We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly service freshly updated” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Charlottesville

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn by Marriott Charlottesville to your Saves list
Residence Inn by Marriott Charlottesville
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1111 Millmont Street, Charlottesville, VA 22903   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #14 of 33 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Friendly service freshly updated”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

You know what the rooms at a Residence in will be like since they are the same across the country. The Charlottesville property though has very friendly efficient employees that set it apart from other hotels of this category. You don't expect Ritz Carlton service at a Residence Inn but any service you do receive at this property is delivered with a friendly sincere smile. The location is very conveniently located to University of Virginia and a shopping plaza. I would definitely recommend this property to anyone staying one night or an extended basis in the area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    65
    24
    4
    5
See reviews for
60
45
10
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Great Falls, Virginia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Forget about all of those past reviews for this former so-so property. The renovations are complete and they did it right, for sure! No skimping on anything - from the lobby, interior areas and rooms - everything is new! The clubhouse main room is totally modern and spotless and the breakfast area is fantastic - as is the breakfast! From the moment we arrived, we were "wowed"! And now on to our room - we had a 1-BR suite. Everything brand new - paint, carpeting, appliances, furniture, beds, linens - the total package. The Residence Inn now has to be the nicest place to stay in Charlottesville. The price is a bargain for the quality you will receive!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

I stayed here while attending a course at UVA. I got one of the older rooms, which was quite fine but dated. A colleague of mine got one of the nicer, updated third floor rooms. So when checking in - be sure to ask for an updated room! Apparently, they have new furniture, stainless steal appliances, fresh paint, etc.

While I was staying there, the entire front desk area was shut down and moved into hotel rooms on the first floor. The gym, which is small to begin with, was relocated as well into what would normally be a hotel room. It was quite awkward.

The manager however was quite nice and very apologetic about the state of the hotel. The breakfasts were out of this world - best complimentary breakfast I've had. Evening fare as well was fantastic.

After the updates are complete, this will be the place to stay near UVA

Room Tip: Updated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aomori, Japan
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Details: two nights' stay in early-November 2012. The one-bedroom suite was plenty large and well-furnished, if entirely ordinary and a little tired-looking. Specifically, the sofa upholstery sported a nasty stain of considerable size. Yuck.

As for the hotel's culinary fare, the included breakfasts were good except for the coffee -- which, sadly, was execrable. IMO -- there's no excuse for serving foul coffee. A bigger issue, however, and in stark contrast to several other Residence Inns at which I have stayed, this hotel's complimentary evening fare (supposedly a signature amenity of Marriott Residence's brand) was perfunctory and bore the dull chemical taste of factory-sealed serving pouch-to-plate institutional food. Fortunately, competent dinner fare was available at a large shopping center across the street.

I have stayed in many other better travelers' hotels and, to be fair, also a few that were worse. Overall, Marriott Residence Inn Charlottesville fell closer to the "worse" side of the spectrum of my experiences than the hoped-for result. And, for $150/night, I expected more. With serious effort, I expect this franchise could be considerably better.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton NC
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Stayed here third week of October to see Jefferson's design at UVA, Monticello and go to Bruce Springsteen concert at John Paul Jones Arena. We stayed three nights. From the moment we checked in until we departed, we were greeted with warmth and enthusiasm by every single employee we encountered on the grounds. And, even though this hotel was on the eve of beginning renovations, the rooms were more than adequate, comfortable, clean. This property is so ideally located to UVA and we could even walk (although a distance) to the downtown mall. With the free shuttle system in place in downtown Charlottesville, we could navigate back fairly easily from downtown using the free shuttle part way. There are restaurants close by and also a shopping center virtually across the street with grocery store, retail shopping and restaurants. Would happily recommend this property to anyone and once they have the renovations complete it should be a top rating property. Morning breakfast tasty and replenished regularly.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, VA
Top Contributor
187 reviews 187 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

This is typical, somewhat older Residence Inn in its mid-range architecture and decor. Our kids always appreciate the 2 bedroom suite. This a tradeoff for space versus a full-service hotel. Breakfast area seating is on the small side and can fill up quickly. Parking lot sometimes can be full later in the evening forcing you to park on the street. Proximity to the nearby shopping area is convenient for shopping and dining though the Harris Teeter supermarket can be pricey.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear or either end of the hotel are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Great location a little away from the university but close to all the Barracks shops. Clean, big rooms with kitchenette and a pretty good breakfast. Super comfortable bed, although the pull-out sofa was a bit uncomforable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn by Marriott Charlottesville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn by Marriott Charlottesville

Address: 1111 Millmont Street, Charlottesville, VA 22903
Location: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#10 Business Hotel in Charlottesvill...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn by Marriott Charlottesville 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Inn Charleston is just minutes from downtown Charleston, Yeager Airport CRW, Charleston Civic Center, Clay Center for the Arts and Charleston Town Center Mall. Our hotel lets you relax and stretch out with separate sleeping, living and dining areas. Enjoy full kitchens, pullout sofa beds, and work desks with high-speed Internet access in all suites. Additionally, our Charleston extended stay hotel delivers Marriott service and offers complimentary breakfast daily and social hours on weeknights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn by Marriott Charlottesville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn By Marriott Charlottesville Hotel Charlottesville
Residence Inn Charlottesville
Charlottesville Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn by Marriott Charlottesville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.