We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the worst, not the best, average to above average in every category.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia to your Saves list
Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   105 N. Emmet St, Charlottesville, VA 22903   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 33 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Not the worst, not the best, average to above average in every category.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2010

First, the front desk was great-- Dan and Adam were on point and very responsive.

Positives:
The room was ok, a bit older, but obviously the property was trying to maintain some standards.
The AC was fine, the linens ok.
Staff gave me a Emmet-view room as I asked.
Free breakfast

Areas to improve:
The refrigerator (I asked to be in a room with a fridge) looked as if it had never been cleaned.
My sheets were not changed on the second day, you may need to request that. I'mnot sure why that annoyed me, I don't change sheets everday at home, but I like fresh sheets while traveling.
The internet had a poor connection, but worked 65% of the time.
There were long brown hairs on the shower walls (not mine).
Breakfast was a disappointment (boiled eggs, mystery meat, cold biscuits), just a step above continental. Go on and splurge, management. You have a good set-up.

With more focus on housekeeping, this hotel could easily be above average

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CavalierInnGM, General Manager at Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia, responded to this review, July 22, 2010
Dear Slt8y1,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us, we always appreciate when guests that have stayed with us takes the time to write a review, they are very important to us, they let us know when we are doing good and most importantly when we don't so we can make corrections. I will tell you that our hotel is currently under renovations and all of our guest rooms are being renovated, all our rooms will feature flat screen tv's, refrigerator/microwave combo, new carpeting, drapes, bedding, art work, lighting, we will also have a new state of the art fitness center as well, I hope that you can return to see and experience all the improvements

Thank you,

Michael Moran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    92
    88
    51
    34
See reviews for
124
56
24
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2010

I stayed here for a week. The staff were great- friendly and very helpful. However, I had a number of problems with this place. The housekeeping was poor- the sheets were never changed during my stay, and one day they didn't empty the garbage can. The instructions for the A/C didn't make sense and were obviously out-of-date. It was very loud and blasted out cold air all night. There was a long heater stuck to the wall. With temperatures at 90+ outside, why was this thing on? They also changed the rate at the last minute, charging me much more for the weekend. The breakfast was awful- soggy frozen waffles, stale bagels and mushy fruit. All served with plastic cutlery and paper plates! And they ran of out many items half-way through the stay. The hair dryer was hanging loose from the wall. The carpets were stained with what looked like shoe polish. Also, despite telling me that they offer a shuttle service, this does not apply to Sunday. Their 'Business Centre' consisted of a desk with one computer and a printer.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CavalierInn, Manager at Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia, responded to this review, June 18, 2010
Dear R. Satterley,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our hotel, I was saddened to see that you were not happy with your stay. We serve many guests each evening and try our best to make everyone’s stay a pleasant one, it was disappointing to see that was not so in your stay. We take all of the comments and suggestions we receive seriously, so we can tell what we are doing right and when things are not so well so that we can correct them. If a guest let’s us know during their stay that there is a problem it gives us a chance to correct any issues that you may have. We are currently under going renovations of the entire hotel everything will be new by the end of this summer. I hope that you will return so that we can show you how things have improved for all of our guests. Thank you again for taking the time to write us a review we appreciate all reviews good or bad.

Thank you
Michael Moran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2010

the hotel is actually located in the midst of the UVA buildings.
it is walking distance to various eating places.

we barely stayed in our room b/c we were busy with family activities.
but it was nice to have a clean room to return to at night.

the room is basic. nothing too fancy. but nothing like a crappy motel.

the inner hallways could use a refurbish but it was clean.

parking lot was large and close to the main building.

i saw the pool, did not use it but it was clean.

the free continental brreakfast was great. i usually eat a late breakfast so it was nice to go there and grab some fruit or toast as an appetizer to my main breakfast. they had many fresh items to choose from and lovely people cleaning the dining room tables.

the best was the service. i booked thru the hotel directly.
from booking the room to checking out____every single person was really NICE!!!!!

We will always stay here when we are in charlottesville.

