We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay somewhere else!!!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia to your Saves list
Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   105 N. Emmet St, Charlottesville, VA 22903   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 33 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Hartford, Connecticut
1 review
“Stay somewhere else!!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

The staff were nice and allowed us to check in early due to a long car ride. However when I opened the door to the room I was very disappointed. There was a dead spider stuck to the wall and the ceiling above my sons bed had huge brown stains and looked like I was going to collapse. The bed was absolutely horrible and very uncomfortable. Everything was very outdated in the pictures on the website looked nothing like the room we stayed in. I would absolutely never stay there again. I cannot believe that the other people on this website who had a great experience stayed in the same hotel as we did. For the amount of money that I paid we were disgusted and actually just felt gross staying there. I was glad we only have to stay there one night. You won't see me again!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CavalierInn, General Manager at Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
We appreciate all comments and suggestions that we receive from guests, we put in new pillow top mattresses and box springs in June and by the end of September will have new headboards night stands and credenzas, our pictures are only 7 months old, the only thing missing from the rooms were the bed scarfs at the end which were out of the rooms being washed. Good luck in your future travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    92
    88
    51
    34
See reviews for
124
56
24
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

One of the nicest group of people work at this hotel. I've stayed here twice, and both times had great service. It's an older hotel, so the rooms aren't 5 star, but the linens are crisp and clean, bathroom clean (tub/shower shows age), and everything works. I'd stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CavalierInn, General Manager at Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Hello Melinda L.

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay with us, we are delighted that you were more than satisfied with your stay at our hotel, we sincerely hope that we will see you again in the near future, Please come back after September and you will get to see all of the new furniture in all of our guest rooms. Sincere wishes for the very best in your future travels we look forward to being of service to you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blythewood, South Carolina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

We have stayed at the Cavalier Inn at least a half a dozen times over the past 5 years. The rooms are always clean and the staff are always pleasant. The free breakfast had a great selection, too. We have stayed in both the double queen and the handicapped-accessible rooms, and have been very pleased with both. There are only 2 handicap parking spaces, and I believe that they could use a couple more. The room refrigerator is perfect for storing drinks and leftovers from dinner, and the microwave is just the right size for reheating leftovers or popcorn. Parking is very accessible. The pool is clean and a very nice respite! We always enjoy our stay, and have had rooms on both sides of the hotel. I would recommend earplugs for sleeping if you end up on the end of the hotel towards the train tracks... The Villa restaurant is an easy walk from the hotel and it has a nice variety all day and night. This hotel is our choice for stays in Charlottesville!

Room Tip: Rooms on the pool side seem to be cooler in the summer. Rooms on the street side seem to be warmer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CavalierInn, General Manager at Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Hello UVA Mom

We sincerely thank you for your kind and generous words, and we appreciate when our guest leave comments, they let us know what we are doing right and how we can improve, I hope that you will come back after September so you can see all of the new furniture in the guest rooms, In June we finished replacing in all of the rooms with new pillow top mattresses and box springs, and we added new pillows that are the same as the higher end pillows used at full service deluxe hotels. We look forward to having you stay with us again, we wish the best for your future travels and hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport News, Virginia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

We were looking for a place to use a free night from hotels.com for a brief overnight getaway. This place was running a special price, so we decided to give it a try. It is an older property that has been kept up fairly well. Nothing exciting about the room, which was fairly small. The free breakfast included standard fare. The staff was friendly.

The room would not have been worth the full price. My impression is that they get enough business from parents visiting their children across the street at UVA that they can ask a higher price than a similar property somewhere else.

Room Tip: We were in room 215. The air conditioner was very loud (not sure if this is true of all rooms).
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CavalierInn, General Manager at Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Hello Newport News VA,

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review and were glad you were able to use your free night stay from Hotels.Com, I do apologize about the AC unit, we certainly appreciate you letting us know, we hope to have you come back and visit soon after September so you can see all of our new furniture for all of our guest rooms. We wish you the best in your travels and hope that you will stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Pleasant place to stay on University of Virginia campus. Quaint little restaurants nearby. Enjoyed burger at The Virginian served outside near street. Rooms were great and service was excellent. Good price for our short stay. Included underground parking.

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CavalierInn, General Manager at Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Hello

We are delighted to see that you were satisfied with our hotel during your stay with us, we are located right on UVA Grounds and you can walk to the infamous Thomas Jefferson Rotunda and we are just a few miles from Monticello, The Virginian is a great restaurant, and there are plenty of others just a few minutes walk from the hotel, I invite you to return to Charlottesville there is so much to see and do, we hope that you will return in the near future and you will get to see the new furniture in all of our guest rooms. Again thank you for taking the time to write about your stay with us, we wish you the best in your future travels and hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Would have prefered to be on the side with the railing more of a breeze instead of the glass on the balcony. But besides that the room was great! Clean and comfy bed and room! Good amount of space and the hotel service was very nice!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CavalierInn, General Manager at Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Hi Stephanie D,

Thank you for taking time to write a review, we appreciate taking the time out of your busy schedule to do so, thank you for your kind words we will make sure you have the Balcony side over looking the pool on your next stay with us. We wish you the best in your future travels, again thank you for choosing to stay with us we appreciate and value your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Location - location - location - a short walk to UVA's grounds. We spent three nights here while visiting our son who graduated from UVA and now lives in Charlottesville. The staff is friendly and eager to please. Significant renovations have been made to this old hotel. Our room was quiet and comfortable with nice amenities such as a fridge, microwave, ironing board, and hair dryer. There is a pool, but we did not use it. Breakfast is adequate, not lavish. Parking is safe and the lot is on hotel property. There is also a good diner across the street. We would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CavalierInn, General Manager at Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Hello Lancaster PA

Thank you for choosing to stay with us, We appreciate your taking time to write a review, and a sincere thank you for your kind words, we hope your trip back to PA was a pleasant one, We look forward to your next trip to Charlottesville and your stay with us. Wish you safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia

Address: 105 N. Emmet St, Charlottesville, VA 22903
Location: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 33 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia 2*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on the campus of the University of Virginia,just a couple of blocks away from the Admissions Office, Alumni Office and the UVA Bookstore, the hotel is centrally located near historic attractions, the Cavalier Inn provides comfortable accommodations and easy access to the University of Virginia, Thomas Jefferson's architectural masterpiece, the world-famous Rotunda of the University of Virginia, Monticello, Michie Tavern, Ash Lawn-Highland, and the Charlottesville and Richmond International Airports. Guests will also find numerous recreational activities within a short distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cavalier Inn At The University Of Virginia Hotel Charlottesville
Cavalier Hotel Charlottesville
The Cavalier Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.