We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The English Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Charlottesville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The English Inn
Save
You added The English Inn to your Saves list
2000 Morton Drive, Charlottesville, VA 22903   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 33 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Certificate of Excellence 2014
DeLand, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Better than expected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We were looking for a reasonably priced hotel with good reviews and landed on the Inn. It was fine! No surprises. No problems. Clean. Great room rate and friendly staff. Breakfast (included) was fine for my taste. Didn't need anything else. Thanks!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

607 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    328
    173
    72
    20
    14
See reviews for
219
181
34
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Riner, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

I’ve literally traveled half way around the world and stayed in hundreds of hotels. The English Inn in Charlottesville is undoubtably one of the finest establishments I’ve had the pleasure of lodging at. From the exceptional customer service, cleanliness, indoor pool this gem is truly a treasure. I opted for a suite which was not only very affordable but extremely comfortable for myself and travel companion. From the beds to the 2 flat panel televisions, it was exquisite. We woke up the following morning to the finest breakfast selection I’ve ever seen from fresh fruit to a host of breakfast favorites from cereals, yogurt, eggs, crisp bacon and fresh biscuits with gravy just to name a small sample of the freshly cooked items. In the afternoons you can smell freshly baked cookies for the guest and the location of this establishment is in close proximity to UVA and many other Charlottesville destinations. Our corner suite was quiet and there is plenty of ample parking. Do yourself and your wallet a favor and stay there when you are in the area. They certainly beat all of the competition "hands down" on quality, a very friendly staff and all the amenities other chains have allowed to go by the wayside. Enjoy! Papa G.

Room Tip: We enjoyed a quiet corner suite on the second floor overlooking the parking lot. In my opinion it wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

I stayed two nights here in a room with two queen beds. I had a comfortable stay. The room was clean and basic. It was like a typical motel setup (think Travelodge). It was clean and comfortable enough and for $112 and $119/night, the price was right. I didn't spend any time in the lobby and the rest of the property except for the Windsor Room for breakfast. The lobby seemed darkly lit and everything felt very old. The Windsor Room was a nice place for breakfast, which was fine -- some hot foods (pancakes, sausages, eggs, etc.) and some Yoplait yogurt and fruit like bananas/apples. The strange thing was that the coffee cups were the small styrofoam ones you find in your hotel near your room's standard coffee maker. I thought it was odd that the hotel didn't offer actual cups/mugs.

All in all, decent, clean place to rest after a day of sightseeing in Charlottesville, but this is not a place to spend more time than that. The location of the hotel is good -- just a few minutes' drive to the historic downtown 'mall' and a few minutes' drive to Whole Foods/Trader Joe's/retail.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Decent comfortable rooms. But the breakfast buffet is truly awful. It is everything that is bad about corporate food. Bulk packaged eggs, meat and pastries. Plastic knives and forks, styrofoam plates. Tasteless, over salted, over sugared fast food junk. Only the fruit is worth eating and that's because it is still in its original form. Skip the food there and go to Bodo 's just round the corner

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014 via mobile

I recently stayed there a few weeks ago & the staff seemed to go above & beyond for the guests. Housekeeping did not leave any regular coffee the day before while cleaning our room made a phone call to the desk & asked if a housekeeper could bring some up. I absolutely have to have. Which was told that no one was in from housekeeping yet but was personally delievered by the front desk attendant Jessica which happened to also be in housekeeping the next day upon my departure.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delaware
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

The English Inn was the perfect choice for a meet up with another couple. We stayed in a two bedroom suite in the Mews. The rooms were quiet, spacious, and very clean. Each room had a comfortable king size bed and bathroom. The Inn staff was helpful. The complementary breakfast had many options and was more than adequate. The location near the UV campus also has easy access to the major highways. We would definitely choose to stay here again.

Room Tip: We suggest the suites in the Mews that have a fully equipped kitchen and large dining room table.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, NC
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

This totally smoke-free property was built in the 80s, and has had some updates since. "English Tudor" styling is evident in a few places--wood paneling, sunken lobby area, exposed timbers on the exterior, etc.--and the big window above the entry gives a little grandeur--it's overall pleasant but not truly authentic, architecturally. But for the price, it's great--definitely better than the run-of-the-mill Fairfield Inn experience. Stayed for two nights with the family (mom, dad, twins age 12). Room with two queens was plenty roomy and comfortable for us; ours has a mini-fridge.
the girls were entertained by the large pool. Short drive to historic downtown Charlottesville, Monticello, Ashlawn. Full complementary breakfast of eggs, potatoes, bacon, cereal, pastries, yogurt (hot food is not prepared fresh in their kitchen, though--this stuff is precooked/reheated). Decent-looking dining room has no TV blaring (a relief!), but diners eat from foam plates/cups with plastic utensils…seems a shame in this day and age--and a surprise in this hotel--to purchase all that foam to be used once and thrown out…but that's how they keep employment costs down, I guess. What they called "high tea" was hot water and coffee set out with some cookies, and again the foam cups. Oh well! It's free for guests.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The English Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The English Inn

Address: 2000 Morton Drive, Charlottesville, VA 22903
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#4 Family Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#6 Business Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#7 Romantic Hotel in Charlottesvill...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
106 well-appointed rooms and suites. Enjoy all the pleasures of a fine Charlottesville hotel blended with the charm of a country inn. You’ll find the heart of the English Inn is our dedication to uncompromising quality and exemplary personal service. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The English Hotel Charlottesville
English Hotel Charlottesville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The English Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.