PS_ the rates for this hotel are bettter than other moderate hotels. especially since charlottesville is not really a vacation spot. just a place you go to if you have a specific purpose or function in town. the only really cheap places are crime scenes motels.

you may contact me if you need further details.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2010

An older motel, but kept up reasonably well, with good cleanliness and services. Got a great rate, below average, from Priceline, even better from CheapTickets, so a rebate from Priceline. Included breakfast was below par, yet fair and available, enough for appetite if not savory, yet saving inconvenience of seeking elsewhere. Outside pool looked pleasant, but not warm enough in May. Convenient, brief walk to Alumni Hall, Gymnasium (where dinners and events often held), and the Rotunda. All in all, clean, serviced and comfortable, and a bargain for the price and the convenience.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CavalierInnGM, General Manager at Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia, responded to this review, May 25, 2010
Hello

thank you for your review, we appreciate both the good and the not so good ones, it helps us improve our service and our product. I hope that you are able to return and stay with us again so that you can see all the new renovations that will be done over the next couple of months.

Sincerely
Michael Moran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morrisville, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2010

I have stayed here several times and it is always a pleasure. Although it is an older property, it is well maintained. The staff is very professional and always friendly. The location could not be better for visiting UVA.

Minor complaints--the in room temperature controls were hard to use. Internet very slow. When I completed the hotel's survey, I was presented with an expired coupon.

Although this is or was a Best Western, it has a little something extra. It is owned by the University.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CavalierInnGM, General Manager at Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia, responded to this review, May 25, 2010
Hello
Thank you for taking the time for writing a review for us, We appreciate your business and we take all the comments and suggestions that we receive seriously, it helps us know what we are doing right and what we are doing wrong and how we can improve our service and product to our guests. I hope that you can stay with us again in the future and can see all renovations to the hotel, and all of the things that you mentioned are being taken care of during the renovations.

Sincerely
Michael Moran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2010

We stayed one night while visiting UVA. Very short walk to UVA tour start. Short walk to campus restaraunts (several choices, not just fast food. ) Hotel is clean and comfortable. Rooms are a bit like motor inns but they have made an effort to upgrade bedding and many furnishings. Staff was helpful and gave suggestions of places to eat, told us where to go for running trails, etc. Breakfast buffet was reasonbly varied. Pool not open yet, tho it was 85 degrees in early April and we would have loved a swim. This hotel is so convenient to UVA I would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CavalierInnGM, General Manager at Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia, responded to this review, May 7, 2010
Dear Ibes,

Thank you for your comment and thank you for staying with us we sincerely appreciate your business. we very much appreciate it when a guest takes the time to let us know of their experience at our hotel, it let's us know how we are doing and how we can improve our goals of complete guest satisfaction. We, of course love the compliments but we also more importantly need to hear the sometimes negative comments so that we can improve and meet all of our guest’s expectations. We look forward to having you back again soon as we are doing renovations this summer to the hotel and we will be able to give you an even better and more improved guest stay experience to you.

Thank you
Michael Moran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2010

My son and I just traveled to Charlottesville to tour the University of Virginia. Everything we needed to see and do was walkable from this hotel. The room we had was basic and clean. I could not figure out the heating system in our room so the gentleman at the front desk went to our room while we were at dinner and it was warm when we returned. The staff was very accommodating. They also have a free shuttle service to the airport which we used. All-in-all, a positive experience for us. Also, I would recommend the restaurant across the street named The VIlla. Nothing fancy, but the food was good and the location convenient.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CavalierInnGM, General Manager at Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia, responded to this review, April 2, 2010
Dear Jaxswimmom,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay with us, we sincerely appreciate it. We are in the process of designing new rooms so that in a couple of months’ by the end of this summer the hotel will have been renovated. We would love for you to come back again in the fall to see all of the great changes and additions we will have made to our hotel.

Thank you for staying with us we value and appreciate your business and your opinions.

Sincerely,
Michael Moran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia

Address: 105 N. Emmet St, Charlottesville, VA 22903
Location: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 33 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia 2*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on the campus of the University of Virginia,just a couple of blocks away from the Admissions Office, Alumni Office and the UVA Bookstore, the hotel is centrally located near historic attractions, the Cavalier Inn provides comfortable accommodations and easy access to the University of Virginia, Thomas Jefferson's architectural masterpiece, the world-famous Rotunda of the University of Virginia, Monticello, Michie Tavern, Ash Lawn-Highland, and the Charlottesville and Richmond International Airports. Guests will also find numerous recreational activities within a short distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Venere, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cavalier Inn At The University Of Virginia Hotel Charlottesville
Cavalier Hotel Charlottesville
The Cavalier Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.