We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Older Hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia to your Saves list
Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   105 N. Emmet St, Charlottesville, VA 22903   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 33 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Rhode Island
1 review
“Older Hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2009

The King bed was comforable and the room was clean. A good location in Charlottesville at the center of the University. The hotel is old and tired but clean. Just a short walk to the Rotunda. My reservation for the President's Pass was messed up by the staff. So I was mildly hassled at Monticello.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CavalierInnGM, General Manager at Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia, responded to this review, April 2, 2009
Dear MatthewRhodeIsland,

Thank you for your comments regarding you stay at the Cavalier Inn Charlottesville. We always welcome your comments and I will be sure to follow up with the associates as to why the issue with the Presidents Package occured so this can be avoided in the future. I am glad you enjoyed your time in Charlottesville and we hope you visit again.

Sincerely,

Richard J. Smith, CHS
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    102
    96
    55
    36
See reviews for
132
61
29
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Mayland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2008

The people working there were very friendly. Overall, though, the place was a bit of a dump. Water from rain leaved all over the walk around balconies leaving puddles and a slippery surface. The first room I checked in had a phone that did not work. I asked for another room and the staff were very nice and got me one immediately. I did overhear one lady saying she was in a room with a phone that didn't work and a door that didn't lock. A colleague complained of a heater that was so loud, he couldn't sleep comfortably - mine was fine, though. If you just need a place to sleep, this hotel is fine, but do not expect much beyond the basics.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CavalierInnGM, General Manager at Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia, responded to this review, December 3, 2008
Thank you for comments regarding your experience with the Cavalier Inn. I apologize for your dissatisfaction and we regret any inconvenience you may have experienced. Firstly, let me start by apologizing for the discomfort you experienced during your stay here at the property during your trip to Charlottesville. We constantly strive to meet and exceed guest expectations and during your visit we did not achieve this.

All the issues you mentioned will be fully investigated as we do we make every effort to make all guest experiences great. I can understand how the issues you encountered can deter from the overall experience.
I am deeply concerned with the issues you experienced during your stay at the Cavalier Inn and would like to discuss them futher with you.


Sincerely,


Richard J Smith
General Manager
rsmith@cavalierinn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2008

Wow, after reading the reviews of the Cavalier Inn, I almost didn't book here, but I decided to go ahead with it based on the location of the hotel. My daughter and I were touring the Univ. of Virginia, and the hotel was within walking distance of everywhere we wanted to go. After reading the reviews, I expected it to be terrible, but the lobby area was very pretty, and our room was clean. The upstairs hallways were undergoing some renovation and there were painters and equipment around, but it really didn't bother us. It was a little noisy (located right on Rt. 29), and the A/C clicking on and off woke me up a few times, but otherwise, we had a great stay. The staff was very nice, the breakfast was fine, and there was plenty of parking. Being right on campus was terrific - at one point, the UVA band was practicing on the field directly across from the hotel, and it was so cool to be able to watch them! If my daughter ends up at UVA, I would definitely stay here again. For $80, tax included, it was a great value.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Small bathroom
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2008

This hotel is truly gross--outdated rooms, dirty facilities, and a pathetic business center, as other reviewers have noted. It is definitely worth paying a bit more to stay at any of, for instance, the Hampton Inns in Cville, which are much nicer.

I understand that the Cavalier Inn is slated for destruction by UVA in the near future--hence the lack of investment in the property. They should sell opportunities to bang away at it with the wrecking ball--I would buy one.

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ALEXANDRIA va
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2008

It was with fear and trepidation that I booked a room on Labor Day (Sept 1, 2008) at the Cavalier Inn after reading about the terrible conditions and rotten time that several posters suffered. We had stayed there two years ago when we dropped our son off at UVA and had to drive up with a spare set of car keys he had lost..Back then, we found the place clean and what we have come to realistically expect for under a $100 for a double room in such a desirable location. It seems a real bargain.

It is no longer a Best Western franchise, instead it is owned and operated by the University of Virginia foundation. Our shower was very clean with no mold, carpet dry, and the front desk as friendly as possible. True, it is not the Omni but it was only one hundred dollars ($89 rate plus $5 state & $5 local tax) while the cheapest rate at Omni was two hundred dollars. It is finishing up a renovation project and the heater and air conditioner were new instead of the old window boxy units. the decor is still dated and not replaced, instead they have pictures of UVA teams and UVA colors in the lobby.

What we loved both times was the great breakfast that is included as part of the price. It is called "continental" but there were hard boiled eggs, bagels, english muffins, pastries, yoplait fruit yogurt, banannas, apples, cheerios (plus two other cereals I forget) all with 3 coffeee dispensers and two toasters. Not to mention free parking and being a three minute drive from our son's dorm.

  • Liked — proximity to UVA and price
  • Disliked — internet access
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta, ga
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2008

I am an extensive traveler and this is bar-none, the worst hotel I've ever stayed at. I knew Thomas Jefferson designed the UVa campus, but I didn't know he built this hotel as well - at least that's how old it seemed.

It is no longer a Best Western, probably because BW doesn't want their name attached to such a dingy place. It needs to be razed and built anew.

The main problem was the rooms are disgusting. The carpet in our room was soaked, not wet, but soaked. My kids walked around in socks at first, then we noticed their socks were soaked. They walked in sandals the rest of the 2 days there. Of course, wet floors mean mold and mold means smell. The room stunk of what I am sure were several hundred species of molds and mildews. The hotel was sold out during our time their due to 3 weddings at UVa, so we were stuck there.

Worse off, the bath was totally repugnant. My brother in law refused to take a shower in his without his sandals. Our room had mold all over the grought and caulk around the tiles and I was afraid to touch any part of the tile wall or the shower curtain.

The 'business center' is a sorry excuse for a room with 2 pc's with desktops on the ground, cluttered wires everywhere and 2 monitors on a countertop. Neither pc worked when i first tried then i realized the internet cables were unplugged. After plugging it in, I was able to get on one website, but since the hotel is now owed by UVa, they block access to almost EVERY commercial site (espn, cnn, google, etc...).

Overall a terrible place to stay, no matter the price. I only hope that we didn't bring any bedbugs or aspergillus home.

  • Disliked — Nasty odors, wet carpets, mold in tub
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sicklerville
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2008

This hotel is conveniently located on the main road of town and walking distance from the University of Virginia. The room was small for a family of four. It could use some updating. The continental breakfast was good! Plenty of food and room to relax in the eating area. Couches and TV are available. The service was prompt and helpful. We did have a little problem with our reservation cost but was resolved. We spent sometime in the pool at the end of the day after viewing the local historical sites. The pool was very clean and a nice size. The exterior of the building and parking lot needs some updating. Restaurants are close by. Overall a nice hotel for a couple of nights.

  • Liked — Convenience
  • Disliked — Small room
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia

Address: 105 N. Emmet St, Charlottesville, VA 22903
Location: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 33 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia 2*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on the campus of the University of Virginia,just a couple of blocks away from the Admissions Office, Alumni Office and the UVA Bookstore, the hotel is centrally located near historic attractions, the Cavalier Inn provides comfortable accommodations and easy access to the University of Virginia, Thomas Jefferson's architectural masterpiece, the world-famous Rotunda of the University of Virginia, Monticello, Michie Tavern, Ash Lawn-Highland, and the Charlottesville and Richmond International Airports. Guests will also find numerous recreational activities within a short distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, TravelClick, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and EasyToBook so you can book your Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cavalier Inn At The University Of Virginia Hotel Charlottesville
Cavalier Hotel Charlottesville
The Cavalier Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.