We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Must See When Visiting Charlottesville” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thomas Jefferson's Monticello

Thomas Jefferson's Monticello
931 Thomas Jefferson Parkway, Charlottesville, VA 22902
434-984-9822
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Thomas Jefferson's Monticello like an insider
Top Rated
$95*
and up
Monticello and Thomas Jefferson Country Day Trip...
Activities: Antiquing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Monticello and its many historical rooms, gadgets, furniture, buildings, and artifacts tell us a lot about Thomas Jefferson, the president who built it and lived there.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Charlottesville, Virginia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A Must See When Visiting Charlottesville”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

Even though we are residents of Charlottesville, we do enjoy visiting Monticello when we can. Always try to take visiting family here, as it is just a fantastic place to visit. One can spend as much time as one wants wandering around this lovely homestead marveling at the handiwork of our nation's third president, author of the Declaration of Independence, and originator of the Library of Congress.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,566 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,985
    469
    80
    21
    11
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville, Virginia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“The guy was a genius”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

One must make at least one visit here. Our history books don't begin to capture the breadth of his interests, and seeing the materials of his life and the home he created is a delight.

Go early in the day as lines tend to form.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
170 helpful votes 170 helpful votes
“Taken back in time with each step!6”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Fantastic and should be a must do on your travels through or around the area. There is so much to see, hear, touch, walk on protected grounds from so many years ago by so many men and women that made our history and learn about secrets not written in any history book! The views are breath taking and well worth your peak at them. Over the years I have lived here I have had the pleasure to watch Monticello expand and flourish. Definitely worth the time and don't forget to purchase your tickets for "Behind the Scenes Tour," which is conduct after the original first floor tour...''[[[[[[[[;

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delphos, Ohio
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“You learn something new every time!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

I am a tour operator and brought a group to Monticello in late Sept. The weather, the colors, and the presentations were all fantastic. Working with group sales was a breeze and the woman in that office was a delight to work with. People usually talk about the view, but if you think that someone over 200 years ago, designed and invented so many different things. You need to spend some time in the visitor's center and catch the movie before you begin your journey here.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Oregon
Top Contributor
358 reviews 358 reviews
123 attraction reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
210 helpful votes 210 helpful votes
“So beautiful! Inspiring history!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

As we drove to Monticello I began wondering why Thomas Jefferson would build a home out in the middle of nowhere... and then we arrived and saw the view! An incredible view above miles and miles of the beautiful Virgina countryside.

In addition to the view, the grounds are equally beautiful and the home is a wonderful piece of history. Thomas Jefferson was an interesting, brilliant and curious person and evidence of these traits are visible in every little detail. When you arrive in the house, make sure you look up down and all around, Jefferson's inventions and innovations are everywhere.

Leave enough time to walk around the visitor center, the film about Jefferson is interesting and informative and the items available for sale can enhance the experience.... try the root beer!

Monticello is definitely worth a visit and for our family a second visit.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thomas Jefferson's Monticello also viewed

Charlottesville, VA
 
Charlottesville, VA
 

Been to Thomas Jefferson's Monticello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thomas Jefferson's Monticello, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.