We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Value, Charming Tiown” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Charlottesville

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn by Marriott Charlottesville to your Saves list
Residence Inn by Marriott Charlottesville
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1111 Millmont Street, Charlottesville, VA 22903   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #14 of 33 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Cherry Valley, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Outstanding Value, Charming Tiown”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

My family of three stayed at this hotel for one night on our way down to myrtle beach. We stayed in a toon with a queen bed separated from the rest if the room by a door. I slept in the pullout which was just fine, clean sheets and pillows were provided. For the price, we couldn't have asked for more. There was a beautiful chrome refrigerator in our room, as well as a sink, microwave, and cabinet. It would have been perfect for an extended stay. Breakfast was included and the hostess was an absolute pleasure to chat with! Eggs, home fries, grits, cereal, and more! Right outside the hotel is a quaint plaza with a five guys, shopping, panera bread, Harris teeters, and more. There is an outdoor patio for eating, and beautiful lights hanging. We had a great stay, and will be back the next time we are in town!

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    65
    24
    4
    5
See reviews for
60
45
10
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

Nice place close to shopping center and off the busy main drag. Rooms were nice. Has frig, microwave mini-kitchen for snacks, etc.
Good for family. Easy to get around. Staff friendly
Parking good. Breakfast good. Would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawn M, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Charlottesville, responded to this review, December 21, 2013
Thank you so much for you kind words i regards to your recent stay at the Charlottesville Residence Inn, I am glad that you enjoyed our full complimentary breakfast...we hope to see you on your next trip to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

We have been displaced from our home for an extended period of time due to some remodeling. Enough to say, we found this place more than a comfortable replacement. Rooms are large, with kitchenettes and other amenities and are well kept. Staff is more than friendly and eager to help. For its category, this hotel is indeed very good. My only negative remark goes to a bland run-of-the-mill decor, but it is a minor detail for this kind of place. Location is good, if not the best, but considering the size of the town, nothing is really far and the only better location would be in downtown itself.

And the breakfast buffet is worth getting up in the morning. If you happen to stay here on Monday-Wednsday, you might be treated to a comfort food in the evening intended to be a small social event.

In any case, give it a try, you will get your money's worth.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Good experience staying here with family of four. Two bedroom suite has plenty of room, rooms are clean (if a bit tired), location near is fine (short drive to anywhere in Charlottesville). Staff helpful and friendly. Breakfast is decent.

Stayed November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

This was my first stay at a Residence Inn and it will not be my last. During the planning of a last minute overnight trip to Charlottesville I was looking to use my Marriott reward points and the choice was between the Courtyard for 25,000 points and the Residence Inn for 15,000. Having never stayed at a Residence Inn we thought to give it a try.

The location is just behind the Barracks Road shopping center with access to lots of shops and restaurants. The Residence Inn has a full kitchen in the room so the proximity to a grocery store is great.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallingford, Connecticut
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Hubby and I spent a few days here. Can't say enough positive things. The room itself was excellent - clean, good size, etc. The breakfast was very good. Great range of options and well tended. Staff was very friendly. Really liked the location. We'll be back!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawn M, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Charlottesville, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you for your positive feedback. The team takes great pride in offering a delicious breakfast each morning and ensuring that there are plenty of options for all our guests.

I will let my associates know how pleased you were with not only the cleanliness, but the great service as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centreville, Virginia, USA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Picked this hotel as an alternative as our original plans to stay in Shenandoah National Park were disrupted by the government shutdown. Wanted to head to the mountains to take pictures of the fall foliage. Hotel is located on the Northeast side of Charlottesville near easy access highways. Hotel staff at desk were really nice and relaxed. Room was great. Nice, full kitchen and living room. TV was actually one of the better ones, even better than those in the higher priced hotels. Couch was a bit uncomfortable but that was due to the fact it was a sleeper sofa. In all, based on the friendliness of the staff and the room I rate this property high.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawn M, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Charlottesville, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you for sharing your great experience at the Charlottesville Residence Inn, I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay and the Shenandoah Mountains.

I will be sure to share your comments with my staff. We hope to see you on your next trip to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn by Marriott Charlottesville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn by Marriott Charlottesville

Address: 1111 Millmont Street, Charlottesville, VA 22903
Location: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#10 Business Hotel in Charlottesvill...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn by Marriott Charlottesville 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Inn Charleston is just minutes from downtown Charleston, Yeager Airport CRW, Charleston Civic Center, Clay Center for the Arts and Charleston Town Center Mall. Our hotel lets you relax and stretch out with separate sleeping, living and dining areas. Enjoy full kitchens, pullout sofa beds, and work desks with high-speed Internet access in all suites. Additionally, our Charleston extended stay hotel delivers Marriott service and offers complimentary breakfast daily and social hours on weeknights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn by Marriott Charlottesville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn By Marriott Charlottesville Hotel Charlottesville
Residence Inn Charlottesville
Charlottesville Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn by Marriott Charlottesville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.