We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fabulous stay--try the executive floor for views, perks” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Doubletree by Hilton Charlottesville

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Doubletree by Hilton Charlottesville to your Saves list
Doubletree by Hilton Charlottesville
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   990 Hilton Heights Road, Charlottesville, VA 22901   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
New Year's Eve Package
Ranked #16 of 33 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Williamsburg, Virginia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“fabulous stay--try the executive floor for views, perks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We have stayed at the Doubletree on special occasions in the past (our wedding weekend, an anniversary) and have always found it enjoyable. Last week, we stayed there to celebrate my birthday and had a wonderful time. Upon arriving, we were greeted by cookies at the front desk, and the portable crib we had requested for our son was set up in our room as ordered. Initially, we were disappointed to learn that the lounge on the Executive Floor where we had been expecting to have a complimentary continental breakfast and evening reception was closed for renovations, but this turned out to be a benefit instead, as the management gave us complimentary tickets for the full cooked breakfast downstairs, featuring terrific made to order omelets by the house chef, as well as complementary drinks during happy hour at the bar downstairs. Our room was quiet, well appointed, and had a lovely view of the mountains; we very much enjoyed the swimming pool and hot tub. We also liked the cozy bathrobes and slippers that come with executive floor rooms.
One night, we ordered pizza from room service, and while it arrived quickly, the pizza was a bit overdone and had thoroughly mediocre prefab crust. (The menu claimed that the chef "learned to make pizza in Rome," but if that's true, it must have been Rome, NY because the pizza was not anything like true Italian pizza or even good old NYC Italo-American pizza.) Next time, we'll stick to burgers and sandwiches from the room service menu--we've had these on past stays and they've been delicious. (The next evening, we picked up some pizza from a nearby Christian's location, which was far superior, so if you have a hankering for pizza, plan to order out.)
We had a minor problem with our hot water that was swiftly fixed. The mini fridge in the room had only three legs and was wobbly and was missing metal shelves inside. This was not fixed on the initial visit from the handyman, but as a result of a followup call a day later, we had a replacement refrigerator delivered to the room. The replacement fridge was in good working order and had its shelves intact, but looked pretty beat up on the outside. While the Doubletree updates its executive floor, it might consider installing new refrigerators--in fact, the second hotel handyman who finally solved the problem for us took one look at the fridge in our room and said it really shouldn't have even been permitted to be in a guestroom. Still overall, this was a minor glitch. In general everything worked well, and we had a fabulous stay, with the unexpected benefit of free chef-cooked omelets every morning. We'll be back!

Room Tip: Get a room on the executive floor if you can--great views and very quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Charlottesville, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for choosing the Doubletree by Hilton during your travels to Charlottesville, Virginia. We are very pleased to learn you enjoyed your stay and for recommending the executive floor rooms to future travelers. Our Executive Lounge is undergoing a complete renovation and will be reopening soon.

Thank you again for staying with us and I do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Charlottesville area.

Warmest Regards,

Michael D. Sandercock
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

775 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    299
    224
    140
    77
    35
See reviews for
231
177
48
217
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Pearl River, New York
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Met at the front desk by very helpful staff who started us out with warm chocolate chip cookies. Slight mix up with the room but quickly corrected. No downside here. Clean and well appointed room. Free computer access in the buisness area. Fantastic pool. The water in the pool was VERY warm. It was warmer than the hottub! Either way it was scenic with high ceilings and lots of outside light with an abundance of windows. We soent an hour in the pool just wading around talking to people. Fitness area right off the pool was very clean and had enough equipment for a solid workout. We will definately stay here again when we are in town.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Charlottesville, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for choosing the Doubletree by Hilton Charlottesville and posting a review about your recent stay. I am very pleased to learn your experience with us was "Excellent!"

Thank you again for staying with us and I do hope to welcome you back to the Charlottesville area.

Warmest Regards,
Michael D. Sandercock
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinton, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

We just finished our stay at DT Hilton while on our way to a family reunion in Glouchester, VA. The hotel is only a hop off of I64. Parking lot is in good proximity to the front door. We were greeted by each staff member (including janitorial) on the way to the front desk. Reservation comformation was smooth and the kids loved the cookies. Off to the room.

Elevator and hallways were a little warm, but it only took us two minutes to get to the room, so not a big deal to me. The room was clean and well layed out. Having three children, we appreciated the two sinks. As another reviewer mentioned the walls can allow some noise to be heard from the next room, but not unbearable. Now for the beds. The beds are one of the reasons I gave them 5 circles. I value my sleep and rest. The beds did not disappoint.

