We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected Find!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Duner's

Duner's
4372 Ivy Rd, Charlottesville, VA 22901
434-293-8352
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 465 Restaurants in Charlottesville
Restaurant details
Charlottesville, Virginia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Unexpected Find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Locals know Duners by word of mouth. Need to get there early for table - but it is worth it. Great menu of food - excellent preparation and service. Full bar. Highly recommended!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    14
    5
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Where the locals go”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

This was the second time we have gone to Duner's. If it hadn't been recommended we would have never gone in. It doesn't look like anything from the outside, but it was packed and we had a great time. No place to wait comfortably when it is really busy and not a place for kids. The manager was great - we ordered a bottle of wine while we waited and they held it behind the bar for us. The food was great and plentiful. Appealing and well executed. Service was fine, but not over the top. Would definitely go back.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

It doesn't look like much from the outside but it is scrumptious! Everything is fresh, you'll be happy with whatever you order. I do suggest one of their proteins, the flavor is simply amazing.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, VA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“WAY OVERRATED”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Just returned from a $90 dinner for two people. Duck was chewy and crabcakes were uninspired. Duner's is a step above Applebees but not nearly as good as many downtown Charlottesville restaurants. We were disappointed. The bread was good but that's simply not enough.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery Village, Maryland
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

The menu is varied, food deliciously prepared, and not over priced. Wait staff attentive. Atmosphere very comfortable.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Duner's also viewed

 
Charlottesville, VA
Charlottesville, VA
 

Been to Duner's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Duner's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.