We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hampton Inn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Charlottesville

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Charlottesville to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hampton Inn Charlottesville
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2035 India Road, Charlottesville, VA 22901   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 15%
Ranked #11 of 33 hotels in Charlottesvill...
Baltimore
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great Hampton Inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Great friendly staff; gold members greater with choice of drinks and snacks; coffee/lemonade cookies available for all guests. Super clean and updated. Convenient to Downtown and UVA. Would absolutely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    184
    171
    52
    8
    3
See reviews for
142
129
26
65
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We stayed few days to visit our son who is studying at UVA. We really enjoyed our days here. Location is perfect, is near the University facilities, near stores, restaurants, etc.
Breakfasts were abundant and tasty. Parking is large and free and also you have free wifi internet in all rooms.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

ok not impressed with customer service - room clean and comfortable - I was disappointed in the customer service I received - not acknowledged at the desk for several minutes - when I was another agent had already started working with another guest - I have stayed here before and it was much better - they just need to brush up on their customer service and pay attention to their guests when they approach the desk

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hicksville, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Charlottesville and this HI was our 3rd(Hampton Inn we stayed at) and last stop of our road trip. With such good reviews my husband and I choose this location. First I agree with the other reviewer who said the elevator was in a bad location. When you go through the first set of doors the elevator is on your right. Problem is you still have to go through another set of doors to get to the lobby. So anyone could come in and get on the elevator. A lot of the staff was not as friendly as was so at the other locations. The young man who checked us in was kind of unfriendly and did not point out the location and hours of our free breakfast (this was done at the other locations as part of our check in. I have to say that the rugs in the hallway and room needed a cleaning. Our room otherwise was clean but a little small. Bed was comfortable. Breakfast was just o.k. and the woman working in that area seemed bored with her job and unfriendly. It would be unfair to say the whole staff was not friendly, I found the gentleman from customer service who I called from the car gave me great directions, advise, and was extremely personable.

Room Tip: Stay on a high floor (5 is the highest).
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert 1, General Manager at Hampton Inn Charlottesville, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Jann34,

We are saddened to hear that you weren’t 100% satisfied with the service you received when you stayed with us. We sincerely appreciate your comments as they help us to continually improve upon or guest’s experiences. This was an extremely busy weekend for us, and we apologize for not providing you with individualized service you’ve come to expect with our brand. We hope that you will give us the opportunity again to be your "home away from home" when in the Charlottesville area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moncton, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

My wife and I were extremely pleased with the cleanliness, service and atmosphere of the hotel . This is the standard all hotels should strive to achieve . There were absolutely no surprises and all exceeded our expectations . We would recommend this hotel without any reservations to our friends

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Draper, Utah
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Really good overall. The hotel staff was friendly and efficient. The room was updated and well decorated. The bed was clean and comfortable. The bathroom was fine. There were plugs on the bedside tables. Breakfast had hot food including eggs and meat. I stayed here for work one night. Our business was at UVA. The hotel is ~10 minutes drive. I can't think of many negatives. The price was a bit high for a Hampton Inn, but a good value relative to other hotels in Charlottesville.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, VA, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

The beds at this Hampton were no disappointment. Very comfortable. My wife had an early appointment at UVa hospital and it made sense to stay in town. This was an excellent choice. Restful and convenient.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn Charlottesville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Charlottesville

Address: 2035 India Road, Charlottesville, VA 22901
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Charlottesville
#7 Romantic Hotel in Charlottesville
#10 Family Hotel in Charlottesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Charlottesville 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, Tingo, Despegar.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hampton Inn Charlottesville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Charlottesville Hotel Charlottesville
Charlottesville Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Charlottesville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.