We very much enjoyed the pool. Folded towels were waiting on each lounger. The atmosphere and tile were a quality touch. Hot tub was relaxing. The fitness area is teched out. Top quality machines. If you are in the area to wine tour, the bar has local wines for tasting. We ordered a pizza ($15) for dinner in the room. It was (meh), but the kids liked it. The breakfast buffet made up for the pizza though. Omlette station, varieties of juice, pastries, waffles, friut, and all the staples. The two servers were hell-on-wheels, they earned all the tips they got that morning.

Yes there are nicer hotels out there, but not for $140 a night $160 with breakfast. They absolutely deserve 5 cirlces based on a cost/quality ratio.

Likes: Beds, Staff, Pool, Breakfast, Guests (all the children were well behaved)
Dislikes: Stuffy elevator, pizza, some noise in room.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Charlottesville, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for choosing the Doubletree by Hilton Charlottesville and for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with your children. I am delighted to read that you would recommend our hotel, and I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome your return.

Once again, thank you for your wonderful comments about your stay and for choosing to spend your time with us.

Warmest Regards,
Michael D. Sandercock
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

My husband and I went to Charlottesville to help our daughter move to a new apartment. We spent the first night at the Doubletree, which had decent reviews. It looked amazing when we entered the lobby. Unfortunately, that impressive entry did not translate into nice rooms. The first night, we were put on the 5th floor. The room was not as nice as I expected, but the oddest thing was the hallway. People had put bags of trash in the hall and, when we went to check out the next morning around 11 AM, it was still there! Room service was annoying, knocking on our door 3 separate times, even though we told her we were checking out in a few hours. The maid clearly did not comprehend us. They should have spent that time clearing the hallway instead of interrupting guests. We spent the next night with our daughter, then returned to the Doubletree for a second night. We were placed on the 4th floor this time. The hallways were clear of items, but our room was very disappointing. The air did not work properly, leaving the beds with a damp feeling. The tub faucet would not turn off, so it ran at a fast drip all night. We told the cleaning supervisor and, to her credit, she was very apologetic. She suggested we also tell the front desk, but all they did was give us warm cookies. When we received the routine email from the manager thanking us for our stays, I responded with the above mentioned items. He never responded to my email. I will attempt to contact someone on the Hilton website, but I will also NOT stay in this hotel again. For the money spent, there are many other choices in the area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Charlottesville, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

We are very disappointed to hear that your two different stays with us was "disappointing." Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experiences. It is very important to us and would like to sincerely recognize and apologize for the disappointment in service and quality of the property.

Your experience has been shared with all levels of management and an internal follow-up will be conducted to ensure that such issues do not occur in the future. Once again, your comments and impressions are extremely important to us as we strive to provide a great overall experience and represent The Doubletree by Hilton Charlottesville accordingly.

We would welcome the opportunity to discuss your experience further should you wish and I can be contacted directly at 434.973.2121.

Warmest Regards,
Michael D. Sandercock
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

When visiting Charlottesville on the short term, the Doubletree is a nice place to stay. It has been recently renovated, but it's still got an older feel to it. The accommodations were adequate and the hotel restaurant had a decent brunch buffet. There is ample parking and the folks at the reception desk are quite nice. Every time I've stayed here (3 times to date), the folks have been pleasant and accommodating. There is a large selection of tourist information/brochures about the area in the lobby. Whether you'll like this place depends on what you're after in the Charlottesville area. If you want to venture into downtown C-ville, there are several hotels that are closer than this one. However, I have found this place to be a bargain, especially on Priceline. The Doubletree is located right next to a Sam's Club (with gas station for members only), Wal-Mart, car dealership, and it's right next to 29 which runs right through the center of the University of Virginia. It's a few miles out from UVA's grounds. Note that this is not reasonable walking distance to grounds, and public transportation access is limited to going to Wal-Mart and catching a bus, which doesn't sound like too much fun. Occasionally, traffic on 29 is congested, and I'm sure it's about to increase since someone is putting up a new high-end set of shops and movie theatre at the corner of 29 and Hydraulic Road. This is currently under construction, but In general, it's amazing how much traffic Charlottesville generates for a city of its size. That said, it's completely manageable. So if you want to avoid all of the hubbub that surrounds the UVA grounds area and just relax on the outskirts of town, I'd say this is a good place. If you're a business traveler, this hotel is closer to the airport than a majority of hotels in the area. As a matter of fact, I think it might be the closest hotel to the airport. Either way, you get fresh baked cookies upon check-in, and perhaps that's enough incentive to give this place a shot.

