We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Revolutionary Soup

Revolutionary Soup
108 2nd St. SW #17, Charlottesville, VA
434-296-7687
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 463 Restaurants in Charlottesville
Cuisines: American, Soups, Sandwiches
Good for: Dining on a budget
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Bel Air, MD
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Unique”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Wife and I are split on this. This is located on a side street just off the downtown walk area. Wife wanted soup and this was recommended. There are unique soups on the menu as well as salads and some sandwiches. Wife sampled soups before a selection. She said all were very good and settled on a choice. We both had salads which were free. I had a BLT sandwich, free wheat bread, tomatoes, lettuce and crisp bacon. Very good. No table service. You order, get order and drink and clear the table. Okay for us. Prices seemed appropriate.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    46
    10
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Good Meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We stopped by Revolutionary Soup for dinner, and I tried the Adam's Apple sandwich which was one of the best sandwiches I have eaten, with a sweet & savoury combination; was told that this was their award winning sandwich. Their crab and corn chowder was good as well.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Healthy, local food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

If you want some of the best vegetarian food in C'ville, go to Rev Soup. Reminds me of the West Coast and all the great local restaurants there. I'm a local and hang out here whenever I can.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Ok lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

First, this restaurant is not accessible for wheelchairs (or strollers), so be prepared. However, they have high chairs available and a great changing table in the bathroom.

I ordered the BLT with tomato soup; my husband had the grilled cheese with crab & corn chowder. I liked my sandwich, but I thought the soup was just ok. It's supposed to be a bisque, but I found it a bit watery. My husband enjoyed his soup more than the sandwich. I thought his crab chowder had a very strong fishy smell. Overall, it was a good meal, but maybe a bit pricey ($4 for a small cup of soup). And, I was a little annoyed that you can't get the half combo with a sandwich (only with wraps).

It's a hipster-ish restaurant in a great location.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Overrated hipster joint”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Revolutionary - as in US Revolutionary War, or Che Guevara? The red star logo makes the latter more plausible despite being in TJ's hometown. I had the Croque Monsieur, a ham and gruyere sandwich with bechamel that could have been a knockout but for the extremely salty ham, a thick tough slab which could not be bitten through like an ordinary sandwich. I bit it, tried to pull away and tear, and a too-large piece tears off and leaves the sandwich flat. None of it could be bitten through in a bite, you have to proceed by a series of gnaws and tears. The gruyere and bechamel were delicious, but the whole thing was a drippy greasy mess.

Good beer selection. Service was uninspired & unfriendly. Plates & flatware were flimsy.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Revolutionary Soup also viewed

Charlottesville, VA
Charlottesville, VA
 
Charlottesville, VA
Charlottesville, VA
 

Been to Revolutionary Soup? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Revolutionary Soup, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.