice. The hostess, like the woman's who had taken my call, was rude. It was getting cold outside, guests had to maneuver sideways to squeeze past our table to go to the restroom, and the front sidewalk is just not a very pleasant dining location. While the food was ok (not outstanding), the overall experience was very disappointing. I seriously doubt I will return.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville VA
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Nice food and larger than it looks from outside.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We had visited here when it first opened several years ago and enjoyed the small restaurant. We were taken there by son and DIL recently and found a large second floor area is now open -- quite literally. Although under a roof, very large windows were completely open on a mild fall evening. In cooler weather, they can obviously be closed and there are big overhead heaters.

Service was friendly and I appreciated that entrees could be ordered in two different portion sizes and prices. I had a good vegetarian pasta. Husband had something big and meaty with some to take home for the next night. No way was the dog getting it!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fowey, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Very good food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Went here on recommendation from our hotel and it didn't dissappoint. We had an outside table on the balcony and although the view isn't much to write home about it added to the experience. We went on a night when the wine was half price which really helped. All in all the food and service was brilliant.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Local also viewed

 
Charlottesville, VA
Charlottesville, VA
 

Been to The Local? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Local, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.