We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing, friendly inn” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn at the Crossroads

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Charlottesville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Inn at the Crossroads
Save
You added The Inn at the Crossroads to your Saves list
P.O. Box 6519, Charlottesville, VA 22906   |  
Hotel amenities
Greenwich, Connecticut
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Relaxing, friendly inn”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2009

My fiance and I spent a very nice weekend at the inn. The inn is very charming, but it is definitely creaky! This is true country living in a historic building.
We were surprised that there are no keys! Like the front door is never locked, the bedroom doors don't have keys! This was a bit shocking to us, but we quickly realized why. The inn has the feeling that you're among friends. At breakfast, the innkeepers and the guests were all just chatting it up. I am usually a rather untrusting person, but I quickly didn't mind at all that we weren't locking up our room. (You could though lock the door from the inside so we locked the door when we were in it.)
Depending upon your expectations, the location might be disappointing because it really isn't exactly IN charlottesville. However, we loved the country living feel, while also being not too far from downtown Charlottesville, Monticello, and wineries. An unexpected treat was driving up Plank Road (the road the inn is on) through the countryside, and eventually arriving at Blue Mountain Brewery, and then continued to Veritas Vineyard.
One other drawback depending on your expectations -- breakfast is served at 8:30 a.m., and that's it. There isn't a window of time. There are 3 courses (pastry, fruit, hot dish), so you're not picking your own breakfast (which I've done at other inns). However, you always have the option for oatmeal and cereal if you don't like the breakfast, but I don't know how you could not -- the food was awesome! Also, I mentioned before I arrived that I was a vegetarian and they actively remembered that and were very considerate of my dietary preference.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    9
    2
    0
    6
See reviews for
7
32
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2009

We went on our first vacation together at the Inn at the Crossroads and loved it so much that we had our wedding here. It was fantastic! Jim, the Innkeeper, tended to all our party's needs and offered helpful advice and interesting historical information about the area and the Inn itself. The breakfast was wonderful and the grounds of the Inn are quiet and beautiful to explore. Everyone had a great time and agreed that we has truly found a special place to get married and spend a weekend away. The Inn is outside of Charlottesville (about 10 miles) but it is only a quick drive to get to the main attractions of the area. The building is on the historic registry and offers many different sized rooms all with private and updated bathrooms. We will continue to come back again and again!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEL1500
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2008

We had a wonderful stay at The Inn at the Crossroads. Located in rural Albemarle County, just south of Charlottesville, the inn, though right off US 29 and Plank Road, is surrounded by rolling pastures and woods. It's close to many wineries and Monticello. If you like peace and quiet, consider The Inn at the Crossroads. Built in the early 1800s, many of its walls are thick brick. While our room fronted Plank Road, we heard no road noise and nothing from our fellow guests until we met them at breakfast. Jim, the innkeeper, was a wealth of information about the inn and surrounding attractions. He’s obviously quite proud of the inn, and spent 20 minutes with us at check-inn talking about its history.

  • Liked — Hospitality
  • Disliked — Parking is a bit tight.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington dc
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2008

My boyfriend and I stayed at Inn at the Courtyard about a month ago, and we could not believe the way we were treated by the owner. Upon our arrival, he showed us our room, which was fine. However, we noticed that everything in the place creaked – from walking down the hall to sitting on the bed – it all creaked. Not a problem for us, until we realized that sitting on the bed hit the wall. So that we would not disturb the other guests, we moved the bed out a few inches to prevent it from hitting the wall when we sat (or did other things you do on a bed!).

We slept there one night and came back from a stroll in town, only to have the owner literally waiting for us as we parked our car. He informed us that our room was not made. I said, “not a problem.” Then he said, “It’s not made because you two broke the bed.” Huh?! We couldn’t believe it. He continued to accuse us of breaking the bed by moving it away from the wall, causing it to wobble. We explained that we moved the bed BECAUSE it was wobbling and hitting the wall, and we did not want to disturb the other guests. He insisted we knowingly broke the gosh darn bed, to the point that he said “I can't believe you keep lying. Come on, just admit you broke the bed!” He also said to my boyfriend “You should be man enough to admit you broke the bed.” !!! Need I say more?

I then told him that my boyfriend and I (43 and 38 years old respectively) are both professionals, not college students, and not the kind to do anything to intentionally or otherwise break a bed.

