We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food always” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Duner's

Duner's
4372 Ivy Rd, Charlottesville, VA 22901
434-293-8352
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #37 of 430 Restaurants in Charlottesville
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Restaurant details
Charlottesville, VA 22901
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great food always”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

We live in the area and have always loved eating at Duner's. Bob has done a great job of bringing in good chefs and providing excellent quality food prepared in imaginative ways. Excellent wine list, with the house wine a dependable and affordable option. Love getting a salad with the entree and the fresh, warm bread is always appreciated and enjoyed. We've eaten here for 20 years and never had even a mediocre meal. Some say it's loud in the main room but it's a good vibe of people enjoying the food and being there.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    14
    5
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We tried Duner's on the recommendation of a local. We spend several weekends a year in Charlottesville, as our daughter goes to UVA. We all agreed this was the best meal we have had in Charlottesville, a town that has many great restaurants. From the outside, one would not expect the gourmet menu and level of service. Be sure to order the panko fried oysters appetizer. Our entrees included the halibut, salmon, and veal scaloppine. All three dishes were delicious. We each took a bite of all three, even though no one wanted to share, always a good sign. We will definitely be back!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

On the outside, Duner's is unassuming, next to a busy highway. We took a chance, saw lots of cars in the parking lot, and were pleasantly surprised. Service was excellent, menu actually not kid-friendly, but gourmet. A little pricy, but for special occasions just right. We enjoyed it and will be back, defenitely.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Tasty local place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Recommended by our innkeepers, we'd have never known this tasty little place existed only two miles from our b&b. With the students, Charlottesville can get busy on weekend nights, but this little restaurant tucked six miles west of town was perfect for the casual dinner after visiting wineries we were hoping for.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centerville, Ohio
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“First Class but Expensive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We were traveling to Richmond for a family reunion and stopped along the way to visit Charlottesville and the UVA campus. It was early evening and we were hungry, so we scanned TripAdvisor for a good place to eat that was "casual". Duner's rated high, so we tried it. The service was outstanding and the food gourmet quality. The only [slight] downside for us was the price . . . for three of us we had two plain waters, one Pelegrino, one soup, one appetizer, and two main courses, no alcohol, and no dessert . . . cost with tip was $102, a little expensive for a "casual" restaurant. Overall, Duner's is a great restaurant, but not best for the "casual" traveler.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Duner's also viewed

 
Charlottesville, VA
Charlottesville, VA
 

Been to Duner's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Duner's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.