We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for extended stay for medical appointments” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn and Suites Charlottesville - At The University

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn and Suites Charlottesville - At The University to your Saves list
Hampton Inn and Suites Charlottesville - At The University
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   900 W. Main Street, Charlottesville, VA 22903   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 15%
Ranked #3 of 33 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
East coast
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Perfect for extended stay for medical appointments”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

We recently had an extended stay at this location. Our dad had surgery at the University Hospital/UVA. Overall, the hotel met our needs perfectly. The staff was attentive and accomodating. Trudy, Guest Services Supervisor, made sure we were taken care of. We had a very nice suite with a small kitchen. The shuttle service was great. Even though it is a very short and easy walk to the medical center, one of our family members can't make the walk due to health issues, so the shuttle was a life saver. Complimentary washers and dryers on site were so helpful with the length of our stay. Plenty of restaurants within walking distance. Proximity to the Amtrak station also a plus. Would have enjoyed a better fitness center and a pool but for our needs the Hampton Inn was absolutely perfect. Would recommend it over all other choices for an extended stay for patients' families.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    106
    27
    5
    2
See reviews for
103
81
24
50
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

Despite under going renovations, the hotel was nice. The front desk was set up on table-cloth covered fold outs, but the service did not suffer, The location is convenient to the Corner or the Mall. Our room was clean and the Internet connection was good. The continental breakfast was comprehensive and the staff was pleasant and attentive.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, CT
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

The location of this hotel is great: a seven-minute walk to the train statiion, maybe 15 to UVA. And if you don't want to walk, they have a wonderful FREE shuttle service to any place within Charlottesville. Also a nice take-out bag breakfast if you're on the run. Staff very friendly abd helpful; when I asked for a regular blanket instead of the duvets that I can't stand, it was brought right up. I only wish we could have opened the windows! The weather was so beautiful when we were there, I hated having to turn on the AC. But this seems to be the case in most chains, alas. Overall, a good place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

This was a nice location; close to University as well as downtown area. In town to do college tour with teenagers. They were re-vamping the front desk and despite its appearance check-in went smoothly. Kids loved the cookies and popcorn in lobby. Breakfast: so-so/typical.

We stayed there using HHilton honors so I can't comment on value.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alloway, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012 via mobile

I stay at a lot of Hamptons and this one is just ok. Clean and quiet room. Breakfast was cold eggs (fake eggs). Home fries. No taste. The hotel must be booked because they told me no upgrades were available (I am a Gold Member). Nice Hotel I would stay in it again but you are paying for the location of being at the University of Virginia.

Stayed April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

Just returned from a trip with friends to Charlottesville. While there we visited many historical houses and UVA. We decided on the Hampton Inn at the University after reading Trip Advisor reviews. The location was perfect- probably midway between UVA and the Pedestrian mall. They have a wonderful shuttle service that will take and pick you up to the historical sites and the mall. ( probably anywhere within reason but I am sure of these places) The hotel was super friendly in atmosphere with attentive staff that were very helpful. Construction in lobby is almost complete. The room was spacious and very clean. I loved that they wash the quilt bed cover after every occupant. All amenities were available in the bathroom...and lots of towels. Breakfast included many choices, and they have complimentary coffee and popcorn all day. I would definitely stay there again. I wish only that they would improve their pillows.

Room Tip: Our room was larger than the one our friends had...just luck. Ours had a sofa. Ask for a sofa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

This Hampton Inn is located on West Main Street, right between UVa and the downtown mall. Both are within reasonable walks, so it is an excellent location for exploring Charlottesville. The hotel itself was clean, reasonably well sound-insulated for a location on a city street. The breakfast was typical Hampton Inn -- better than other chain's Continental breakfasts, but not as lavish as Embassy Suites. The staff was friendly and efficient. The only negatives were the following: (1) price -- even off-season, it was fairly expensive, (2) renovation: the hotel was in the middle of renovating the main floor. They did their best to segregate the construction work from the guests, and the hotel will be quite nice once it's completed, (3) the rooms were smaller than some Hampton Inns.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn and Suites Charlottesville - At The University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn and Suites Charlottesville - At The University

Address: 900 W. Main Street, Charlottesville, VA 22903
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#2 Business Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#4 Romantic Hotel in Charlottesvill...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn and Suites Charlottesville - At The University 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn and Suites Charlottesville - At The University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Charlottesville - At The University Hotel Charlottesville
Hampton Inn Hotel Charlottesville
Hampton Inn Charlottesville
Charlottesville Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn and Suites Charlottesville - At The University, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.