After 10 minutes of being insulted and accused in the parking lot, we went back to the room (against the wishes of the owner, who followed us in!) to get changed for dinner. The bed was not there because he was having it fixed he said. We asked where we would sleep if the bed was not back by bedtime, and he said we'd have to sleep on a mattress on the floor. When we told him if that was all he could think of we'd go somewhere else, he said if we didn't stay there that night (on the floor!), he would charge us for the cost of fixing the bed! It turns out the bed was fixed by the time we got back from dinner, so that issue was ultimately avoided. However, the bed came back STURDY - nothing like the way we originally found it. It was such a difference; clearly the bed was broken when we first entered the room.

(Also, to add more to the madness, he said that someone in the guest house complained that we made a lot of noise and there was “screaming.” Oh – and that comment apparently came from a little old lady in the other room. Let me tell you, there was no screaming or anything of the sort.)

Obviously, I would not recommend this place to anyone. The owner was incredibly disrespectful and unprofessional, and accused us of something so ridiculous, it’s just ludicrous.

A note from "the boyfriend": all of the above is not only accurate, it's actually charitable to the owner of this B&B. If I hadn't been there, I'd probably read it and think "well, there must be more to the story... otherwise, the owner's behavior just makes no sense at all." And it really didn't! Like walking into some sort of Stepford B&B. The only consolation was that the whole thing was so bizarre, so over the top, that after the fact we were at least able to laugh about it, so that in the end the guy wasn't able to ruin our weekend entirely.

But it wasn't for lack of trying.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — read review
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnDeis, Manager at The Inn at the Crossroads, responded to this review, June 25, 2008
Dear Potential Guest:

No one employed here at the Inn at the Crossroads has any idea what this reviewer is talking about, so we cannot respond directly to their complaints. There are only three of us that work here and as far as we are concerned we have never had such an incident. Our belief is that this happened at The Tiptree Inn at the Courtyard, a completely different Bed and Breakfast located 2 miles further down our road. But the owner died amd the Tiptree Inn at the Courtyard closed in early June so we can't verify this.

Please read our other reviews before you make any decisions. Be assured that there are no rickety beds and the interior and exterior walls are all made of brick making us suspect that this person never even stayed here and even if they did, this event never happened.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2008

We really enjoyed our stay at the Inn at the Crossroads. We were in town for a wedding south of Charlottesville and the location was perfect. It was close to Charlottesville, the skyline parkway and the wedding in Faber, VA.

The inn keeper was fantastic and very accommodating. The breakfasts were delicious.

We stayed in the Tavern Keepers Suite, which was very spacious with a separate living room. There was a new dual shower that was delicious and made my husband want to get one for our house.
My only recommendation would be to consider a different room if you are a light sleeper as we could hear the occasional car on the road, but if you are not a light sleeper you should have no problem. If you are the summer kitchen is behind the inn and seemed like a nice private and quiet place to stay.

Stayed May 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2007

My husband and I recently returned from a mid-week stay at the Inn. We were planning on a foliage site-seeing experience through the scenic Blue Ridge, but as our luck always has it, encountered the first (and continuous) rain that Virginia had seen in many weeks. That stated, our experience with innkeeper Jim Stern and the outstanding accommodations at The Inn at the Crossroads made our torrential trip most worthwhile. We arrived late on Wednesday evening and were taken to the 3-room "Tavern keepers" suite. It was gorgeous appointed and Jim had just recently renovated the walk-in stone tile shower with dual spray jets--perfect for a travel worn body. The king size bed was one of the most comfortable I have ever slept in and the breakfast served both mornings of our stay was to die for. Jim is most personable, an excellent conversationalist, and a great source of neat places to check out locally. Our views were obscured by the inclement weather, but as the clouds cleared, the rolling hills and landscape were breathtaking to behold. For a fantastic, homey yet private retreat, be sure to check out this historic gem!

  • Liked — Ambiance and historical significance
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2007

We could stay at other places when we are in Charlottesville but we always come to The Inn at the Crossroads. This is a circa 1820's tavern/inn that Janet and Jim Stern have carefully maintained but with all the modern conveniences. There is nothing better than being on the porch sitting on the swing reading a good book and looking out over the acres of farmland. The rooms and suites exude history, comfort and relaxation with the Innkeepers Suite being our favorite. (You won't want to come out of the new shower that Jim has completed.) Janet and Jim are so accomodating even to the point of making our favorite breakfast (chive and brie strata) when we are there. If you want a warm and relaxing place to stay to forget about life for awhile this is the place. The Inn at the Crossroads is five stars in our book!

  • Stayed June 2007
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Inn at the Crossroads? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at the Crossroads

Address: P.O. Box 6519, Charlottesville, VA 22906
Location: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Charlottesvill...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn at the Crossroads, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.