Room Tip: If I'm not mistaken, this place still has smoking options--I could be remembering this wrong, bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Charlottesville, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for your wonderful detailed review about your most recent stay. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your third visit to our property! Our future guests will be very informed of what is in the Charlottesville area and that we are one of the closest hotels to the airport. We are extremely happy to hear you enjoyed your Doubletree Signature Welcome (The Cookie).

Thank you again for choosing the Doubletree by Hilton Charlottesville and I do hope to have the opportunity to serve you in the near future.

Warmest Regards,
Michael D. Sandercock
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islip, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

We were travelling with our small dog on this trip, so it limited our options a lot. We arrived late at the hotel and were told that all dog rooms were on the 3rd floor (lobby level). My daughter was supposed to have a fold out couch, and luckily we were put in a room without one. Definitely avoid the pet floor if you want to bring your pet. The halfway was stuffy and reeked of smoke. When we got to our room in reeked of smoke and was outdated and not too nice. Luckily, we have a small hypoallergenic dog so we were moved to the 4th floor. Much, much nicer room mostly b/c it was clean, fresh and smelled like a smoke free room should. With a lot of different needs, a dog and a 9 year old travelling with us, the staff was very helpful.

We had a promotion for breakfast and it was delicious. Had something for everyone, homemade granola, fresh omelettes, pancakes, fresh fruit, cereal, eggs, etc. We really enjoyed this! Excellent service, too.

Unfortunately, the hotel was working on the pool/jacuizzi/exercise area. It was supposed to open when we were staying, but didn't. Obvious work was still being done. The area looked very nice, so we would have diffently liked to use to facilities, but I guess maintenance does have to be done sometime.

Overall, we really liked te hotel and staff and would stay again. However, the dog 'wing' I would definitely not stay on. Ths needs some serious updating and cleaning. I think most likely it used to be a smoking section or smoking is tolerated along with the animals. I didn't have a problem with a pet smell, but there was a strong smoking smell in the hallway and room. So if you smoke, it would probably be fine, but if not you would not like Floor 3. I imagine it's hard for hotels taking Dogs and can imagine they can cause problems, so I am sympathetic and understanding.

Tip: If you can book your stay with the breakfast included it is a great deal. We only paid $6 a day for 3 for the breakfast and it was fantastic!

Room Tip: I'm rating this based on moving to the 4th floor after we were on the 3rd floor pet wing. Defini...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Charlottesville, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Doubletree by Hilton Charlottesville and for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay. While I am very happy to read your positive comments about the service of the team, I would like to extend my sincere apologies that you were left to feel disappointed by the rooms smelling like smoke. Our lobby level is a nonsmoking floor.

Thank you for recommending our property and I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future.

Warmest Regards,
Michael D. Sandercock
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centreville, Virginia
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Stayed here for a few nights. Stayed on the concierge floor and enjoyed that although we had an ant problem in our room that required that we be moved. Pool was nice, restaurant food was good but wait staff average. Hotel staff including management very friendly and helpful. This hotel is very close to shopping and the main drag just outside the UVA campus. Lots of food and shopping places close to this hotel. Not sure we'll stay here again given other hotel choices in the area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Charlottesville, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay at Doubletree by Hilton Charlottesville. We appreciate all forms of guest feedback, and it is through constructive comments that we are able to continually improve our services and facilities for our guests.

I would like to reiterate my apologies if you were left to feel in anyway disappointed after your stay with us. I welcome you to contact us directly by calling the hotel at 434.973.2121 and asking for me directly so that we may fully investigate your experience. I trust we will have the opportunity to restore your confidence in the near future. I look forward to welcoming you back.

Warmest Regards,
Michael D. Sandercock
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Charlottesville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Charlottesville

Address: 990 Hilton Heights Road, Charlottesville, VA 22901
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#8 Family Hotel in Charlottesvill...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree by Hilton Charlottesville 3.5*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Doubletree by Hilton Charlottesville is located just minutes from the University of Virginia, John Paul Jones arena, Charlottesville Regional Airport and Monticello. Recently renovated in 2008, the Doubletree by Hilton Charlottesville was named one of Expedia’s Insider's Select Hotels and Reader's Choice Hotel by the Daily Progress. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Charlottesville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Charlottesville Hotel Charlottesville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doubletree by Hilton Charlottesville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.