We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What happened to this hotel???” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Doubletree by Hilton Charlottesville

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Doubletree by Hilton Charlottesville to your Saves list
Doubletree by Hilton Charlottesville
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   990 Hilton Heights Road, Charlottesville, VA 22901   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
New Year's Eve Package
Ranked #16 of 33 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“What happened to this hotel???”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2011

We stayed here a year ago and loved it -- which is why we returned this year. Mistake.
There seems to be no one overseeing the housecleaning staff, at least if our room was anything to judge by. When we arrived, I saw various bits of dirt on the carpet, and the desk chair was filthy. (Something on it, in bits, that I tried to clean off but couldn't. Eventually, I asked for a replacement chair, which was provided.)
When we returned after our day out -- and after leaving behind a tip, incidentally -- the carpet was still dirty (same pieces in the same spots), our ice bucket hadn't been emptied, our dirty glasses were still there (without replacement clean ones), and the hairdryer bag, which I'd left out with the dirty towels because it had a smear of dirt on it along with two gobs of someone else's toothpaste -- was returned to the shelf. Dirty. And the hairdryer wasn't even put back inside. Oh, and did I mention the bathtub drain? Apart from the fact that it had no strainer, it was pretty bad -- great if you like taking showers while standing ankle-high in backed-up drain water.
Charlottesville DoubleTree? Big, big disappointment this time around.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MHucek, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Charlottesville, responded to this review, March 11, 2011
I am extremely sorry to hear of the challenges you experienced during your recent stay at the Doubletree. Please believe that we listen to all of our guests concerns and comments and are continually working to improve our service and accommodations. Our housekeeping department is constantly training and looking for ways to make our guests have a perfect stay! I hope the next time you are visiting the Charlottesville area you will give us another chance to earn back your trust.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

774 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    298
    224
    140
    77
    35
See reviews for
230
177
48
217
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Herndon, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2011

I booked a group of thirteen rooms for my son's Special Olympics basketball team - ten athletes and their families. We travel to Charlottesville every year, and this was our first time at the Doubletree. We will definitely be back. Every member of the staff was great, and one even got the hotel to donate cookies and then came to the tournament with two of her grandchildren to give out the cookies and other snacks. We couldn't ask for more.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MHucek, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Charlottesville, responded to this review, February 24, 2011
This is incredible! Thank you so much for your kind words and I hope you and your team had a great time at the game. I'm glad everyone enjoyed the cookies, they have been a staple of the Doubletree brand for years and it's one of the reasons our guests keep coming back year after year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2011

Stayed here with my husband for one night in a King room. Staff was pleasant and check in was easy. I noticed the indoor pool and hot tub are open 24 hours which is a nice touch that I don't often see. The room was clean and up to date. The bed was so comfortable. Only complaint is the traffic coming to parking lot, as it is behind a Sams Club. Overall a very pleasant stay at this hotel. Would recommend highly.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MHucek, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Charlottesville, responded to this review, February 18, 2011
Thank you so much for your comments on the Doubletree by Hilton Charlottesville. We are extremely pleased you enjoyed your recent stay. Just to let you know we have refinished our entire indoor pool area and it looks even better than it did before. Hopefully we will see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2011

Stayed in November 2010 and it was great. No complaints at all. But now, cleaning isn't quite... well, up to snuff. No hot water in the morning (Front Desk, "Sorry, too many people got up at the same time"). Lost laundry. Doesn't always answer for Room Service. And kind of rude "Care Line."

Still great people throughout the building. Good location. Quiet lovely rooms, but I'll try someplace else next visit.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MHucek, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Charlottesville, responded to this review, February 18, 2011
Thank you for your feedback. We greatly appreciate any and all feedback so that we can share it with our team in order to better our service and cleanliness throughout our hotel. Your comments are reviewed by each manager and employee at the hotel. I hope the next time you visit the Charlottesville area you will choose to stay with us again and let us earn back your trust.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2011

When I come home to Charlottesville, I usually stay here. Yes, its not close to anything, but the rooms, food, and service are usually fantastic. There has been an issue with the restaurant/bar and their service staff, but it is very easy to avoid that area. The front desk staff are kind and caring, and their room service desserts are always incredible. The beds are soft and plush and every room has a fridge as well as a seating area and sofa. The rooms are huge.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MHucek, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Charlottesville, responded to this review, February 18, 2011
This is great! Thank you so much for your kind words regarding our hotel and staff. We strive to provide great service and accommodations to each every one of our guests. We recently just hired a new restaurant manager, so the next time you are visiting please stop by our restaurant TJ's Tavern and experience our new level of service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2010

This building was poorly planned and conceived. Handicapped spaces were available some distance from the front door - on a hillside without a flat surface. The presence of non-automatic doors into the guest area amde negotiating a baggage cart difficult. The arrangement of furniture in the roommade it impossible to get the baggage cart into the room. The location of closet and bathroom was extremely tight.

The Priceline price was good, but did not include breakfast.

The hotel's location is in a high volume traffic area, not convenient to much of anything.

The desk staff was helpful. My room was clean. No bedbugs!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2010

I was surprised when I walked in the lobby- more elegant than the storferont suggested. Arrived on The Thanksgiving weekend Sunday night and the place was quiet, but the desk agent was super.....it was like I was one of those hired shoppers.....went down the list of hotel services and amenities so professionally....I know she gets good scores on whatever test they give.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Charlottesville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Charlottesville

Address: 990 Hilton Heights Road, Charlottesville, VA 22901
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#9 Business Hotel in Charlottesvill...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree by Hilton Charlottesville 3.5*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Doubletree by Hilton Charlottesville is located just minutes from the University of Virginia, John Paul Jones arena, Charlottesville Regional Airport and Monticello. Recently renovated in 2008, the Doubletree by Hilton Charlottesville was named one of Expedia’s Insider's Select Hotels and Reader's Choice Hotel by the Daily Progress. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Charlottesville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Charlottesville Hotel Charlottesville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doubletree by Hilton Charlottesville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.