We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deceptive fees and disappointed stay” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia to your Saves list
Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   105 N. Emmet St, Charlottesville, VA 22903   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 33 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Deceptive fees and disappointed stay”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

This is an older hotel that's been updated nicely; however, the deceptive fees they place on their invoices that they do their best to not show you before you leave takes the inn down a few notches. I thought it was unusual that no invoice was left at my door or even handed to me when I checked out, so I asked for a copy. There was a $2 "safe fee" on the bill. When I asked why it was in there, they asked if I used the safe and when I told them that I did not, they took it off the invoice. I don't know why the inn would automatically charge fees under the assumption that an item in the room was going to be used. This is clearly a deceptive business practice meant to charge every guest a few dollars extra, assuming they won't catch it unless they explicitly ask for an invoice. Respectable hotels don't engage in such shady nonsense.

The room was clean, though the light fixture in the bathroom was rusty and the ice bucket had some dirt in it.

Their "deluxe warm breakfast" consists of a do it yourself waffle machine. There is also cereal and pastries, which they don't seem to restock.

They require all guests to place parking passes in their cars, even if it's a quiet weekend when no one would have any reason to park in their lot.

The cleaning crew continuously knocked in our door, even after we told them to go away, until we put the do not disturb sign out.

Overall, the disappointments accumulated as my stay went on. I wouldn't stay there again unless there were no other alternatives.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CavalierInn, General Manager at Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Hello

I am sorry to see that you were not satisfied, we serve many guests each evening and it is disappointing to see that you were unhappy, all fees and charges are clearly listed on the registration card and the safe fee's which many hotels have and charge for, requires you to put your initials beside the line explaining and acknowledging the safe charge, our parking lot busy or not is constantly patrolled and vehicles not displaying a valid parking passes are towed, parking is at a premium so we guard our lot, we would not want you to return to a full lot, there are many things that happens in and around the hotel and immediate surrounding area so sometimes lots of cars like to sneak in and park. we wish you well on your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    92
    88
    51
    34
See reviews for
124
56
24
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

I read reviews prior to my stay. However, we must not have been in the same hotel. If you need to stay at the University there are other Hotels very close by.
The shower was a mystery in this "newly renovated" room. The hot water would turn to cold without warning and then to scalding.
The bath and water closet itself had drop down ceiling tiles that could have easily been replaced but management just painted over obvious mildew. The sink was exceptionally low.
The TV didn't work until I unplugged and replugged the cord from the back of the TV. The fridge stopped working while I was out and my left overs from dinner the night before spoiled.
The room access is to the outside, it didn't feel very secure and I slept with a bat close by so that I could come up swinging.
The so called breakfast consisted of packages of instant oatmeal packed with sugar, toast, other carbohydrates and not much else for a diabetic. The photographs indicated a hot service but this had been converted to canned peaches over ice.
The lobby is deceivingly inviting. The ladies in the afternoon were very nice and helpful. However the morning desk isn't as friendly, and I hadn't even addressed my concerns yet. I had told myself that I would check the room before unloading the car. I will listen to myself more closely next time.
Good Luck.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CavalierInn, General Manager at Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Hello

Your opinion matters to us, I am sorry that you felt we did not meet your expectations, it is true our physical building is older, but everything else is new, unfortunately During spring and summer the area experiences power surges, so it is necessary to reset TV's, there is no mold, or mildew in our bathrooms the ceiling tiles are changed as needed, but nothing is painted over. We try to accommodate many guests needs on our breakfast bar, maybe you missed the fresh self-made waffles, the fruit is on ice for food safety reasons, we had many requests for those types of items from guest so we placed them on our breakfast bar. We wish you luck in your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We have stayed here many times over the last 4 years and have 1 child left to graduate here so we have another year to come to Charlottesville, never wrote reviews before recently, this hoitel is a nice clean and comfortable place to stay, we have never had an issue staying here at least 6 to 7 times a year. rooms have always been clean, staff have always been helpful, many choices to choose from in this town but we "Choose" to stay here, and recommend it to others. breakfast is sometimes hard to get to because so many people at once, breakfast staff not so friendly but food and choice is average. we will stay here again over the next year.

Room Tip: rooms overlooking pool area are the best, love the fresh air
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CavalierInn, General Manager at Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Hello

Thank for choosing to stay with us, we appreciate your kind words, we are happy to see that we meet your expectations during each of your stays. we look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

A newly remodeled hotel on the brink of the campus. Fridge and microwave in room with moderate continental breakfast. Location is within walking distance of the strip. Great for someone on a budget but wanting a classy place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CavalierInn, General Manager at Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Hi,

We appreciate you rating our hotel and leaving comments, we are looking forward to your next trip to Charlottesville. Best of luck on your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

No idea why people would complain about Cavalier Inn. It exceeded our expectations and we enjoyed our stay thoroughly. The building itself and hotel lobby was well furnished and inviting, and room was very clean and spacious for 4 of us. Complimentary breakfast was great with a large variety of pastries and boxed cereal, and there was also a waffle machine. One of the best accommodation we've come across, great value for money.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CavalierInn, General Manager at Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Hello

Thank you for taking time to write a review, we are pleased that we met with your expectations, we look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Charlottesville
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

I stayed here Thursday night just as a place to crash on my way to Richmond. The room was in terrible shape and the mattress was completely worn out. There were multiple fixtures barely attached to the walls, the towels were ratty and the furniture appeared worn out.

Room Tip: Book someplace else
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CavalierInn, General Manager at Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Hello

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, I am sorry that you think our hotel was not to your standards, but we use a higher grade of linen, sheets are 300 thread count we use 15.lbs grade towels and our bed are brand new, 3 months old to be exact, they are Hilton standards mattress and box springs, the rest of the furniture is a little over a year old and is in no way ratty, maybe you were too tired and thinking of another hotel., We wish you the best in your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here last night. Nice place to stay. Pet friendly but no grass around for pets to go out. Rooms were very nice and clean. Staff friendly. Min towels in room. Temp of room ok. Breakfast waffles bagels OJ

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CavalierInn, General Manager at Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
.Hello Pet lover,

we always like to have our four legged family members stay with us, we do have a grassy area across the parking lot area with lots of trees, there is a 1/4 acre area that we have for pets, we are looking to get that area fenced in soon so that the pets can run around a little burn off some energy. again thanks for letting us know about your stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia

Address: 105 N. Emmet St, Charlottesville, VA 22903
Location: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 33 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia 2*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on the campus of the University of Virginia,just a couple of blocks away from the Admissions Office, Alumni Office and the UVA Bookstore, the hotel is centrally located near historic attractions, the Cavalier Inn provides comfortable accommodations and easy access to the University of Virginia, Thomas Jefferson's architectural masterpiece, the world-famous Rotunda of the University of Virginia, Monticello, Michie Tavern, Ash Lawn-Highland, and the Charlottesville and Richmond International Airports. Guests will also find numerous recreational activities within a short distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cavalier Inn At The University Of Virginia Hotel Charlottesville
Cavalier Hotel Charlottesville
The Cavalier Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.