We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient to the Railroad Station” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn and Suites Charlottesville - At The University

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn and Suites Charlottesville - At The University to your Saves list
Hampton Inn and Suites Charlottesville - At The University
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   900 W. Main Street, Charlottesville, VA 22903   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 15%
Ranked #3 of 33 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Lexington, VA
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Convenient to the Railroad Station”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

How nice to arrive in Charlottesville at 8:30 at night and go a couple of blocks to a comfortable hotel! We were welcomed by the staff and shown to a very nice room. The staff was familiar with shopping and gave good directions. The breakfast area had an awkward layout. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    106
    27
    5
    2
See reviews for
103
82
24
50
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
State College, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Beautiful Hampton Inn. Desk personell was excellent and welcoming. The king suite that we stayed in was clean, up to date and had a wonderful fireplace!! Great all the way around!
Very close to UVA's campus.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

This was my first stay on a business trip. The location was in walking distance to the historic downtown mall. There is a free shuttle if you prefer. The rooms have very nice clean down comforters & they change the sheets & comforter cover every day.You definitely get a good night sleep here, after a long work day. Then you wake to a free full buffet breakfast & Starbucks coffee. The lobby is nice & light & the front desk staff are very helpful, especially Trudy.I look forward to staying there again. It smells fresh & is one of the cleanest rooms I have ever stayed in.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 4th floor in a double queen room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

I stayed here with a group of seven girls for a bachelorette party, and couldn’t have been more pleased. The hotel is easy to get to, and there’s no extra fee for parking, which is a score. The lobby is beautiful, and the staff was very courteous. We stayed in a two-queen-bed suite, and it couldn’t have been more perfect. There was a full, upgraded kitchen, right down to granite countertops and a granted bar/table area. That was perfect for entertaining and our pre-gaming festivities. The living area was large, as was the included TV, so we all had plenty of room for visiting. The bathroom is pretty basic, but it’s large and everything you need. Also, there’s a sink/vanity area outside of the bathroom, which is essential when sharing a room with others. The hotel is located close to The Corner and the Downtown Mall, so it was just a short, inexpensive cab ride away from our nighttime activities. At the end of the night, the beds were comfortable, as was the pullout sofa. The hotel staff was very accommodating and brought us a roll away for our extra person, which she said was also good to sleep on. The next morning, we thoroughly enjoyed the hot, complimentary breakfast. All in all, this proved to be a great hotel stay at a very reasonable price. Don’t hesitate to stop in here when you’re in Charlottesville.

Room Tip: If you have a group of people, suites are the way to go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Helpful and accommodating staff! We used the hotel for a room block for my son's wedding. Every employee encountered was pleasant and willing to serve. Great location - center of everything in town. Breakfast is very extensive - no need to go out. I have sayed at this hotel several times - very consistently good.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

I was so impressed during my stay in Charlottesville. The staff was so friendly and helpful. Due to the fact that the property is so close to the hospital. I saw the staff take special care with those guests who might be there for medical attention. We also loved the ease of using the free shuttle. It made for such an easy and enjoyable trip. I was visiting with my mom and her comment was that because the property was so helpful and made the shuttle so accessible, they created a community of guests. I would reccommend this property to anyone that I talked to about traveling to Charlottesville (actually, I already have!) Thanks!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beckley, West Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Would recommend this motel if you are staying in Charlottesville. Very conventiently located for those with appointments at any UVA clinic or hospital visit. The motel is very clean and quiet. The staff is friendly and helpful. There is a continental breakfast but because of early morning appointments we do not have the opportunity to use it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn and Suites Charlottesville - At The University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn and Suites Charlottesville - At The University

Address: 900 W. Main Street, Charlottesville, VA 22903
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#2 Business Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#4 Romantic Hotel in Charlottesvill...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn and Suites Charlottesville - At The University 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn and Suites Charlottesville - At The University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Charlottesville - At The University Hotel Charlottesville
Hampton Inn Hotel Charlottesville
Hampton Inn Charlottesville
Charlottesville Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn and Suites Charlottesville - At The University, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.