We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad for price but average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia to your Saves list
Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   105 N. Emmet St, Charlottesville, VA 22903   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 33 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Not bad for price but average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

We stayed in room 304. Location is great. Outside looked nice and lobby nice. But the room was not as clean as what we thought it would be. Needed a good vacuum in the room. The exhaust fan in the bathroom did not work but could easily be fixed with maintenance. The room was hot and we could not adjust the thermostat. We faced east toward campus which had a panel to block the noise from the street. The ice machine on the 3rd floor was also not working but a quick trip to the 4th floor to get ice worked. U saw soda machines on every floor. It's a 5 min walk to the Thomas Jefferson Rotunda on campus and is beautiful. 10 min from all major stores like walmart, kroger and food. Breakfast was good. Typical waffle maker, pastrys, juices, etc. The staff was very friendly. It was hard to differ the cleaning staff from visitors but they were super nice. Parking is behind the hotel. Location Is great. Pool was closed because it is winter time. Gym was large nice and clean.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CavalierInn, General Manager at Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Hello Dhuebner3

Thank you for your comments, we use all our reviews that guest leave to improve our service, it is very helpful to have important comments like yours so that out staff can see how and where we need to pay more attention, comments like yours let us know when we are doing right and what we are missing, I sincerely thank you for taking the time, I apologize that we failed to meet with your expectation's, I hope you will try us again and give us another chance to get it 100% right.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    92
    88
    51
    34
See reviews for
124
56
24
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights on a visit to the city to see some old friends. Don't book the Cavalier with any illusions about the property--it's an old building and is definitely showing wear. Our ceiling had water damage and some peeling, and the water temperature in the shower was a little more exciting than it really needed to be (surprise! cold water for 3 seconds! now scalding! lol ok, back to a normal warm shower...) but over all, everything was clean, fresh and comfortable.

That being said, you're not paying for a luxury room. You're paying for a personable and attentive staff, free wi-fi, full hot breakfast and a location that can't be beat.

Bring your own soap and shampoo though. That sliver they give you won't get the job done.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CavalierInn, General Manager at Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Hello Knoxville TN

beautiful area that you live in, I greatly appreciate your writing about your stay and letting us know what we did right and where we need to improve, we did exactly what you suggested, we up graded our amenities to a larger size and higher end product, thank you sincerely for your kind words and for pointing out our shortcomings, I hope you will come back later in the spring to try the high end amenities and experience our new luxury linen collections and furniture. We value your business and appreciate your input
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aiken, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

We stayed overnight at the Cavalier Inn on a recent visit to VA Law School. The staff was nothing short of exceptional. The rooms are older and you can tell the property is a modified motel type facility but the location and the price simply can't be beat. The manager and his staff all went out of their way to personalize our visit offering assistance with any questions about the area, offering suggestions for dining and points of interest. Sorry we could not have stayed longer. Charlottesville is spectacular as is Virginia School of Law. I hope we will have many occasions to visit there over the next three years and we will certainly make Cavalier Inn our home away from home in Charlottesville.

Room Tip: Speak to the front desk staff about your preferences they will go out of their way to accommodate yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CavalierInn, General Manager at Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Hello Aiken SC

We are very appreciative of your kind words, I share all our reviews with the staff and your generous comments regarding the staff is always nice to see and hear, we thank you for choosing to stay with us and look forward to your return
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013 via mobile

My husband had an appointment at UVA so we recently spent the night at The Cavalier Inn. This hotel is conveniently located to the campus, shops, and restaurants. We arrived early but check-in was not a problem. Everyone was friendly and helpful. Our room was comfortable, and very clean. It came with a refrigerator and microwave, which was a nice touch. An impressive and free breakfast was included. We did not use this service, but apparently they provide transportation as well. While not fancy, all our needs were met, and the rate was very reasonable. We would not hesitate to stay again.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CavalierInn, Manager at Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Hello G501

We hope all went with your appointment at UVA, we appreciate you taking time out to let us know about your stay, we look forward to you retuning to Charlottesville soon maybe enjoy the mountains, Monticello, or some of the wineries in the area with no appointments to have to go to and just have time relax and take in the beautiful serene mountains.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh PA
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Cavalier Inn this past weekend. The rooms are comfortable and nicely appointed. If you stay on the front side you have a view of the University and is somewhat quieter due to the glass enclosed balconies. Breakfast is served daily and includes eggs and waffles meat and pastries. If you are going to a game at the University or visiting the grounds the Cavalier Inn and the Budget Inn across the street have the best locations.

Room Tip: Front side nearest to the intersection is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CavalierInn, General Manager at Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Hello JKW Pittsburgh PA

Thank you for choosing to stay with us, we thank you for writing a review and we are sincerely appreciate the kind words, we have changed and added many new items on our full hot American breakfast buffet bar, We hope you will stay with us again, Budget Inn is close by but we have a lot of amenities they don't, like our hot dull service breakfast bar, fitness center, business center, pool, shuttle service and a car rental agency in the lobby. We wish you the best in your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

My daughter and I stayed here just one night prior to spending the following day at Monticello. I had booked through Hotels.com and apparently there had been a problem-the dates were not correct. Luckily I did have a confirmation number and the clerk was able to quickly correct it and we got into our room very fast. Cute, cute room. Very up-to-date décor with a little boutique touches. Room was very clean, beds were comfortable, fridge & microwave, plenty of power outlets, quiet, complimentary breakfast, reasonable price, friendly/helpful staff, and conveniently located. What more could you ask? I'm a little puzzled about some of the negative reviews! We loved this little hotel!

Room Tip: Our room was #510 and faced a University athletic field. So cool that we got to have a little bird...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CavalierInn, General Manager at Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Hello Athens GA

What a pleasure to read your review about your stay with us and thank you for the generous compliments you gave, we value and appreciate your business and hope to have you stay with us again in the near future. We wish you the very best and safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haysi, VA
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

We stayed at this property recently for a show at JPJ, and it was a very short walk for us. Property was reasonably clean, and I wouldn't hesitate to stay again. I was somewhat hesitant due to previous reviews but was pleasantly pleased. It is a little older, but has been "made-over". It's tastefully decorated, new tv (we didn't even turn it on) It does take a bit for the room to get warm if you've come in late. It was a great accommodation for price.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CavalierInn, General Manager at Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Hi there Laura D Thank you so much for your comments about your recent stay. We do appreciate your business and hope you come stay with us again. Our guest comments are very important to us and helps us know how to better serve you. We do look forward to having you as our guest in the future. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia

Address: 105 N. Emmet St, Charlottesville, VA 22903
Location: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 33 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia 2*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on the campus of the University of Virginia,just a couple of blocks away from the Admissions Office, Alumni Office and the UVA Bookstore, the hotel is centrally located near historic attractions, the Cavalier Inn provides comfortable accommodations and easy access to the University of Virginia, Thomas Jefferson's architectural masterpiece, the world-famous Rotunda of the University of Virginia, Monticello, Michie Tavern, Ash Lawn-Highland, and the Charlottesville and Richmond International Airports. Guests will also find numerous recreational activities within a short distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Venere, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cavalier Inn At The University Of Virginia Hotel Charlottesville
Cavalier Hotel Charlottesville
The Cavalier Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.